Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely detailed ABC
I chased down this book based on various reviews in parenting magazines and online, and it was worth it. THe pictures are wonderful, with so much detail. There are many more objects starting with the letters on each page than you see at first glance, so I think it will be popular a bit longer than the standard single "A is for apple" picture books. There is also a sort of...
Published on 9 Sept. 2010 by A. McGrath

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not good for learning the alphabet
I think this is a book for adults to enjoy with (or without) babies and toddlers, not a book for learning the alphabet. Lovely pictures and all lower case but not phonics based - g is for giraffe, o is for owl - confusing for a small child.
Published on 18 Jan. 2013 by Rachel H


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely detailed ABC, 9 Sept. 2010
By 
A. McGrath (Arizona, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC (Board book)
I chased down this book based on various reviews in parenting magazines and online, and it was worth it. THe pictures are wonderful, with so much detail. There are many more objects starting with the letters on each page than you see at first glance, so I think it will be popular a bit longer than the standard single "A is for apple" picture books. There is also a sort of fairytale story between the man and the woman, told over the course of the ABC's - it is most intriguing to adults! I find my daughter telling me "next one mummy?" because I am considering the subplot!
My only disappointment was that I was looking for the hardcover version, and the one I got was actually the board book. For a board book it is quite large - check the dimensions, it doesn't fit out bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely illustrations, 12 Jan. 2010
By 
Philippa Kimball-Smith "Pippa" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC (Board book)
This book is not a "jolly phonics" learn the alphabet book, but it has beautiful illustrations and the children can identify the objects of the letter being taught.
No lower case.
Nonetheless lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique,beautiful way to teach the alphabet, 22 Mar. 2010
By 
Mrs. Leisa Tayler (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC (Board book)
Another amazing picture book from Alison Jay. If you're thinking of buying this please look at her counting book too. There is something about these books that stand out from the average ABC and 123 books. Both my 20 month and (almost) 3 year old are drawn to them both. Once again if you look hard on every page the book can take ages to read as their imaginations are encouraged to run wild with the clever illustrations and the clues to the following pages. I am in awe of this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!, 1 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC (Board book)
Cannot stress enough how much we love this. It is great looking, with beautiful illustrations, and the thought that has gone into it is deeply appreciated by myself and my toddler. Every picture has so much going on to talk about, and little things to think about, as it forshadows different words, uses mini versions of characters and objects in other pictures so you can go back and forth, and also uses the letter illustrated in the page in more than the obvious choice in the picture, so you can ask your toddler "what other things begin with B int he picture?". Hence you can go on for a long time talking about this, and understanding language and letters spending quality time with your little one. Totally great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alphabet: A Child's ABC, 12 Mar. 2011
By 
Pat45 "Pats" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We have the board book with a picture of a Hot Air Balloon on the cover but I assume they are the same. A wonderful alphabet book for a young child, full of little discoveries aside from the main object in the picture. Lots to talk about with a young child. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buy!, 15 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC (Board book)
I purchased this along with the Counting book by the same author and everyone loves it. Alison Jay's books have such wonderful illustrations. It makes bedtime reading so special when the pictures are nice to look at as well as the story content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful illustrations!, 13 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC (Board book)
I have just purchased the alphabet/numbers wall chart version of this book and, as a graphic designer myself, it was the artwork that appealed to me. My son isn't quite at the right age but I look forward to putting it on the wall and enjoying it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not good for learning the alphabet, 18 Jan. 2013
By 
This review is from: Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC (Board book)
I think this is a book for adults to enjoy with (or without) babies and toddlers, not a book for learning the alphabet. Lovely pictures and all lower case but not phonics based - g is for giraffe, o is for owl - confusing for a small child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely Book, 5 April 2011
By 
S. Brooks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC (Board book)
My baby is almost 2 and loves this book. We've had it for a couple of months and it has really helped with her speech. Everytime we read the book we find something new. It also started a love affair with the moon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply beautiful!, 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC (Board book)
I love these illustrations! I searched extensively for an alphabet book for my 22 month old and this is perfect! I highly recommend. Alison Jay is truly a STUNNING artist :) I am thrilled with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC
Alphabet: Alison Jay's ABC by Alison Jay (Board book - 1 Nov. 2004)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews