Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars24
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2015
A collection of formidably well written and unusual ghost stories. They are not of the MR James frightening type, but subtle and intriguing. Deserve to be better known.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2016
Never read the ghost stories before, but believe me, they were worth it. Beautifully written and well worth reading late at night. Brilliant writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
Beautiful writing, wonderful period setting. My only quibble is that Wharton (unlike, say, M.R. James) leaves a little too much unexplained.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
Beautifully written of course, but many of the stories were rather inconclusive and I much prefer her novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
Some of the stories are really good but most are not very spooky.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2015
Unusual and very thought provoking. Unlike othrr ghost stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2014
well written and holds your interest as do all her books!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
I have not finished reading this book yet but i would say that Edith Wharton is one of the best ghost story writers of her time and a fine author generally.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
perfect for my dissertation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
A class act.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse