Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, Sharp, To The Point and Thoroughly Engaging Throughout!
I picked up this book - as I imagine many will - knowing the previous works and essays of Grayling (including his contributions to Prospect magazine). It is certainly a quick read but covers a lot of ground. Even though the price did catch my eye for what is a fairly short book (although it is in hardback which adds a few pennies), I feel such a book - that you are likely...
Published on 17 Mar. 2010 by P. Barker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I thought that he was a philosopher
This is a betrayal of the craft of philosophy. It is little more than a rant, in the manner of Dawkins, although it is better written. Strangely enough I thought that it was worth the money for the entertainment value. Rather like watching a great serious actor doing grotesque slap stick. Ultimately it is a waste of time, it will not have an impact on theists, thinking...
Published on 28 Jan. 2013 by GH


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars INTERESTING, 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well written essays. not always easy to read but worth the effort. A subject that can be mentally stimulating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a short and incisive review of the conflict between religion and the rational thinker, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a masterly summary of the arguments for atheism, focused mainly on the Christian religion, and the problems it finds when up against modern thinking, particularly science. If you are an atheist it's a valuable short course in rationality, if you are religious, you might find it valuable coaching in why your churches are emptier every year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Free Thinking!, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Set Prometheus Free: Religion, Reason and Humanity (Hardcover)
When we're children we play fanciful things - when we're adults we put away myths and legends and deal with the real world.

LeeTaviner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An unbeliever, 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I needed no convincing and found it a good and lucid read. A bit hard going in one or two places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Which gang is cooler?, 17 Jan. 2013
I find this subject matter really fascinating, so was hoping for something really solid on the subject. Sadly the book is basically "look at these bad, stupid people who were theists", "look at these good, clever people who are atheists", "you saw those people and what they thought, therefore atheism's right & beneficial, and theism's wrong & harmful".

Bigoted, superficial, and shallow. Read the preview before you buy to see if it's your kind of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A non-intellectual's view, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a Christian with complete faith in existence of God I was never going to like these essays, far less persuaded by Professor Grayling's arguments. Of course there should always be room for argument and many points of view but I think he lets himself down by denigrating us of faith. I am sorry that so many people miss out on the great joy which God brings to the everyday lives of people who put their trust in Him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sweet bejaysus, 7 Jan. 2013
This review is from: To Set Prometheus Free: Religion, Reason and Humanity (Hardcover)
This sort of book, whose name, alas, is Legion, attemps to take on the religious on their own terms. It is a fool's errand*. Let us imagine that those without faith maintained the existence of a hypothetical substance, imperceptible to the senses - call it Sprod - that prevented any supernatural emanations or visitations ('gods' and the like) from ever having been. Now imagine the committed religious being challenged to *prove* that Sprod is a fabrication, a delusion! Surreal doesn't cover it. So why put ourselves through these hoops? God is a three-letter word (in English, at least; I've long pondered what His Goddiness calls herself) that means whatever you want it to mean. It is a word on the meaning of which no two believers, if pressed, could ever agree, once they diverged from 'the Party line'**, whose meaning is also studiously ambiguous - postmodern, even. God-addiction is like any other. These guys do not want our help. If they need their Sunday fix, what earthly concern is it of ours? Find another corpse, Grayling; this one has been flogged, flayed and gnawn these past five hundred years (or since Spinoza at least) yet *still* stalks the land trailing followers in its wake. It's a ***** miracle!

* Private Eye, 5 April 2013, of Grayling's latest effort: '..so hackneyed and unfruitful a topic as the non-existence of God'

** Folk who said communism resembled religion spoke wiser than they knew. Both were imposed by a handful of zealots. Beware inspiration/the 'spiritual' (spirit: hot air)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

To Set Prometheus Free: Religion, Reason and Humanity
To Set Prometheus Free: Religion, Reason and Humanity by A.C. Grayling (Hardcover - 1 Dec. 2009)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews