Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and memory jogging
Come on all you skinheads Get up on Your Feet Put Your Braces Together Put Your Boots on Your Feet....anyone who lived through the youth cult of the late sixties that was skinheadism will love this book. Long before skins became associated with racism and violence it was a fashion craze that swept across the country like an an outbreak of acne. The author recalls those...
Published on 27 Dec 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
I read this book in order to have some informations on the skinheads I could use in an essay. Unfortunately, the book is mostly about football but still I enjoyed reading it.
Published 2 months ago by Martin Vandenbosch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and memory jogging, 27 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Boy's Story: The Revelations and Wild Times of a Young Skin (Paperback)
Come on all you skinheads Get up on Your Feet Put Your Braces Together Put Your Boots on Your Feet....anyone who lived through the youth cult of the late sixties that was skinheadism will love this book. Long before skins became associated with racism and violence it was a fashion craze that swept across the country like an an outbreak of acne. The author recalls those days in amazing detail: the clothes, the music, the football and even the feelings. An entertaining read as well as a useful social document. With the skinhead cult history has been rewritten over recent years - Martin King has just written back it again. Well done mate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, loved it, like my first skin bird., 28 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Boy's Story: The Revelations and Wild Times of a Young Skin (Paperback)
This was a truely wonderful read, I loved it, it took me back to the late 60s with the Ben Shermans, Sta- Prest, Dr Martens,and red socks with trousers at half mast and I could even smell the Brute after shave, I'm just about to get the photo album out and put Tighten up volume two on the record player. SKINHEADS RULE OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magic, you feel like you're there when you read the stories, 13 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Boy's Story: The Revelations and Wild Times of a Young Skin (Paperback)
From start to finish this is a quality read, story of how one man grew to love soccer, which led onto some great stories about eventually running with Chelseas top boys, you felt like you're actually there with him when he's telling the stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Boy's Story: The Revelations and Wild Times of a Young Skin (Paperback)
I read this book in order to have some informations on the skinheads I could use in an essay. Unfortunately, the book is mostly about football but still I enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boss Read, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good Book, well written A must read for any REAL SKINHEAD,a good history and lesson on our culture & style...BOSS...READ.,,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Boy's Story: The Revelations and Wild Times of a Young Skin (Paperback)
Very funny book which took me back in time to my youth. The author has written a very true to life about his time growing up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A realistic tale of youth in the early seventies., 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Boy's Story: The Revelations and Wild Times of a Young Skin (Paperback)
It was refreshing to read a story from my own era of youth, that hadn't been embellished with over the top violence and the usual tripe about the late sixties and early seventies. Martin King captures how it was for the typical working class teens in Britain that became embroiled in the skinhead/boot boy cult of that period. There is so much rubbish out there that would have you believe the 70's was all about hippies, glam rock, flares and pop music. If you want to know what it was really like for a large majority of the working class youth, read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 60s Skinhead Revisited., 25 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Colin J. Brown "Soulboy" (Derby,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Boy's Story: The Revelations and Wild Times of a Young Skin (Paperback)
A Boy`s Story was a trip back,for me.I was a Skinhead from late`67(when Flower Power had taken hold)until 1970-when I felt it was time to move on.This Book reminded me of how it was.I knew the Area where the Story was based and some of the Stories that were told.The Chapter regarding West Ham bought a smile to my Face,as I remember what happened when Chelsea played West Ham-at the Bridge.This should be catagorised under Social History as this was how late 60s Britain was.Dejected and angry with what was happening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time, 11 Sep 2002
By 
Mr. S. Harrington (Hamstreet,Ashford, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Boy's Story: The Revelations and Wild Times of a Young Skin (Paperback)
It's about time someone wrote this book! A really entertaining look at life as a teenager in London at the end of the sixties...King captures the times excellently,mainly because he can laugh at himself...the bravado,posturing and running scared are as important to this true account as the music,clothes and teenage escapades. For those who were skins as teenagers this is an essential read...maybe it is a light read,and not intellectually challenging, but it's very funny,and nostalgic, the 2 things it sets out to achieve....look forward to a follow up......if you can't relate to the scenes in the park playing footie and laugh,you haven't lived!! Nice one Martin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Boy's story... um I wonder, 4 Dec 2008
By 
Der Spiess (Loverly London) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Boy's Story: The Revelations and Wild Times of a Young Skin (Paperback)
You have to wonder, if I didn't know better I'd think this is a total work of fiction made up from other books and TV programmes the authors seen or read. Clearly who can really remember their early teens in great detail(40 years on)including the colour of some shirts you wore but apparently Mr King can. For those interested in the late 60's (and I mean Skinheads)it leaves out the detail and for those who like a good story it has no real beginning, middle or end. It should have been entitled "Who I didn't beat up at the Shed!" Get it but be prepared to be disappointed. Even the picture on the fronts backwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Boy's Story: The Revelations and Wild Times of a Young Skin
A Boy's Story: The Revelations and Wild Times of a Young Skin by Martin King (Paperback - 18 Sep 2000)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews