Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


120 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!
This is the first Grayling book that I have read, and I'm very impressed. Although short, it is a classic example of quality rather than quantity - good points, well made, beautifully written, and attractively bound.

I won't compare it directly to "The God Delusion" (Dawkins) because it is a totally different kind of book (philosophical rather than scientific)...
Published on 17 April 2007 by Jack Richardson

versus
67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but no new eye-openers
This is a small booklet about why we shouldn't respect religion a priori, about Intelligent Design, and morality; it explains why there's no such thing as a fundamentalist atheist, and what's the difference between the words atheist, secularist, and humanist. Grayling prefers the word "naturalist" instead of atheist (the contrary of "supernaturalist", being any religious...
Published on 26 May 2007 by M. de Boer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction with some original points., 1 April 2008
By 
Guy Dalziel (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Against All Gods: Six Polemics on Religion and an Essay on Kindness (Oberon Masters) (Hardcover)
This short but excellent book will make a fine addition to my collection. While this book may be short it is by no means lacking a punch. A. C. Grayling articulates himself clearly and gets straight to the heart of the issue at hand.

We start off by looking at whether or not religion is worthy of respect, of which, of course, the answer is no. The only thing that should be worthy of respect is whether a person is a decent human being. "It is time to reverse the prevailing notion that religious commitment is intrinsically deserving of respect." We then move on to more harder issues such as the inculcation of children into religion and the fact that 3/4 of Church of England schools are primary schools. As Richard Dawkins would say, this is child abuse: forcing a choice upon them before they have the mental acuity in which to make a rational decision for themselves.

If you're looking for a nice introduction for the rational rejection of belief in supernatural entities of any kind, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is much common sense in this book and it is easy to read. Off course it is written from an atheist perspective , so read it and May up your own mind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anti-Religion essays, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Against All Gods: Six Polemics on Religion and an Essay on Kindness (Oberon Masters) (Hardcover)
To starts with - I love professor A . C. Grayling's essays!!
"Against All Gods" is a superb look at religion in general. It raises questions I never thought of, and I am a long-standing Humanist, although I was brought up an Evangelical Lutheran.
I would, however, suggest that if you happen to be a staunch Catholic, without an 'open mind', don't bother to read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, well written and easy to read. Typical AC Grayling style!, 22 Sep 2013
By 
Have read his books before and never been disappointed. I love his logical style and his ability to get straight to the point. Being split into six essays makes the book easy to dip in and out of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good starting point., 28 Aug 2013
A few relatively simple essays. This is the kind of book that can get you thinking...and wonderful prose. Not recommended for religiously inclined insomniacs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A.C. does what he says on the cover, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Against All Gods: Six Polemics on Religion and an Essay on Kindness (Oberon Masters) (Hardcover)
Another useful book in the struggle between reason and superstition; not so sure though about his essay on Kindness and its emphasis on joy (see: Better Never To Have Been Born by David Benatar and Schopenhauer)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really good arguments, 4 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. J. G. Kay (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Against All Gods: Six Polemics on Religion and an Essay on Kindness (Oberon Masters) (Hardcover)
This book presents some really useful and easy to understand arguments against religion.It is in a simple style that is easy to read and gets straight to the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor value for money, 13 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Against All Gods: Six Polemics on Religion and an Essay on Kindness (Oberon Masters) (Hardcover)
Nothing too much wrong with the contents as such - it's just that they are sparse in the extreme. A mere 57 pages of text on small pages with a largish print size for 8.99 or even 7.64 just is not good value and hence I give only two stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little book with big ideas, 11 Aug 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Against All Gods: Six Polemics on Religion and an Essay on Kindness (Oberon Masters) (Hardcover)
This is a brief book, organised in short chapters which makes easy reading, at least as far as the reading process itself is concerned. The content is more challenging but well worth the time spent to consider AC Grayling's well-considered, carefully expressed and erudite essays.
Professor Grayling is one of today's leading philosophers who writes on a wide range of subjects and his philosophical training, intelligence and wide-reading allow him to make fine distinctions. His views on religion deserve time and investment such as this little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 136 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor - all assertion and no argument, 7 April 2007
This review is from: Against All Gods: Six Polemics on Religion and an Essay on Kindness (Oberon Masters) (Hardcover)
Doubtless, fanatical atheists will in time come to review this book on Amazon and hail it for extolling the truth: that there is no God and that to live as though there were is not only to delude yourself but outight dangerous, possibly even immoral.

However, it is virtually impossible - and I grant you, it is a VERY short book - to find a single argument within these pages. It's more of an atheist's outburst really. Grayling, I'm led to believe an otherwise respectable philosopher, is here incontinently assertive, without a shred of research or argument to back any of it up. Despite the different chapter headings (or "essays") and therefore, presumably, intended topics, Grayling invariably returns to pounding on the open door of "religion has done lots of bad things". Yes. Lots of things. Agreed. Though it has done many a good thing also (read Ward's eloquent study "Is Religion Dangerous" for a proper discussion). And for some strange reason, Grayling appears to have a fixation with comparing the suffering of Jesus during the crucifixion to that of childbirth! Or, the suffering of Jesus to other historical figures. On this basis (and I must have missed a beat or something) he asks why it is that Jesus is worshipped, when others have suffered so much more? (Though I'm not aware of any Christians who assert their belief in Christ on sheer tonnage of pain he endured). Grayling expresses his loathing for the practice of religious groups seeking government endorsement. One would feel that the topic has the makings of a political discussion, but alas the thread is lost and we're back to you know what again! In short, I can't see what this book is for. The essays are too short, ill thought out and angry to allow for a proper discussion. It's even a hardback - making the whole thing more expensive, presumably. Most of Grayling's remarks are equivalent to those he made about religion in his book "The Meaning of Things", where at least other chapters had a lower quotient of jejune remarks. It's as though Grayling sees red when religion comes up, and all reason is lost. The final "essay" of Against All Gods promotes Humanism. At least there Grayling is a little calmer.

If you would like to read about atheism, there are far better polemics than this one. Try Daniel Dennet's "Breaking the Spell", Richard Dawkins' "The God Delusion" or Sam Harris' "The End of Faith", though MUCH MUCH better than those, go for Feuerbach or even Bertrand Russell's "Why I am Not A Christian".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6b86684)

This product

Against All Gods: Six Polemics on Religion and an Essay on Kindness (Oberon Masters)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews