Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Compelling Read
I read this book virtually in one sitting and then I promptly lent it to my sister who wasn't able to put it down either, in fact she kept phoning me up wanting to discuss it.

It is horrible to believe that this sort of thing went on only 40 odd years ago, and that some of the victims are still institutionalised. The horrific mental and physical torture that...
Published on 27 April 2006 by Phoenix Resurgam

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A nice story, but only a story.
This is a fictional story, please don't be deceived by it. Its a genre which unfortunately sells.Please read Kathy's real story.In short.She made it up.Kathy's Real Story: A Culture of False Allegations Exposed
Published on 17 April 2012 by Cate


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horrific Life, 29 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Kathy's Story: A Childhood Hell Inside the Magdalen Laundries (Paperback)
This book is a detailed history, memoir of a woman (child) that must endure a horrific life. It reminds me somewhat of another book i read titled NIGHTMARES ECHO (Excellent book). Yet, even this story surpasses most books I have read along this subject line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - if you're easily upset don't read this book!!, 19 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Kathy's Story: A Childhood Hell Inside the Magdalen Laundries (Paperback)
Have to say this is very harrowing and details within Kathy's Story will stay in your mind for a very long time after reading this. What she endured was horrific and a real eye-opener. The book had me in tears more than once. It's shocking what went on for so long - Kathy O'Beirne has my full admiration for speaking out. If you get the chance, please read this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars LIAR!, 21 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Kathy's Story: A Childhood Hell Inside the Magdalen Laundries (Paperback)
After watching the channel 4 programme 'Lie Lab', I am disgusted that someone could make up such dreadful things and profit from selling them as 'a true story'. This book should be immediately put into the 'fiction' catagory and the words 'true story' deleted from the cover.

The worse thing is, that such dreadful things DO happen to some people and I was more than prepared to give Kathy the benefit of the doubt (after all most true abuse victims are not believed at some point). But the overwhelming evidence of all the tests on the programme, plus the fact that in the end Kathy excused herself from taking the lie test, when her brother, who disputed her story, was happy to take it and be proved to be telling the truth, left me with only one conclusion.

My heart goes out to all the REAL victims of child abuse and I wish there could be a way for all the money earned from this fabrication to be given to child abuse victims, instead of lining this wicked woman's pocket.

I urge you not to buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How could she!, 17 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Kathy's Story: A Childhood Hell Inside the Magdalen Laundries (Paperback)
I read this book and was a little weary if it could be true, I was un-sure how she suffered so horrific, never involved hospital reports, or some collaboration of her beatings, spell in the mag centre and or, loss of her baby. I watched the program last night ( lie lab channel 4 )and was horrified that her brother and her were booked to take a test in the lie lab, one, her brother passed, one, she refused at the end....Meaning this book is total fiction and this authors work should be taken off the shelves. Does she realise the damage she has done to other authors. I also read "A house full of whispers.....whose author IS having a polygraph test Monday 18th June. It is criminal what this horrible woman has written and her book should be stopped NOW. I am not sure if I ever want to read another story that says it's a true account how will we ever know....I will wait for the results of Sharon Wallace polygraph, author of the above mentioned book. May be that will restore some faith in me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars KATHYS LIES, 28 Sept. 2008
By 
A. Hayes ""county cottage"" (Solihull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kathy's Story: A Childhood Hell Inside the Magdalen Laundries (Paperback)
I read this book and could not put it down. What a terrible childhood Kathy had a wicked father and how she was treated in institutions and he losing her baby girl....then i researched the author and found out that all that she had written as being fact was in fact LYING FICTION!! Her father was indeed a very kind catholic man who worked hard and loved his wife and children. She had not been in a laundry her brother and sister both said they were all brought up the same in a kind loving family and Kathy was not treated in any way different to how they were brought up. The priest that apparently sexually abused her suffered so badly with arthritus that he couldnt even pick up a pen!! I urge you not to buy this book only because, it is not truth but, Kathys own made up story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A victim of those who should have cared., 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kathy's Story: A Childhood Hell Inside the Magdalen Laundries (Paperback)
It was frightening and true. The saddest book ever and a testament to survival of one young woman - others did not survive. Now the truth is out because of Kathy's courage - we hope this will never happen again. It is well written but it was the parts that I suspected were not included that are even more of a worry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars opens your eyes..., 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kathy's Story: A Childhood Hell Inside the Magdalen Laundries (Paperback)
The book, to me, was so true to life in those days,and more.I was brought up a catholic and I understood the way things were portrayed in the book.I must admit that I could not finish reading it due to the story being so true to life, it must have took a lot for the auther to relive the experience while writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting and Painful but a story that needed to be told, 14 April 2006
By 
Diane E. Griffith (Romulus, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kathy's Story: A Childhood Hell Inside the Magdalen Laundries (Paperback)
Ms O'Brian tells a bitter painful tale of abuse, the most horrifying is that it is all true and Ms. O'Brian was not the only victim. Thousands of Ireland's daughters were treated the same way by their families, their country and their church. The adults who refused to believe that evil and sickness can come cloaked in the veil of religion. A society so cloaked in shame that a wife will stay with a husband so abusive that he routinely starved, abused and savagely beat his children. A society so steeped in myth that a priest can openly molest little girls time and time again without fear of reprisal because no one could think the good father could ever do such a thing. A society where women who give themselves to God are so revered and respected that they can operate not one not two but dozens of houses of horrors for girls many of whom their only crime is being born. SHAME ON IRELAND, SHAME ON THE CATHOLIC CHURCH AND SHAME ON ALL PEOPLE WHO HIDE BEHIND THIER HANDS AND FAIL TO SPEAK WHEN INJUSTICE IS BEFORE THEIR EYES. MAY WE NEVER BE THAT NAIEVE AGAIN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Moving, 29 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Kathy's Story: A Childhood Hell Inside the Magdalen Laundries (Paperback)
Beautiful but incredibly sad and yet inspiring story. No-one should ever suffer like Kathy O'Beirne did for all those years,she is a true warrior! And I'd love 10 minutes with her idiot father.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look!!!, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kathy's Story: A Childhood Hell Inside the Magdalen Laundries (Paperback)
Extremely informative and sadly so. Penned simply from the perspective of a girl growing up in what reads like hell on earth. Very useful for the project I'm presently working on. Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kathy's Story: A Childhood Hell Inside the Magdalen Laundries
Kathy's Story: A Childhood Hell Inside the Magdalen Laundries by Kathy O'Beirne (Paperback - 9 Jun. 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews