Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous essential book for actors and all voice practitioners
If you're looking for a book on accents this has to be the first one to buy. It's clear, informative, systematic and gives you the guidelines and principles for doing ANY accent. It's also playful and very accessible and backs up the text with a cd. A bonus: the book is beautifully designed and illustrated, of high quality paper, and a pleasure to handle. Every actor,...
Published on 4 Dec. 2007 by J. G. Green

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and frustrating
I was very disappointed with this book. Found it very frustrating to work out "how to" to them! And I couldn't find the accent I wanted to do. You need to be a mind reader to work out how to use this book. Had problems downloading the accent tracks too

Don't waste your money unless you have endless patience and a very high IQ in order to understand this...
Published 10 months ago by Mystic Mog


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous essential book for actors and all voice practitioners, 4 Dec. 2007
By 
J. G. Green (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you're looking for a book on accents this has to be the first one to buy. It's clear, informative, systematic and gives you the guidelines and principles for doing ANY accent. It's also playful and very accessible and backs up the text with a cd. A bonus: the book is beautifully designed and illustrated, of high quality paper, and a pleasure to handle. Every actor, acting student and voice teacher should own this, read it, and refer to it as an essential reference book when working on roles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wow, finally it all makes sense!, 15 Nov. 2008
By 
It all makes sense now....I spent 3 years at Drama school, learning phonetics and accents. I often wondered why on earth we were learning what an explosive is, or whatever it's called? and why when ever I tried a Geordie accent I ended up sounding Norwegian or sort of Scottish but not remotely Geordie!
I really like the way the authors have mapped out a process and an easy system that actually makes sense. My accent awareness and 'muscles memory' HAS really improved. The 'top tips' and chapter summaries are really clear. It would be better if the tracks were printed on the CD and if the Accent tracks were clearly marked but thats a small point! cos you don't realise you're getting 12 native speakers on the CD,so its pretty good value for money.
Its also a book you can go back to! My American accent has really improved by learning about the 'Two Planets' or when to do an 'R' and when not to! I have started to notice things in others peoples accents. Its well worth the read and bet you use it time and time again...A lot of accent and phonetics books are really dry this so isn't! oh its pretty funny too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource, 17 May 2008
This book provides a systematic, accessible and fun way of approaching any accent. As a voice coach myself, it gives me the reassurance that I have approached the new accent from every angle and haven't 'cheated' on any aspect. Edda and Jan's workshops are also an inspiration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliantly clear overview, 1 July 2008
By 
C. Gutekunst (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is not for those who want spoon-feeding, or a full account of a specific accent - other books and tapes may accomplish that. This is, however, a brilliant, clear and accessible overview of the whole process of how to work on accents and how to give actors the tools to achieve accents independently. Its a resource that will never date: practical, universal and stimulating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the can, 18 Nov. 2008
By 
Mr. T. Cuthbertson "T. Cuthbertson" (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the ultimate contribution to the accent world. It is not a book that encourages people to mimic accents parrot fashion but a book that encourages practitioners to study the basic structure of any accent, compare it with their own and discover which mouth shapes to alter and which to retain to master the accent required. It is a self help book so requires reader input - not an "easy fix" which nearly always results in accents that slip and slide all over the place. Once the basic theory is mastered - you can "Do Accents". A must have for all teachers and students of drama who are looking towards the professional world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and Precise, 4 Mar. 2013
This review is from: How to Do Accents (Paperback)
I am a British Actor currently finishing my studies in Acting in Toronto, Canada. I am a great fan of your book How to Do Accents and have gained significant knowledge and advice from your book in order to practically put my accents to work. I am lucky to be adept in accents but even for beginners the book is labeled precisely guiding the user to use tricks as well as switch to specific tracks on the CD when necessary to understand the placement, motion and execution of the specificity of accents ranging from Deep-South to Punjabi. My only recommendation is to use a hand mirror as you work through the book (which Edda and Jan most kindly suggest)

Fantastic buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, Accesible and most importantly 'Do-able', 13 Mar. 2013
This review is from: How to Do Accents (Paperback)
The book enables the reader to put into practice exactly what it preaches. It is direct and easy to understand. Using clear diagrams and a brilliant sense of humour it allows the reader to understand exactly what is required- to not only learn an accent but understand the mechanical requirements of assessing their own accent and adapting it to that of what is required for the studied new accent. Clear concise and enjoyable this book not only makes accents easy 'to do' but it makes them enjoyable 'to do' Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 7 Mar. 2013
This review is from: How to Do Accents (Paperback)
As a newly trained voice and accent coach I found this book essential. Not only was this the book all my class mates used for our accent assessment. I always use it for lesson plans. And it has helped me build on my own knowledge. Often students don't quite get what is going wrong when an accent doesn't work for them. This book helps them focus in and change In a simple and fun way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and frustrating, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Do Accents (Paperback)
I was very disappointed with this book. Found it very frustrating to work out "how to" to them! And I couldn't find the accent I wanted to do. You need to be a mind reader to work out how to use this book. Had problems downloading the accent tracks too

Don't waste your money unless you have endless patience and a very high IQ in order to understand this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Do Accents (Paperback)
I tend to avoid accent books as their often difficult to use but after being shown this by a student I went and got myself a copy. You must download the recordings to go with it to get the full use but any accent training is going to need recordings. Definitely would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Do Accents
How to Do Accents by Jan Haydn Rowles (Paperback - 24 Sept. 2009)
£18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews