Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine translation, chosen by the BBC for the new Radio3 production
I have collected over the years dozens, yes I mean DOZENS, of translations of Faust as well as knowing my favourite passages in German with some help from parallel translations. This translation is as good, and perhaps better than any of them even though there have been many good ones since the unrhymed Louis MacNiece for Faber (chosen for the first Radio3 broadcast in...
Published on 12 Nov. 2010 by Basilides

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good content, bad paper/binding!
The book is a must on anybodys read-list but this is printed on very bad paper, and it almost fell apart after I had read it. Compared with most paperbacks, this was of a bad quality. Content: 5 stars, quality of actual book: 2 stars (...if that!)
Published on 10 Jun. 2011 by BigMan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine translation, chosen by the BBC for the new Radio3 production, 12 Nov. 2010
By 
This review is from: Faust: A Tragedy In Two Parts & The Urfaust (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
I have collected over the years dozens, yes I mean DOZENS, of translations of Faust as well as knowing my favourite passages in German with some help from parallel translations. This translation is as good, and perhaps better than any of them even though there have been many good ones since the unrhymed Louis MacNiece for Faber (chosen for the first Radio3 broadcast in 1949) and the deftly and wittily rhymed Philip Wayne for Penguin.
I came across it completely by accident not expecting for a moment that the Wordsworth edition would contain a new original version. Usually Wordsworth use out of copyright texts that go as far back as the early 19thc like their Dante and Homer but in this case they have really done everyone a big favour since none of the translations done before 1945 would do justice to Faust for the modern reader and this one is a very valuable addition to the many distinguished modern translations.
It was chosen for the excellent Radio production in Sept. 2010 with Samuel West, which was only the third time it has been done. It will be repeated in the Summer of next year. Part Two was condensed but Part One was complete.
I'm only sorry that there isn't a hardback available, on good paper. Perhaps 'Wordsworth' might be equally enterprising in this area. Williams deserves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just a note, 9 Aug. 2008
By 
This review is from: Faust: A Tragedy In Two Parts & The Urfaust (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
btw this is the best translation out there, not literal translation, but conveys the exact meaning in rhyme, which makes it very much comparable to the original german rhyme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read., 21 July 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faust: A Tragedy In Two Parts & The Urfaust (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
I found this very entertaining to read. It is written aesthetically, (and this is maintained in the translation, not that I have read the original German), and is an engrossing story. I'm sure that there are many allusions and philosophical parables to be found in close study of the text, but I just found it an enjoyable read without having to take it too seriously. Mephistopheles is a brilliant comic character, but there are also subtle insights into the depth of his evil as well. The minimalism of the characters other than Mephistopheles and Faust is stylish and makes the story all the more memorable in retrospect. Reading this makes me feel that all stories should be written in verse, if only the authors were skillful enough. Even though I have only studied Shakespeare at the usual school level, I can see what might be Shakespearian influences or things that remind me of Shakespeare; perhaps this was in places done on purpose by Goethe as a tribute to Shakespeare.
As far as I can tell, the translator has done a miraculous job. One of my favourite lines in the play is:
"But write it all down, concentrating
As if it were the Holy Ghost dictating!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An exquisite translation of one of greatest 'poéme humanités' in world's literature., 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faust: A Tragedy In Two Parts & The Urfaust (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
Definitely recommend to those who cannot read it in German, but would like to get a full view on Goethe's transcendental perception of humanity - a key element to a deeper understanding of Western Culture; secondly, mainly the first part, to those who are keen for a poignant love story which is beautifully laid down before us in stunning meter and rhyme. John R. Williams arguably did what very few literary scholars have ever achieved - he adopted a complete work of Goethe's without runing into artistic decline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest piece of Western Literature, 12 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Faust: A Tragedy In Two Parts & The Urfaust (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
Certainly, the sixty years Goethe spent writing volumes I & II paid off. Unlike Shakespeare, there is a moral lesson which sums the human experience regardless of one's actual circumstances. By illusion and yearning are we enmeshed in lifes toils, only to find the simplicity of innocence and life's early beauty, before we possessed, was the greatest of our soul. Though greatly influenced by Shakespeare, Goethe takes the life's tale to another level which is wrapped in other dimensions of past, present, and future, in addition to heavens and hells. The Faustian choice is one made everyday and is weaved into every moment, until death and afterwards.
An understanding of Indian philosophy (i.e., Buddhism, Hinduism) and the Sanskrit texts brings a deeper depth of understanding, with their complexity and breadth giving greater meaning to a highly mystical and even transcendental text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good content, bad paper/binding!, 10 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Faust: A Tragedy In Two Parts & The Urfaust (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
The book is a must on anybodys read-list but this is printed on very bad paper, and it almost fell apart after I had read it. Compared with most paperbacks, this was of a bad quality. Content: 5 stars, quality of actual book: 2 stars (...if that!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars V. Good, 18 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Faust: A Tragedy In Two Parts & The Urfaust (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
Everything came as described and was fast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faust, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faust: A Tragedy In Two Parts & The Urfaust (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
Everyone should read it as it has so much to say about the meaning of life for everybody - and that is it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The kernel of the Deutsche Dogge, 8 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Faust: A Tragedy In Two Parts & The Urfaust (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
OK, I admit it. I tried to read Goethe's magnum opus, master piece and work of complete and utter genius, the two-part Kammerspiel "Faust".

I dismally failed.

I suppose I just don't grok poetry. When poor Faust uttered some melodramatic words, and put a chalice with red wine to his lips, I think everyone else got it. I didn't. "OK, what's the dude playing at here?". Then, I read the explanatory footnote: "Here, Faust is trying to poison himself".

Oh.

If I don't even understand what's going on in *that* kind of situation, I don't think I'll ever get it, so I stopped reading. I also wonder why "MonsterQuest" didn't notice the strange black creature mysteriously appearing in Faust's room? Surely a sea-serpent of some kind...?

Instead of finishing "Faust" (yeah, like you ever did - and no cheating, it's in *two* parts), I ordered Goethe's "Erotic Poems".

Well, he was a universal genius, wasn't he? :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspried Actor, 2 Feb. 2004
By 
E. Porter-daniels "Irenicas" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faust: A Tragedy In Two Parts & The Urfaust (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
A beautiful piece of literature, and one that is still relevant today. I have performed this work and I can truly say that the writing in it is skillful and inspiring. Excellent, whether you are an actor, literature student, or simply an interested layman. Fantastic sutff from Germany's premier play-write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Faust: A Tragedy In Two Parts & The Urfaust (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature)
£3.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews