Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving book!
Love, hate, horror, the Phantom of the Opera has all this, making it one of the most captivating books ever. The book by the detective writer Gaston LeRoux tells the tale of Paris Opera house and its resident phantom. The book conceived by the author after a thorough investigation brings a believable portrayal of the events that had occurred at the time. Its basis on...
Published on 7 Mar 2004 by Z

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christopher Lee rocks but the book is shortened
Christopher Lee reads the book wonderfully but the book is shortened. Whole chapters are missing which should be informed when marketing. (And not the best translation either.) Pleasent to listen and I recommend it to any Christopher Lee fan or any Phantom of the Opera fan who's ok with a half of a Phantom.
Published on 20 Dec 2009 by OG


‹ Previous | 111 12 1317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 2 Sep 2011
Very good book. Arrived on time and very good value for money. Would recommend reading it! Excellent that the book is also made from recycled paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Been meaning to read this for the longest time!, 7 Aug 2011
And now that it's possible to download it...for free! Wow! - who could ask for more?!...I take it with me, read it when I have time...it's on my iPod touch, so it's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars phantom of the opera, 27 Jun 2011
By 
The most important stimulus for Lloyd Webbers musical - it gives an insight into the Victorian view of the mentally and physically disabled protagonist. It could be termed as belonging to a genre similar to Frankenstein or to Jekyll and Hyde as there is a strong element of the gothic novel. My view is that the reader should not confuse themselves by watching the filmed adaptations first. The story is easy to read and (in my opinion) should form part of the National Curriculum for GCSE. It contains a socio-historical message as well as providing the reader with a very gripping story. One for the romantic and the historian!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must read, 21 Mar 2011
Most people have at least heard of the Phantom of the Opera, so there is no excuse for not reading the original novel! This novel is the basis for all other adaptations of the story, whether it be film, musical or other novels. For anyone who has seen the musical or the 2004 film, the characters will seem very different when they read this book, something which I think is due to the style in which the novel is written. It is more a report of the story of the Phantom, where the author appears to have interviewed anyone connected with the Phantom. I think this style is very effective, as it keeps the Phantom at an arm's length away from the reader, enhancing the mystery which shrouds him. While events and when they happen are slightly different in the novel to the musical and 2004 film, the essential story is just as dark, romantic and utterly captivating; I could not put this book down once I started to read it! Even after finishing the novel, so many questions remained unanswered, again deepening the mystery of the Phantom and leaving the reader to wonder and perhaps even hope that such a remarkable man may have actually existed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Phantom of the opera., 4 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read from beginning to end, it is as if you are really a part of the story and if you have seen the show it brings the story to life of the show as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastique!, 23 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book arrived very quickly and I immersed myself in it from the very start. I have read Susan Kays "Phantom" a number of times so thought would buy the original by Leroux and it is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a VEEEERY slow must-read book, 26 July 2003
This book is a classic and the story is absolutely exellent! But it is so very slow and it is so very boring at times it takes years to read a page. But if you look through this boring or shimmering (depends on who you listen to) you see the most strange ghost story that you just have to believe is true.
The swedish opera singer Christine and her friend Raoul de Changy are great friends ever since they were children. They lost contact for a while but when Christine got into the opera they met again.
Raoul tells her his undying love but for a start she pushes him away with silly excuses while strange things happen at the opera.
After a few terrible accidents she confesses to Raoul that the Opera Ghost is real and that he has her under absolute control, almost like he owns her. If she marries anyone else or disobeys him, which is hard not to do, he would punish her and the people she held dearly and mostly, the opera.
The intrigue starts and then what happens is up to you to find out. Read the book, it is a classic not similar to any other book ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read in a night, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once I had started reading on my kindle I quite quickly found I just couldn't put it down and continued reading late into the night. This book was really gripping to me and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Although a very melodramatic book, I thought it worked well and made for a fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most powerful thriller ever written!, 24 April 1999
By A Customer
This novel is so moving in its portrayal of an obsession gone wrong. The suspense will keep you turning the pages as quickly as you can. Leroux leaves you wondering about the phantom and his existence long after you have finished reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Gem, 24 Jun 2006
I read this when I was 15, and I have loved it ever since. The story is timeless, and Leroux pulls you in and is able to make the reader sympathise with Erik, the Phantom. This is definitly a book that I would recomend to anyone and everyone who enjoys great literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 1317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Phantom of the Opera (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural)
The Phantom of the Opera (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) by Gaston Leroux (Paperback - 5 Mar 2008)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews