Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye Opener
I originally bought this book about 5 years ago. Since that time, I have re-read it many times and can honestly say that this is a very interesting book.

This book is succesful in showing the reader that the underworld is not all money and glamour. This book highlights the true state of the murky underworld that is involved in narcotics and the devestating...
Published on 26 Jun 2007 by Don MKS

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm...not sure how true this story.is!
I have read a few of the essex boys books, but at the moment I'm quite convinced the whole picture is not the truth
Published 7 months ago by Kelly Sheern


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye Opener, 26 Jun 2007
This review is from: Essex Boys: A Terrifying Expose Of The British Drugs Scene (Paperback)
I originally bought this book about 5 years ago. Since that time, I have re-read it many times and can honestly say that this is a very interesting book.

This book is succesful in showing the reader that the underworld is not all money and glamour. This book highlights the true state of the murky underworld that is involved in narcotics and the devestating effect that it can have.

I would recommend this book to anyone with an interest in True Crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essex Boys has ring of authnenticity., 23 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Essex Boys: A Terrifying Expose Of The British Drugs Scene (Paperback)
During the early 90's I spent two wild and exciting years working on the doors in Blackpool's club-land. O'Mahoney's book captures perfectly the mood and culture of the time. The only difference in the characters of 'Essex Boys'and any 'Boys'from any other major club-scene are the names and faces, everything else is the same - the same drugs, same personalities, same muscles, and yes, the same Range Rovers (or maybe a Shogun). The book proved completely fascinating to me as I felt that I could almost substitute the people whom I used to know with the main players in this story. O'Mahoney has produced a book written with honesty and integrity (often showing himself in a unsavoury light) that I feel will stand the test of time as a major insight into criminal gangs in the 90's, and the dark side of club culture. He manages to capture the often-curious mix of warmth, humour, and vulnerability present in club land faces, combined with their negative traits of greed, arrogance, and cold hardness. You can really tell that he has been there. For a contrast I recommend that you read 'Bloggs 19' by Tony Thompson. I must admit that I found this work seemed to be a little self-serving, and that the main protagonist appears most concerned to be seen in a good light-unlike O'Mahoney. I feel that the truth of what really happened to Tucker, Tate, and Rolfe lies somewhere in-between the two books, but if you had to plump for one of the two I would go for O'Mahoneys version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodfellas in sunny Basildon, 8 May 2000
By 
VicHoon "Victor Houghton" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essex Boys: A Terrifying Expose Of The British Drugs Scene (Paperback)
Surely one of the most frightening snapshots of the British underworld. O'Mahoney's life as a doorman carried with it an everyday risk of extreme violence that often spilled out onto the streets.
The scary thing about this book is that it illustrates how the violence and evil perpetrated by a very small group of people affects many innocents.
There are some fascinating insights into some well-known "media gangsters", and the peculiar codes which they follow.
Much of what O'Mahoney says can be questioned: in particular, his motives behind some of his actions (where you have to read between the lines). But every event he relates his backed by facts, and he doesn't at least try to make excuses for the violence in which he often became involved.
This book won't win any literary prizes, but it is a gripping, insightful, frightening read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent insight of the notorious underworld., 21 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Essex Boys: A Terrifying Expose Of The British Drugs Scene (Paperback)
It's crime as we all see at the movies dark and sinister, a true and moving exspose into the world of some true essex boys. Having come from the area and living five minutes away from where Bernard first lived, it gave me an insight of the lives of people who we see as our neighbours, and it makes you think, who can you trust?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An insiders view of the British Drug Scene, 23 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Essex Boys: A Terrifying Expose Of The British Drugs Scene (Paperback)
Bernard 0'Mahoney has been there, seen it and done it. He takes the reader on his journey through the dubious world of door security and ultimately high level drug dealing with all the pitfalls along the way. This man ran the door of the club where Leah Betts got her ecstacy and he talks frankly about the aftermath and fall out which eventually (through a series of circumstances) led to three men being shot dead. This book covers some of the same ground as Bloggs 19 by Tony Thompson, but ultimately calls into question that book by questioning the motives behind the grass Darren Nicholls who co-wrote Bloggs. Without oversensationalising anything this book manages to portray Bernards life and knocks a few holes in various myths surrounding the drugs scene
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping tale of real life gangsters, 1 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Essex Boys: A Terrifying Expose Of The British Drugs Scene (Paperback)
Bernard explains his involvment with may of the UK's gangsters who had a strangle hold on the rave scene. A well written book that you will not be able to put down. It is interesting to read this after Dave Courtneys 'Stop the Ride' as there are a few conflicting stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Answers questions for us Essex folk!, 30 May 2013
By 
A Raven "Raven" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Essex Boys: A Terrifying Expose Of The British Drugs Scene (Paperback)
When the three men (Tate, Tucker and Rolfe) died in a cold blooded gangland execution I was, like many others both horrified and sickened. I am Essex based and many of the areas discussed have particular memories for me, Raquels nightclub, Hollywood nightclub etc. I never came across these men in my time there, possibly because I was never a drug user unlike some of my peers. Even nearly 20 years on this case still both appalls and fascinates me because of it's locality so close to home.

This book gives the background story behind the murders and tells of how the drug empire was managed in the Essex area and makes no bones about detail, like many others I witnessed the image of the badly damaged Leah Betts who never recovered following her ingestion of an Ecstasy tablet at Raquels. Reading how this drug empire was managed and the people who were injured along the way is horrific. There is no doubt that the three men who died were all major players in a vast criminal empire. Despite this, the way they died was brutal and it fills me with horror to this day. The best that can be said is that their deaths removed three highly dangerous men from society and that perhaps there are people alive today simply because these men are dead. This is scant comfort to their loved ones though :( .
Now nearly 20 years on there are two men serving life sentences for their murders, to date I am uncertain of their guilt although both were evidently well involved in a criminal life. This does not mean they should be forgotten if indeed they are victims of a miscarriage of justice.
More than anything it is a small comfort to know that some who were involved in the scene at he time took a look at themselves and the people they were associating with as a result of these murders. Maybe it was the wake up call some of them needed to get out and move on.
Finally for anyone fancying themselves as a "big time gangland criminal" I can suggest no more than looking at the Crime Scene photos (inexplicably freely available on the internet) to see where a life of crime can lead, he who lives by the sword can also die by the sword - it's not big, it's not clever and it certainly isn't pretty.

I cant say that I "enjoyed" this book in the strictest sense because a relaxing read it aint! However it was a fascinating read and gave me some of he background to the killings which took place so close to home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My honest opinion, 22 Aug 2011
This review is from: Essex Boys: A Terrifying Expose Of The British Drugs Scene (Paperback)
I have scored this fairly high, because it is a good read, one which keeps you entralled from start to finish and therefore felt it desereved it. There is something inside me that questions the writer of this book, having read a number of his novels. Mr O'Mahaoney seems to try too hard to associate himself with the deceased, by insisting that he was one of 'the firm'. Even the cover of the looks strange with Bernard's face with his 3 deceased friends. I can not help but think that just because he worked the doors of one of the clubs owned by Tony Tucker, it doesn't necessarily mean he was that well placed in 'the firm' to get the greatest insight into their activites. In each of his novels there is an eliment of him droning on about be involved with gangsters and now being happy that he has left this all behind him. Many gangster love being just that 'gangsters' they generally enjoy the lifestyle, the money and the notoriety. If Mr O'Mahoney was a gangster or should I say respected or succesful gansgter; why is he still whinging about it? His attitude just doesn't scream gangster, it shouts to me someone who sat on the periphery of crime, that is now making a few quid out of whinging about it and luckily for him his former employer was shot with his 2 mates. I might be wrong, but I would be very surprised if he was as close to the decaesed as he makes out!!

Sorry Bernard just my humble opinion - keep writing, but please stop whinging!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essex Boys, 7 Sep 2010
This review is from: Essex Boys: A Terrifying Expose Of The British Drugs Scene (Paperback)
Good book....still would love to hear what really happened to those three that night....they are where they deserve to be!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read but some of his story don't add up. A lot better then the film. Look forward to other side of the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essex Boys: A Terrifying Expose Of The British Drugs Scene
Essex Boys: A Terrifying Expose Of The British Drugs Scene by Bernard O'Mahoney (Paperback - 3 April 2000)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews