Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leon's rightful place!, 22 Nov 2009
By 
S. Robertson (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leon and the Place Between (Paperback)
After looking through the unusual and beautiful illustrations in this book, I was overwhelmed by the sense that I had been transported back to my own childhood. There are so many childrens stories around that shy away from the timeless appeal of mystery and imagination - this tale does not, and will reach out to many readers of many ages for all kinds of sentimental and sensual reasons and invoke hidden memories. The wide-eyed character drawings by Grahame Baker-Smith reflect the wide-eyed wonder felt whilst absorbing the everything of this wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very special., 27 Feb 2011
By 
K. Briscoe "Book-crazed mother" (California USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leon and the Place Between (Paperback)
Beautiful, magical illustrations. Beautiful, magical words. This book took my breath away the first time I read it to my children (5 and 7) and still does every time. They have done an amazing job of creating the sense of wonder that Leon himself feels when he goes into the tent at the fair and the magic show transports him, literally and figuratively. Stunning. My daughters loved it too but I could read it happily by myself it's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautifully enchanting, 26 Aug 2010
This review is from: Leon and the Place Between (Paperback)
This book is lovely. It has beautiful detailed illustrations, and both the 5 and 8 year old I read it to loved it and ask for it again and again.
A very special book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite, 4 Nov 2012
By 
Ms. J. E. Davis "Jane" (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leon and the Place Between (Paperback)
This is quite possibly the most beautiful book you will ever own. Slightly darker than the average children's fare. Graeme Baker-Smith's illustrations are exquisite. I use one as a screen-saver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating and beautiful, 15 Sep 2014
This review is from: Leon and the Place Between (Paperback)
I adore this book! The illustrations are beautiful and the story is captivating. I've used it in literacy lessons to explore many topics and themes and the children have always enjoyed it.

Works well linking to magic poetry - creating spells! The senses - what is it like at the circus? So many creative writing ideas can come from this book.

Great postage and quick delivery. Made up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Teacher's dream, 13 May 2014
By 
disco_daveuk (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leon and the Place Between (Paperback)
I used this book as the basis for a short topic in a year 4 class... long story short, the book was such an amazing stimulus (along with experiential learning that was planned) that the quality of creative and descriptive writing in my class has been skyrocketing ever since. Buy it, read it, enjoy it, teach it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sumptuous, 27 Oct 2013
By 
MrsH (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leon and the Place Between (Paperback)
Has had my children and those I have taught completely enthralled with its enchanting illustrations which capture awe and wonder beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book - a must have for any teacher!, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leon and the Place Between (Paperback)
WOW! what a fantastic book which is beautifully written and illustrated. I can't wait to use it with my children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My 5 year old loves this book, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leon and the Place Between (Paperback)
Although it starts rather abruptly the story is fabulous and the pictures amazing, a magical book that stirs the imagination
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book with beautiful art work, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leon and the Place Between (Paperback)
This book was recommended to me by a colleague for a teaching interview. The children enjoyed the tale immensely and I have used it on a number of occasions to inspire my class to write imaginative stories. It's the images which make the book, and transport the reader into the world of Leon. A must for those teaching lower Key stage 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leon and the Place Between
Leon and the Place Between by Graham Baker-Smith (Paperback - 1 July 2009)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews