Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncovering a legend!
A book purchased for my birthday and read a week before!! I just couldn't put this book down..A very enjoyable read. I am always interested in the lives of the hebridean people and this being a story I already had some knowledge of, I just had to take a look. Once again, the style of writing kept me thoroughly absorbed (woe betide anyone ringing for a taxi through my...
Published on 22 July 2007 by The Flying Pixie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Polly a voyage to heaven
A lot of history that is fine if your into Westminster biased politics setting the mindset for the islanders and then the truth about the landing of the whisky
Published 14 months ago by Jacob Scobey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncovering a legend!, 22 July 2007
This review is from: Polly: The True Story Behind Whisky Galore (Paperback)
A book purchased for my birthday and read a week before!! I just couldn't put this book down..A very enjoyable read. I am always interested in the lives of the hebridean people and this being a story I already had some knowledge of, I just had to take a look. Once again, the style of writing kept me thoroughly absorbed (woe betide anyone ringing for a taxi through my company while I was engrossed!!) This book contains humour, sadness, defiance and innocence. The SS Politician is a legend, along with the people who made her a legend..the islanders, "rescuing" and "saving" the whiskey and goods from the Polly, thinking they were doing no harm. Roger Hutchinson tells it as it was, which, in my opinion, is far better than watching the glamourised film version. Top Marks once again for a charming little book...read on...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polly: The True Story Behind Whisky Galore (Paperback)
after reading whiskey galore i only wish i had read this first, even then the authorities hushed things up. Ummmm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars polly: the true story behind whisky galore, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polly: The True Story Behind Whisky Galore (Paperback)
a superb insight into the famous shipwreck, very well researched and a great read. a book that is well overdue with regards to the wrongs against the islanders
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Polly a voyage to heaven, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lot of history that is fine if your into Westminster biased politics setting the mindset for the islanders and then the truth about the landing of the whisky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and enjoyable, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having seen the film "Whisky Galore" I was interested to know the real story. I found this book as enjoyable as the film and very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Readable and interesting piece of history., 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polly: The True Story Behind Whisky Galore (Paperback)
Knowing Compton MacKenzie's book "Whisky Galore" I found this short story of what inspired him to write it most interesting.The book also tells us about the making of the film which must have been quite an experience both the islanders and those involved in the making of this much loved film and of various later happenings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 27 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Polly: The True Story Behind Whisky Galore (Paperback)
A great little book which puts the record straight about the sinking of the S.S. Politician and its cargo of Whisky off the island of Eriskey during the war. Just the book for those long winter nights, this book should be read by anyone who has seen the famous Ealing comedy film "Whisky Galore".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty whisky, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the real story behind "whisky galore" enjoyable read. jobs worth custom men caused a lot of trouble! nice twist at end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars padding galore, 24 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: Polly: The True Story Behind Whisky Galore (Paperback)
The trouble with `the real story of Whisky Galore' is that it's not a very interesting story. A cargo of whisky is wrecked in the Western Isles; some of it is salvaged by locals; Customs & Excise come looking. The End, more or less. It took a novelist's predilection for quaint characters (if your taste runs to that sort of thing) to flesh it out, and the real life version, though so short, feels stretched. This is an insubstantial work in every sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Polly: The True Story Behind Whisky Galore
Polly: The True Story Behind Whisky Galore by Roger Hutchinson (Paperback - 7 May 1998)
7.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews