Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gripping Read
One of the best true crime books ive read, so much so i felt i had to review it. Undoubtedly Paul Grimes was a proper villain back in the day - his exploits with the 'Hole in the Wall gang' tell all. He turned his back on crime and became what every criminal says they despise - a grass or in Pauls case - a supergrass because of his stance against the drugs trade. Fair...
Published on 5 Jan 2007 by True Crime Reader

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far fetched nonsense
I have read many of these true crime books. This one was far fetched and untrue. The central character seems to spout rubbish and I doubt many of his claims to beating up some very serious criminals. I live in the area and have knowledge of some of incidents mentioned and I cannot see it happening. If your into this sort thing can I suggest Gang War, Cocky or Essex Boys...
Published on 7 Feb 2010 by TripleA


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gripping Read, 5 Jan 2007
This review is from: Powder Wars: The Supergrass who Brought Down Britain's Biggest Drug Dealers (Paperback)
One of the best true crime books ive read, so much so i felt i had to review it. Undoubtedly Paul Grimes was a proper villain back in the day - his exploits with the 'Hole in the Wall gang' tell all. He turned his back on crime and became what every criminal says they despise - a grass or in Pauls case - a supergrass because of his stance against the drugs trade. Fair play, he had it all and lost it all - and his rise and fall is well documented in this book. Its an honest reflection of his life and its all true unlike a lot of other so called villains and hardmen who spout absolute boll***s throughout their pages. And with regard to the review that says about him giving curtis warren a good slap and him being young - thats real life, you want to be a standover man and live in that world be prepared for the consequences. I recommend bernard o'mahoneys wannabe in my gang for another good read on the pitfalls and realities of the drug trade, maybe then you can appreciate that what grimes did was perhaps save a few lives -if only for a short while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far fetched nonsense, 7 Feb 2010
This review is from: Powder Wars: The Supergrass who Brought Down Britain's Biggest Drug Dealers (Paperback)
I have read many of these true crime books. This one was far fetched and untrue. The central character seems to spout rubbish and I doubt many of his claims to beating up some very serious criminals. I live in the area and have knowledge of some of incidents mentioned and I cannot see it happening. If your into this sort thing can I suggest Gang War, Cocky or Essex Boys much better. The Liverpool slang is hard to keep up with even if your from the Merseyside area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars POOR, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't like the stayle of writing. Almost a complete narrative. Very little in the way of inter character communication. Just a monotonous mono-logue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Top Class Read, 25 Oct 2004
By 
david calder (Bootle, Merseyside.) - See all my reviews
An excellent read from start to finish. If you have read Cocky then you will truly love this book as there are several crossovers between the two. Granted if you are not from Liverpool you may struggle with some of the slang but its still a great read. Exhilirating from start to finish, it gives you a vivid insight into what makes these guys tick and the ruthless and callous manner in which they exercise their force.
Being a scouser myself I loved the familiarity it gave me to names and locations but this aside, a neutral would still enjoy it without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First review, 1 May 2004
By 
Best British true crime book ever written. I couldn't put it down. It's like Wiseguys by Nicolas Pillegi, the book which Goodfellas, was based on.
Unlike other British crime books which seem to concentrate on the Krays and gangsters in London 40 years ago, Powder Wars is about modern organised crime. It's speed is breathtatking.
If you bought Cocky - buy this. It's good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nail biting, silent laughable read, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Powder Wars: The Supergrass who Brought Down Britain's Biggest Drug Dealers (Paperback)
Book was not too long which is a pity.
Can't help feel sorry for Grimes, stuck in his old ways and didn't like change, certainly was a handful and could handle himself, very anti drug and firm on his beliefs, which is possibly why he ended up broke.
Tells a great story and makes you laugh all the way through, saw his YouTube interview with Macintyre after reading this, he is a guy you could have a few pints with and have a laugh with some great stories.
I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 24 April 2014
I would give this book 5 stars for this book, It was very personal, honest and being a reader who only enjoys non-fiction, it kept me completely intrigued!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book should be read in conjuction with the two other books written by the author Harry Fergueson, K17 and Lima 3. This at a time when the present Government has launched an enquiry into undercover officers. The public don't realise what a dangerous job this type of work is and for MP's to critisise police and customs officers who put their lives at risk is a down right insult. Powder Wars is a fantastic read and I can say this from my own experience in my limited undercover work in the Met. Informants are a necessary evil in the fight against crime and this particular informant who the book is about deserves the highest credit in the fight against drugs.He was a very, very brave man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Graham Johnson's books are always well written and an interesting read. Classic sociopathic reasoning to break omerta. Bring back Don Corleone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Graham Johnson Author, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read and a real eye opener to the average person. I wanted to read a book on True Liverpool Crime, A friend recommend it, and I recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Powder Wars: The Supergrass who Brought Down Britain's Biggest Drug Dealers
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews