Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely illustrations
This book is not a "jolly phonics" learn the alphabet book, but it has beautiful illustrations and the children can identify the objects of the letter being taught.
No lower case.
Nonetheless lovely.
Published on 12 Jan 2010 by Philippa Kimball-Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not good for learning the alphabet
I think this is a book for adults to enjoy with (or without) babies and toddlers, not a book for learning the alphabet. Lovely pictures and all lower case but not phonics based - g is for giraffe, o is for owl - confusing for a small child.
Published 19 months ago by Rachel H


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely illustrations, 12 Jan 2010
By 
Philippa Kimball-Smith "Pippa" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC (Board book)
This book is not a "jolly phonics" learn the alphabet book, but it has beautiful illustrations and the children can identify the objects of the letter being taught.
No lower case.
Nonetheless lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely detailed ABC, 9 Sep 2010
By 
A. McGrath (Arizona, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC (Board book)
I chased down this book based on various reviews in parenting magazines and online, and it was worth it. THe pictures are wonderful, with so much detail. There are many more objects starting with the letters on each page than you see at first glance, so I think it will be popular a bit longer than the standard single "A is for apple" picture books. There is also a sort of fairytale story between the man and the woman, told over the course of the ABC's - it is most intriguing to adults! I find my daughter telling me "next one mummy?" because I am considering the subplot!
My only disappointment was that I was looking for the hardcover version, and the one I got was actually the board book. For a board book it is quite large - check the dimensions, it doesn't fit out bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique,beautiful way to teach the alphabet, 22 Mar 2010
By 
Mrs. Leisa Tayler (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC (Board book)
Another amazing picture book from Alison Jay. If you're thinking of buying this please look at her counting book too. There is something about these books that stand out from the average ABC and 123 books. Both my 20 month and (almost) 3 year old are drawn to them both. Once again if you look hard on every page the book can take ages to read as their imaginations are encouraged to run wild with the clever illustrations and the clues to the following pages. I am in awe of this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC (Board book)
Cannot stress enough how much we love this. It is great looking, with beautiful illustrations, and the thought that has gone into it is deeply appreciated by myself and my toddler. Every picture has so much going on to talk about, and little things to think about, as it forshadows different words, uses mini versions of characters and objects in other pictures so you can go back and forth, and also uses the letter illustrated in the page in more than the obvious choice in the picture, so you can ask your toddler "what other things begin with B int he picture?". Hence you can go on for a long time talking about this, and understanding language and letters spending quality time with your little one. Totally great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply beautiful!, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC (Board book)
I love these illustrations! I searched extensively for an alphabet book for my 22 month old and this is perfect! I highly recommend. Alison Jay is truly a STUNNING artist :) I am thrilled with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely gift, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC (Board book)
Bought it as a present for my niece's first birthday and she absolutely loves it. A good quality and reasonably priced item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learning, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC (Board book)
Our son loves this and relates to all the pictures. Colourful and aids learning his alphabet. He now goes and gets it to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great artwork and arrived on time, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC (Board book)
The artwork in this book is fantastic, one page leads on to another with hidden pictures in each, very well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not good for learning the alphabet, 18 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC (Board book)
I think this is a book for adults to enjoy with (or without) babies and toddlers, not a book for learning the alphabet. Lovely pictures and all lower case but not phonics based - g is for giraffe, o is for owl - confusing for a small child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 25 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC (Board book)
This is a lovely ABC with clever connections between the pictures to tell a story. My three year old nephew was very pleased with his present!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC
Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC by Alison Jay (Board book - 1 Nov 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews