Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for cyclists
Believe me when I say that anyone will enjoy this book, whether they are a cyclist or not. John manages to convey across the mechanisms behind a pro cycling team, without ever delving too deep into the culture that a non-cyclist would become alienated. The thing that surprised me the most was the humour. Whatever you do don't read this in a public place, I laughed out...
Published on 9 Oct 2002 by Kevin Kearney

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent magazine article - poor book
John Deering has written a light-hearted book describing what was in all likelihood a fairly painful episode in his life, when he worked for a pro cycling team that promised much but actually delivered little of that initial promise.
Unfortunately, the book mirrors the experience of the team and disappointed this reader, a keen cyclist and avid reader of many books...
Published on 26 Feb 2003 by Orchard Gate


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent magazine article - poor book, 26 Feb 2003
John Deering has written a light-hearted book describing what was in all likelihood a fairly painful episode in his life, when he worked for a pro cycling team that promised much but actually delivered little of that initial promise.
Unfortunately, the book mirrors the experience of the team and disappointed this reader, a keen cyclist and avid reader of many books on the sport. Why is that?
First, it is not particularly well written. The writing style is casual to the point of lacking any real structure or narrative thread. Many episodes and anecdotes are related without any obvious relevance to the overall story. Occasionally we are told that what is about to be recounted is very funny, rather in the manner of a pub bore telling a joke (which you know will be rather unfunny).
Second, a reader coming to this book without a fairly detailed knowledge of race cycling might well be lost in parts of the story, as no attempt is made to explain what is going on to the lay reader. Draughting, attacking, the structure of the peloton, the different roles of climbers, sprinters and so forth, none of these are made clear, although at times they are important to understanding what is happening. Deering assumes a good knowledge of the sport from the very first page.
Finally, the greatest weakness of all is the story itself: it is an interesting magazine article but does not support a good book. Essentially, a team was formed. Then the composition of the team changed over time, as riders were dropped or hired. The team did well in some races and less well in others. Having all the press releases describing how Max did well to come seventh in the Far East or how Tim was going really well and clinched twelfth place in Italy is not a particularly inspiring read. And then the most interesting part of the story is crammed into the last twenty pages, as the money runs out and team goes bust, having either been mislead or at least given far too optimistic an impression by their own manager.
And that's it: team formed; won a few races, lost some others; team went bust. End of story...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for cyclists, 9 Oct 2002
Believe me when I say that anyone will enjoy this book, whether they are a cyclist or not. John manages to convey across the mechanisms behind a pro cycling team, without ever delving too deep into the culture that a non-cyclist would become alienated. The thing that surprised me the most was the humour. Whatever you do don't read this in a public place, I laughed out loud several times, but luckily no-one was around. This I would say is a must buy for anyone who wants a light-hearted read, and at the same time find out how hard working a pro cyclist really is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too bad it had to end (the team AND the book), 23 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This is an excellent look behind the scenes of a professional cycling team. Deering, who worked as the Linda McCartney team's press officer, was privy to the internal politics, crises and resolutions that every pro team goes through. Here, he may not necessarily be telling all, but he tells us a lot about what went on with the Vegetarianos.
This book demonstrates how fleeting the life of a cycling team can be. The McCartneys rose out of one man's spontaneous dream, and imploded in an all-too-familiar fashion. Sadly, team implosions are happening a lot in cycling these days, with many good riders scrambling for a place in a well-financed squad.
The McCartneys followed in the footsteps of the ANC team that imploded just as spectacularly in the late-1980s. Here's hoping that Britain's NEXT pro team takes it a step higher than its less-than-stellar predecessors. Thank's, Deering and Yates, for making this book possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars No photographs, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Team On The Run: The Inside Story of the Linda McCartney Pro Cycling Team (Mainstream Sport) (Paperback)
I had high hopes for this book but was very disappointed. Basically a team is formed, does fairly well in some races but not so well in others, runs out of money and finishes. This is accompanied by press reports of little interest which I skipped. The anecdotes are not funny either. There don't seem to be any heroes or villains, all characters are shades of grey. There isn't any great exposure at the end as I hoped, just the end of their sponsorship. But that's how teams are, even the great US Postal Service had a shelf life. Incredibly there aren't any photos in the book. How can a press officer not have a single photo even of himself? Mr Deering might have a bushy red beard, an earring and walk with a limp for all I know. Sorry I can't recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars team on the run,the inside story of the linda mcartney pro cycling team, 9 Jun 2013
This review is from: Team On The Run: The Inside Story of the Linda McCartney Pro Cycling Team (Mainstream Sport) (Paperback)
A very insightful look at a small team trying to make it big in a sport controlled by corporations, giving you a look at the struggles and what it takes to get noticed. To sum up it is exciting, insightful and endearing, pro cycling needs teams like this it appeared to bring together the most unlikely peaple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 16 Sep 2011
This review is from: Team On The Run: The Inside Story of the Linda McCartney Pro Cycling Team (Mainstream Sport) (Paperback)
A good insight into what happened at this team but I don't think we'll ever know the real truth.
Well written but a little disjointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The rise and fall of a cycling team - fascinating and funny., 2 May 2003
By 
David Kahn (Twickenham, Middx United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
At times the writing and the narrative are uneven, but mostly the pace is maintained and parts of the book can be embarassingly funny if you happen to be reading it in public.
The book tells the story of the rise and ignominious fall of the Linda McCartney professional cycling team. Deering was its press officer and lived with the team from its start to its sad end, with his marriage failing on the way. Deering's enthusiasm for the sport and the team come through clearly, as does his own ebullient personality.
Cycling enthusiasts will certainly enjoy this book. Non-cyclists will also find much to enjoy, and will gain some insight into the incredibly tough world of professional racing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointment in style and content, 6 Jun 2005
This review is from: Team On The Run: The Inside Story of the Linda McCartney Pro Cycling Team (Mainstream Sport) (Paperback)
I had high hopes for this book. I'd heard a few things of a Linda McCartney cycling team and was intrigued by the idea of a 'big' British cycling team where all the riders were vegetarian. Perhaps the fact I'm a keen cycling fan and also a vegetarian. Who knows? ;-)
I stand by the fact that for non-fiction books, if the cover of the book can't even quote ONE good review, it's not a good omen. Lance Armstrong's, Graham Obree's and others have them in abundance. This book had none.
Put simply, sorry to spoil it for you, an over-enthusiastic chap has an idea of starting a British vegetarian cycling team, they do rather well, they have financial problems due to said over-enthusiastic chap, team ends. That really is it. Any more details? Hardly, even the authur admits.. "..the things I talk about are based on hearsay and conjecture - I can't be sure of all the facts". Great thing to say in the introduction eh?!
This book has most of the information you could easily find on the internet and a few very unfunny anecdotes. It's sadly written in the style one could imagine a footballer's autobiograpy being written if they actually wrote it themself.
The Linda McCartney team worked wonders in it's short life, I can only imagine that the help of a good sports author would have helped this book reflect this better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb33292a0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews