Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good fun
Written in the breezy style which epitomises the subject and laced with many excellent anecdotes, this is a entertaining and sometimes compellingly honest football biography which nicely brings back to life a well remembered period
There are few deep thoughts about the game or life in general but ossie nicely comes across as someone who does not and has not taken...
Published on 15 Jan 2003 by Clive Pacey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit light
A very brief account of Osgood's career. He is frank about his ups and downs, giving an interesting glimpse into the life of a footballer in the 1960s and 1970s, and there are a few good anecdotes. It is an honest account, and Osgood comes across as a genuine personality and a likeable man. But I was disappointed at how little there is on key parts of his career, notably...
Published 4 months ago by John Baird


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good fun, 15 Jan 2003
By 
Clive Pacey (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Written in the breezy style which epitomises the subject and laced with many excellent anecdotes, this is a entertaining and sometimes compellingly honest football biography which nicely brings back to life a well remembered period
There are few deep thoughts about the game or life in general but ossie nicely comes across as someone who does not and has not taken himself or life too seriously.
Thankfully, unlike many of these bios, match descpritions are kept to a minimum and my only complaint about this excellent rea isthat it should and could have been longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest football book of the year, 12 Dec 2002
By A Customer
As a player Peter Osgood had style, humour and flamboyant talent - qualities he has managed to transfer to the printed page. I am not a Chelsea fan but I loved this book because it transported me back to the 1970s, for me, an innocent but exciting time. His rise and fall and subsequent stabilistion is recalled candidly and with great humour. Barely a page is turned without raising a laugh. Typical of the throwaway lines is the following on his appearance in front of the elderly bigwigs at the FA on disciplinary charges: "the smell of Werthers Originals was overwhelming".
However parts of the book are excruciatingly sad. Talking about visiting his old team-mate Ian Hutchinson in hospital as his life ebbed away: "I wanted to throw the big fella over my shoulder and take him home with me. I want my Hutch back".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tony true Blue, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic read, I became a fan the Blues in 1966 and this book took me back to some grate times following the Blues and England, like Ossie I was a great fan of the Hutch and both are sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit light, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ossie: King of Stamford Bridge (Mainstream Sport) (Paperback)
A very brief account of Osgood's career. He is frank about his ups and downs, giving an interesting glimpse into the life of a footballer in the 1960s and 1970s, and there are a few good anecdotes. It is an honest account, and Osgood comes across as a genuine personality and a likeable man. But I was disappointed at how little there is on key parts of his career, notably the 1970 World Cup. His failure to make the most of his talent was to England's detriment.

Worth a read, whether or not you are a Chelsea fan, but for a more satisfying and complete view into the world of English professional football in this era, I have not read anything to beat Hunter Davies's 'The Glory Game'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Book, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. A. S. Robinson "artie" (bridlington England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This being my Son's favourite player it was a Super book thanks Arthur' but playing for CHELSEA only the Best will do!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Born Is The King Of Stamford Bridge, 11 Mar 2012
By 
R. Hughes (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ossie: King of Stamford Bridge (Mainstream Sport) (Paperback)
If you're a Chelsea fan, you have to buy this book. Even if you're not a Chelsea fan, buy it anyway. It's one of the most entertaining, informative and honest football books ever written.

And that mug below who gave this book one star because he bought a cheap second hand copy in poor condition should be ashamed to call himself a Chelsea fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Osgood Is Good, 5 Jan 2010
By 
AK 1957-05 (Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ossie: King of Stamford Bridge (Mainstream Sport) (Paperback)
As has already been said, a light and breezy read, very Seventies, very Kings Road, very Ossie.

Like all footballers' autobiographies, it IS self serving and one-sided, perhaps understandably. Nothing was ever his fault, being caught drinking the night before a game was "having a few lagers" to which the manager overreacted, business failures were someone else's fault...get past these foibles and you'll enjoy it. We know our idols have feet of clay, so we overlook them without too much difficulty.

I am not a Chelsea supporter either, but I was a big fan of Ossie and other cavalier players of that era. The Seventies are brilliantly evoked here - if that's your bag, then climb on in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ossie: King of Stamford Bridge (Mainstream Sport)
Ossie: King of Stamford Bridge (Mainstream Sport) by Martin Knight (Paperback - 9 Oct 2003)
6.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews