Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best football books
When it comes to football books I don't learn and often get seduced by the cover, buying a book for what I hope will be inside and ending up disappointed far to often. I've read as many mediocre football books as I've seen mediocre matches!
I am delighted to tell you that this was one of the best. I bought it around the time of Germany 2006 in a wave of optimism...
Published on 26 Sept. 2008 by Andrew Walker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Illuminating but subjective
My earliest football memory is of watching England and Uruguay on TV in the first game of the 1966 World Cup. It was also the dullest of the tournament. I was six years old and watched all of England's games; it's been all downhill since then. Probably because it was my first football experience, I have read and watched more about the World Cup in general than any other...
Published on 7 Sept. 2012 by D. J. H. Thorn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Illuminating but subjective, 7 Sept. 2012
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: '66: The Inside Story of England's 1966 World Cup Triumph (Mainstream sport) (Paperback)
My earliest football memory is of watching England and Uruguay on TV in the first game of the 1966 World Cup. It was also the dullest of the tournament. I was six years old and watched all of England's games; it's been all downhill since then. Probably because it was my first football experience, I have read and watched more about the World Cup in general than any other aspect of the sport.

Much of what is in this book therefore I already knew, but there is nevertheless a lot more that I didn't know, in particular details about England's development from when Alf Ramsey took over until the tournament itself. This, I feel, is the book's biggest asset. Unfortunately, the author's coverage of the 1966 World Cup and its aftermath left a sour taste. For some reason he has bought into the increasingly fashionable view that the England team's victory was, in the first place, handed to them on a plate and, in the second place, irreversibly detrimental to the game thereafter. His evidence for this, however, is extremely selective.

I agree that Ramsey's teams were often dull, but the notion that they somehow brought to an end football's 'Age of Innocence' is ludicrous. The 1962 World Cup in Chile was worse than the one that followed: little in the way of free-flowing football and the notorious Chile v Italy game, for instance. Moreover, the Italians had perfected the art of the one-nil long before 1966 with their lamentable catenaccio system.

There is also the demonisation of Nobby Stiles who was indeed a hatchet man. Why, however, pick on one man when there were so many? The Portuguese are feted here despite finishing off the job on Pele that the Bulgarians had started. Then there are the hard-done to South Americans. They had to put up with British referees who gave them no protection against North European cloggers. No footballer, however, is more streetwise than the average South American. It is clear from accounts of the 1930 tournament that as far back as that competition, more protection was needed in another direction and the two Uruguayans and sole Argentine who were sent off in 1966 only had themselves to blame. The Brazilians alone had cause for complaint.

Tellingly, the author chooses Denis Law's opinion to sum up football's 'blackest day'. Law, great player though he was, was always Scotland's most vociferous England-hater. Not all Scots have a chip on their shoulder about England, but he makes up for it. The 'blackest day' of his life can be explained by nothing simpler than that England won a World Cup. He is right that it had a detrimental effect on the domestic game, but globally it had no impact. The worst elements of modern football were already manifest and this conclusion fails to explain, for example, the glorious football of the 1970 Brazil side or the emergence of Holland's 'total football' shortly after.

Perhaps predictably, much is made of Geoff Hurst's second goal in the final. We all know it shouldn't have been awarded. Germans everywhere apparently couldn't wait for their revenge. Hutchinson, like most commentators, however, conveniently glosses over the late German equaliser that took the game into extra time, commenting only that it came from a free kick given for a robust challenge by Jack Charlton on Uwe Seeler. It was as clear then as it is now that Charlton jumped up for the ball with his hands at his sides while Seeler backed into him. Hutchinson would do well to read Uli Hesse's 'Tor!', a wonderful book about German football by a German for the English reader. He comments that the German players candidly remarked that England deserved the win and made little of England's luck.

To be pedantic, I can point out one howler, Helmut Haller being labelled 'Horst Haller', but pedantic it is. What irks me more is that in criticising Ramsey's approach, Hutchinson misses the most glaring truth about English, indeed British football, which is that what Ramsey did was find a way around our failure to produce players with an adequate level of flair and technique, a problem as acute now as it was then. Ramsey, seen in that context, therefore achieved a great deal more than he is given credit for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best football books, 26 Sept. 2008
By 
Andrew Walker "Andrew Walker" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: '66: The Inside Story of England's 1966 World Cup Triumph (Mainstream sport) (Paperback)
When it comes to football books I don't learn and often get seduced by the cover, buying a book for what I hope will be inside and ending up disappointed far to often. I've read as many mediocre football books as I've seen mediocre matches!
I am delighted to tell you that this was one of the best. I bought it around the time of Germany 2006 in a wave of optimism that lasted until, er, about half-time of England's first game. All England fans yearn for a repeat of 1966 but few of us can remember it and fewer know the full story. Roger Hutchinson's book is superbly written. It starts back in the 1950s, with England's "greats" failing to deliver in tournament after tournament. He describes the changing mood as fans went from an assumption of English superiority to an all-too-modern assumption that the quarter-finals would be par for the course.
It's far from triumphalist stuff, in at least two ways. First, England did not sweep all before them and there was many a setback along the way. Second, the author, while admiring Ramsay's achievement, believes his tactics had serious detrimental long-term implications for the English name.
This story drew me in and carried me along, giving insights into a world I remember but is so radically different from today ("modern slavery" at £150k per week). If you're an England fan you will definitely enjoy this book and I can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets under the skin of the myth, 9 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best book I have read about the 1966 World Cup, because it includes detailed insight, comments and retrospections form the people involved and it is not afraid to include the critical comments from the press and others that abounded during the tournament and Ramsey's reign.

I felt that all sections, especially those dealing with Ramsey's early years and playing career, were well researched and the whole book was tight, well-written and very well edited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melancholia., 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: '66: The Inside Story of England's 1966 World Cup Triumph (Mainstream sport) (Paperback)
What an immensely sad tale. A tale told with humour, wit, insight and perception, but sad nonetheless. Alf Ramsey devised a system to enable England the Jules Rimet trophy by working with what he had available to him ... and the team delivered, but somehow, there was no joy in winning, beyond the immediate moment.

A wonderful book. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, witty and full of action, 6 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: '66: The Inside Story of England's 1966 World Cup Triumph (Mainstream sport) (Paperback)
As the reviews said, easily the best book on the 1966 World Cup, and one of the best soccer books I've read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1966 And All That, 19 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I originally bought this book in paperback, and was happy to purchase again on Kindle. It really is a well written and definitive history of England's 1966 World Cup triumph. I remember it well. Highly recommended read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Relive English football glory, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great descriptive recall of the 1966 World Cup when Alf Ramsey brought England their only World Cup success. Fascinating and detailed insight into the build up to the tournament as well as the games themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: '66: The Inside Story of England's 1966 World Cup Triumph (Mainstream sport) (Paperback)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

'66: The Inside Story of England's 1966 World Cup Triumph (Mainstream sport)
Used & New from: £14.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews