Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dragonology - A Complete Book of Dragons
I bought this book yesterday after seeing it in a bookshop sale. I am a huge fan of everything to do with Dragons and thought that this would make a nice addition to my collection. I was immediatly impressed with the cover of the book, extremely well made and the contents of the book were commented on by everybody i showed it to. Written as if it were a sort of diary, it...
Published on 2 Oct 2003 by Louisa Carroll

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dragonologists
Ever wonder why Smaug hoarded all that treasure? Apparently it was just to impress the lady dragons. That's only one detail of "Dr. Ernest Drake's Dragonology: The Complete Book of Dragons," a faux-scholarly book that gives intricate details to the legendary beasts. (The actual author is Dugald A. Steer).

Without robbing dragons of their mystique, we get an...
Published on 22 April 2007 by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dragonology - A Complete Book of Dragons, 2 Oct 2003
I bought this book yesterday after seeing it in a bookshop sale. I am a huge fan of everything to do with Dragons and thought that this would make a nice addition to my collection. I was immediatly impressed with the cover of the book, extremely well made and the contents of the book were commented on by everybody i showed it to. Written as if it were a sort of diary, it was full of interseting pictures and things to read. there were 'samples' of dragon skin and dragon dust to touch and look at, as well as diagrams on the physiology and biology of dragons, which lift up to reveal the muscle structure, then the bone structure of a dragon.
This book is a must for any fans of Dragons and the mythology surrounding them, not just for its appearance, but you might want to get over how fantastic it looks before you read it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 5 Jan 2006
By 
I am seventeen and love this book, I think old and young will enjoy it. I love these books so much I have the other two (so far!) Wizardology and egyptology. The detailed imagery is beautiful and the flaps, pockets and books add to the interest. Not forgetting to include the special picture at the back, of a large dragons head containing a gem for the eye. Though for very young children there is alot of writing, but i feel these books can be treasured for years until they do come to reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 20 Jan 2004
By 
Clara Von Kluk Kluk (South Cumbria, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragonology: The Complete Book of Dragons (Ology Series) (Hardcover)
This book turned out to be this years star Christmas present for my daughter. She has not put it down and it accompanies her to school now as well. A magical and "authentic" account of dragons and their background, including some wonderful samples of dragon skin!! The way this book has been written and illustrated makes it totally convincing, even to an adult!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dragonology, 16 Nov 2005
By 
Hm lewis "matyroo" (rugby, warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
what a wonderful book for children.we bought this book for our son's ninth birthday and he loves it.it is either being read or its under his arm being transported to bed with him.in a lovely way its interactive as he is sharing it with us and feels he is teaching us new things about dragons.its lovely to see him lost in the magical world of dragons long may it last
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I bought it for the kids. Really., 21 Oct 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beatifully done, complete with samples and fold out flaps and so forth to a very high production standard. Lovely artworks, including some by Wayne Anderson, who has to be my personal all-time favourite for spooky, icky, and just plain odd drawings. Very arch text full of turn-of-the-20th-century comments, which will probably whoosh straight over a younger reader's head. But it is hard to define what age this book is aimed at. Most of it can be read for fantasizing fun by a bright seven or eight year old, especially one who has even a passing acquaintance with the Harry Potter genre, which must be the whole planet by now, but they don't get all the jokes. They need to be a careful bright seven or eight year old too, with all these bits. And it is a wry, fun book for adults who can read it and wish their parents had got them books like this when they were young. Somewhere in the middle are older children who would appreciate all of it, but probably haven't yet grown out of claiming they've grown out of books like this. If they have, it's be brilliant for them too. Better buy it for the whole family, then.
The other thing is that there is a wealth of real stuff tucked away in the fantasy text. Darwin is in there, together with some history, a bit of runic alphabet, and some chemistry - beware if your child starts looking around for iron pyrites and flints! so you can kid yourself that it's sort of educational too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatuifully illustrated & bound - very entertaining, 11 Aug 2005
By 
Mrs. Alison Taylor (Grantham, Lincs, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is excellent - suitable for Adults as well as children. I bought it for inspiration as I make dragons, and I certainly was not disappointed! The book is educational as well as entertaining, also very funny in places. The quality of the book is exceptional, I haven't seen anything like it before - it is amazing. I would recommend this book to anyone. It is excellent value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding - a must for dragonmaniacs, 11 Mar 2004
By 
A. Craig "Amanda Craig" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
For once, a book that's worth its exorbitant price. I gave this to my son (8) for Christmas and not only has it delighted him for hours but taught him how to present Biology projects. The specimens of dragon skin are even more thrilling than the long pseudo-scientific entries on different breeds. As someone currently writing a novel for children aged 8-12 which features a dragon, I found it almost as stimulating as my children did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attractive without a glance, 23 Oct 2004
I am a 12 year old in the world of books and I picked up this book out of interest. Even without a glance of the inside it looks good. The cover is amazing. But inside really opens your heart out for the world of dragons. Whether or not you believe in them this book is very reccommended. Brilliant for all ages because it is such and interactive book. Children enjoy the full out leaflets, skin samples, and miniature books inside and adults find all of the maps, scales and writing interseting. But it is so easily catergorised and you just have to show everyone you know once you get this beautifully illustrated book! A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dragonology review, 27 Jan 2006
By A Customer
Dragonology is one of the best books ever made.Dragonology contains enough material to allow anyone to become an amateur dragonologist including on the spot recognition guides,the life cycle of dragons,how to use dragon parts and dragon spells and all these topics are complimented by beautiful drawings.By the end of this book I can guarrantee that you will be able to tell the difference between an ampithere and a lindwyrm.If you enjoy this book then try the rest of templars great books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dragonology, 15 Jan 2006
By A Customer
Dragonoloy is a brilliant book as it is ideal if you like lord of the rings and if you don't you'll love it anyway!It is not just a book it is a a path leading to dragons. Everytime you pick it up you are sucked into a world were dragons not only exhist but they rule!!!!! I love it, and so will you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragonology: The Complete Book of Dragons (Ology Series)
Dragonology: The Complete Book of Dragons (Ology Series) by Douglas Carrel (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2003)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews