Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Series - Better than the Movies
having seen a number of the films over the years, I thought I was totally familiar with the character and nuances of the period as seen in the Warner Oland series. However this compilation of the first three novels threw that misconception out of the window.

Here we have a series which could be described a s little more than a social anthropology of the times...
Published on 7 May 2010 by David Renfrew

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Join the Chan gang
This is old-fashioned stuff, but it has, for the most part, worn well: nobody ever complains about Agatha Christie, after all, and this is a typical example of her genre, without being, perhaps, a classic - but it's better than mediocre, I'd say.

Charlie Chan himself is, of course, the main draw - but I am afraid that it is with Mr Chan that I have the most...
Published 14 months ago by JK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Series - Better than the Movies, 7 May 2010
By 
David Renfrew (Argyle, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charlie Chan Omnibus (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
having seen a number of the films over the years, I thought I was totally familiar with the character and nuances of the period as seen in the Warner Oland series. However this compilation of the first three novels threw that misconception out of the window.

Here we have a series which could be described a s little more than a social anthropology of the times and place that was the United staes in the 1920's. The inital expectation of a murder (there are a few)and an ingenious solution (there is) led me to believe this compilation was little more than a fanciful tale. However Chan seniour does not appear for the first 120 pages...the attitude expressed by the "Upper Classes" are challenging to say the least, at times you would want to throttle the characters if they were alongside you. yet, Biggers (the author) sucks you in so well that once the first tale has been satisfactorilly completed, you are thristing for more!! Given that the sequels are essentially following on direct from the first, then you get the impression of living a period of three months or so with Charlie and taking an interest not only ion the cases but also the gender of his imminent child...who said detective fictioon wasn't family orientated.

Given that the individual novels are about the same cost as this compilation, I would suggest that you grab this wholeheartedly - try to forgive the attitudes and accept that no matter what, our hero will not only solve the case, but outshine the local occidental plods...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three tales of mystery & suspense, 7 Mar 2010
By 
J. Osborne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charlie Chan Omnibus (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
The book is well written, although perhaps a trifle slow and long winded in places. However, there are many intriguing twists and turns in each of the tales which will keep you guessing to the end! To appreciate the quality of this writing, you need to be completely ignorant of the Charlie Chan portrayed by the film-makers, or be able to put that concept on the shelf for the duration as the original bears absolutely no resemblance to the 'copy'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining read, 27 July 2010
By 
R. Lowther - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Charlie Chan Omnibus (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
A throughly entertaining read. The three stories more or less follow on from each other, allowing the character of Charlie Chan to grow.

He isn't like anything from the old black and White films, thankfully!

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Join the Chan gang, 21 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: The Charlie Chan Omnibus (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
This is old-fashioned stuff, but it has, for the most part, worn well: nobody ever complains about Agatha Christie, after all, and this is a typical example of her genre, without being, perhaps, a classic - but it's better than mediocre, I'd say.

Charlie Chan himself is, of course, the main draw - but I am afraid that it is with Mr Chan that I have the most difficulty. Chan enters, investigates and speaks: 'Here are written names of visitors who have enjoyed hospitality of the house. A guest book is, I believe, the term. You will find that one of the earlier pages has been ruthlessly torn out. When I make discovery the volume are lying open at that locality' (sic, sic and sic again).

Oh dear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Detective Literature, 14 July 2011
By 
This review is from: The Charlie Chan Omnibus (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
As a fan of the films from childhood I had some preconceptions about Chan but after reading these stories they were shown to be misconceptions. Little resembling the films, these stories portray a Chan much less prominent in the storylines. I imagined dark, sinister streets and opium dens but in fact the setting of Hawaii was a refreshing breeze of exotica. The stories still maintain their suspense factor and are well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For nostalgia lovers, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charlie Chan Omnibus (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
This book has three of Biggers' novels in the Charlie Chan series, and while each one is complete in itself they also follow from one to the other, and references are made in the second and third volumes to events which occurred in the earlier stories. They are great fun, as whodunits it's almost impossible to guess the guilty party, there are so many twists and turns in the plots. While you are following the plot, it also brings you back to a world in San Francisco and Hawaii that no longer exist. A simpler, easier time to live in for certain aspects. Not only do they give you nuances of what it was like to live there during that time, you can also catch a view of society's values, for example the attitude towards Chan himself, being Chinese, and also the attitude towards women, from the interaction and comments of the characters. For anyone who is nostalgic or curious about times past, I recommend these stories as an open window to a world that no longer exists. And also, those who would just like to curl up with a good mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read It, 28 Mar 2009
By 
P. Dawson "pogdiwsn" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Charlie Chan Omnibus (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
The Book is really well written,and forget the films of charlie chan smei comedy ,the books are not they are serious Mystery/Murder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Charlie Chan Omnibus (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural)
The Charlie Chan Omnibus (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) by Earl Derr Biggers (Paperback - 5 Aug 2008)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews