Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biography of a great manager, great man
I really couldn't put this book down, and was left at the end feeling like I knew one of the greatest men that ever lived. Honestly you do not need to be a Liverpool supporter or even a football supporter to be inspired by this book.
The book charts his tough beginnings and several clubs he played for and managed prior to Liverpool, but who didn't give him the...
Published on 13 Jan 2002 by Tony S

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent biography
I fancied a good read about Shanks and this was one of the first that I spotted. Its a good book that really emphasises just what a legend and impact Shankly had on LFC and Liverpool in general, even though his trophy tally was modest in comparison to Paisley, Stein and Ferguson. Certainly a man that rose above his sport which even Paisley and Ferguson cannot lay claim...
Published on 23 Feb 2011 by KaesarSosei


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biography of a great manager, great man, 13 Jan 2002
By 
Tony S (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Talking Shankly: The Man, The Genius, The Legend (Mainstream Sport) (Paperback)
I really couldn't put this book down, and was left at the end feeling like I knew one of the greatest men that ever lived. Honestly you do not need to be a Liverpool supporter or even a football supporter to be inspired by this book.
The book charts his tough beginnings and several clubs he played for and managed prior to Liverpool, but who didn't give him the support to revolutionise them. Finally it happened at Liverpool and the book focus' on the revolution and the sad aftermath.
However, even till his death he was a real man of the people and would always make time for someone. The book ends with a collection of letters sent to the author from people who had encountered Shankly if only to remember his legendary quotes, but usually to give an account of when they met Shankly and he would be, well, Shankly.
This book should not only be read by you, it should be read by those people buying Beckham or Britney Spears 'biographies'. Hell, I reckon it should replace Shakespeare on school book lists!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read about a great man., 31 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Talking Shankly: The Man, The Genius, The Legend (Mainstream Sport) (Paperback)
Legend is an over-used word in football but if anyone truly deserves such an accolade it is the late, Scottish-born football manager Bill Shankly. He is generally regarded as one of the greatest football managers of all time and rightly so. When he arrived at Anfield in December 1959 Liverpool Football Club were going through troubled times, to say the least. However through the strength of his personality and his obsession with football, Shankly awakened a sleeping giant and he laid the foundations for a team that would go on to conquer Europe, repeatedly. Even now, 30 years after his death, Bill Shankly is revered and respected. Liverpool fans loved him, not only for the success he brought to the club but also because he was one of them. He shared their passion for the game and he knew what the club meant to them. He was not driven by financial reward, and in that sense he was never well rewarded in the way managers and players are today. Bill Shankly was driven by a desire to succeed. His goal was to make the people happy and that's exactly what he did. He was a genius and he remains a true legend.

Tom Darby's book is an affectionate tribute to the man, the genius, and the legend that is Bill Shankly. There have been numerous books written about Bill Shankly and I have read many of them. Nevertheless I found this book a fascinating and easy read and by the end of the book I was left with an even greater respect for the great man from Glenbuck, Ayrshire. The book covers all the key milestones in Shankly's life, from his humble beginnings in a Scottish mining village, through his days as a player, his early days as a manager, and then his life as manager at Liverpool. It also reflects on his departure from Liverpool Football Club and considers how the club might have treated him better than it did in the end. In particular this book attempts to shed light on why Shankly was, and still is, loved so much by the people of Merseyside. Basically it comes down to his humour, his passion, his humility and his willingness to stop and talk. He always had time for people, his people and he would do anything for them. One thing I really liked about this book was the collection of letters included at the end, where ordinary people had written to the author to tell him about their personal encounters with the great man. You do not need to be a Liverpool supporter or even a football supporter to be inspired by Bill Shankly and this book will leave you inspired. I really enjoyed it and I can recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TALKING SHANKLY, 12 Sep 2010
This review is from: Talking Shankly: The Man, The Genius, The Legend (Mainstream Sport) (Paperback)
I thought the book was insightfull and made me see things from Shankly's past that I would never of known otherwise about his past. I suppose the closest comparison we have to Shankly is Alex Ferguson, after he bows out of football that will I feel be the end of an era of old school football. Strength, inspiration, courage oozed from Shankly. A one in a 5 million of a figure, sadly missed, never shall be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talking Shankly: The Man, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talking Shankly: The Man, The Genius, The Legend (Mainstream Sport) (Paperback)
I have recommend this a 5 star as I believe it deserves it .there was nothing to dislike about it .i would recommend it to all my friends .A +++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my comments, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talking Shankly: The Man, The Genius, The Legend (Mainstream Sport) (Paperback)
very good condition & excellent read,very happy.will look here again for future purchases.no complaints from me I would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent biography, 23 Feb 2011
This review is from: Talking Shankly: The Man, The Genius, The Legend (Mainstream Sport) (Paperback)
I fancied a good read about Shanks and this was one of the first that I spotted. Its a good book that really emphasises just what a legend and impact Shankly had on LFC and Liverpool in general, even though his trophy tally was modest in comparison to Paisley, Stein and Ferguson. Certainly a man that rose above his sport which even Paisley and Ferguson cannot lay claim too, in my opinion.

The book was a little short perhaps but by no means bad and worth a read for anyone, football or LFC fan or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb13af3f0)

This product

Talking Shankly: The Man, The Genius, The Legend (Mainstream Sport)
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews