Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good today as it was then
It is interesting to see a book, which was first published in 1990, being republished seventeen years later, making it the fifth reprint. That alone must say something about the lasting qualities of the book and its author, Marco Pierre White.

If you have read the autobiography you will have come across a lot of what is in the introduction to this book but its...
Published on 31 Oct 2007 by David Jenkins

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Check your edition
Check your edition guys, one of the best things about this book was the striking black and white photography however this edition IS NOT the same, it is a small paper back with NO PHOTOGRAPHY.
Published on 27 May 2009 by M Fraser


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good today as it was then, 31 Oct 2007
By 
David Jenkins "Hub-UK" (Ipswich, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Heat (Paperback)
It is interesting to see a book, which was first published in 1990, being republished seventeen years later, making it the fifth reprint. That alone must say something about the lasting qualities of the book and its author, Marco Pierre White.

If you have read the autobiography you will have come across a lot of what is in the introduction to this book but its not to be missed because this was Marco Pierre White then and the autobiography is written with hindsight.

The black and white mood photography by Bob Carlos Clarke is still as stunning now as when first published and the Marco Pierre White quotes are a delight to read. The food photography looks a bit dated seventeen years on but still shows the dishes well.

"Nine out of ten English chefs have their names on their chests. Who do they think they are? They're dreamers. They're jokes. Just ask yourself how many chefs in this country have Michelin stars and how many have their names on their jackets. We all wear blue aprons in my kitchen because we're all commis. We're all still learning."

The main body of the book is made up of recipes from Harveys. What did I miss all those years ago? Just reading them makes your mouth water . . . Ravioli of Lobster with a Beurre Soy Sauce, Tagliatelle of Oyster with Caviar, Tranche of Calves' Liver with a Sauce of Lime! The list is endless and there are some wonderful dessert recipes too like Hot Mango Tart and Marco Pierre White's take on rum baba, Savarin of Raspberries. You will also find two of the dishes that have become very well known recently following the latest Hell's Kitchen - Braised Pig's Trotter `Pierre Koffmann' and Lemon Tart.

Whilst none of these recipes are for the complete beginner they are not so daunting that most enthusiastic home cooks cannot do them. Certainly fare to impress your friends and guests with should you cook them for a small dinner party . . . but do practice them first.

Hidden away at the back of the book are some priceless gems such as stock recipes, ones which you can prepare at home, basic pasta . . . those things that really bring a dish together or form the basis of the dish.

Seventeen years on this book remains as fresh as the day it was first published and comes highly recommended both for its insight and for its cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 22 years later and still a great read, 1 Jan 2012
This review is from: White Heat (Hardcover)
When I first read this book in 1990 I had to work with this culinary genius.
And I have to admit my dream did come true and I was lucky enough to work with
the legend that is Marco.
Yes food has moved on in the 2 decades but this energy that is drawn from this book is amazing.
Chefs from around the world still hold Marco with the highest respect.
Here is a little about this wonderfull publication......

The first half is filled with wonderful black and white photographs by Bob Carlos Clarke of Marco in his adrenaline-filled, psychotic kitchen nightmare. These photographs are not the stock photos that fill most cookbooks of chef and crew posing for the camera, but moments in time, frozen by the camera¿s lens, of a real chef in the midst of cooking, tasting, plating and living. The second half of the book is a cookbook, but don¿t expect to be cooking these dishes unless you have a squadron of prep cooks in your closet to help you out. They are `food porn¿ brought to us with Marco's recipes and beautiful color photography by Michael Boys. This is the type of cookbook that kept me up at night. If you;re familiar with other chef's cookbooks such as The French Laundry Cookbook, then you know what I mean. This is a cookbook of dreams, not recipes. Marco Pierre White was born in Leeds, and is proud of it. Throughout the text interspersed with the black and white photographs, we get a glimpse of the man who, at age 33, became the world's youngest and only Britsh chef at the time to win three Michelin stars. In a style similar to that of Anthony Bourdain in his bestseller Kitchen Confidential, we get Marco's thoughts on everything from caterers who couldn¿t make it as real chefs to what brought him into the crazy world of food service in the first place. His rants go from tender to explosive at the drop of a hat, reminiscent of his reputation as the original Rock and Roll chef. Since his rise to greatness in 1991, Marco has stopped cooking himself to focus on his food empire, White Star Line Groups

This schizophrenic book is a must own for anyone who wants a peek into the kitchen of a world renowned chef from the point of view of both his diners and his fellow chefs. Its a book that is as comfortable on the coffee table as it is in the kitchen, not necessarily for its recipes, but for the inspiration that they provide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Check your edition, 27 May 2009
This review is from: White Heat (Paperback)
Check your edition guys, one of the best things about this book was the striking black and white photography however this edition IS NOT the same, it is a small paper back with NO PHOTOGRAPHY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different world, 20 Jun 2009
By 
Helen Robertson "Helen R" (Ellon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Heat (Paperback)
The cover blurb already warns you that this book is not for ordinary cooks in the domestic kitchen - but it gives a fascinating glimpse of the workings of an extremely creative culinary mind, a hint of what it is like to think of food as a nutritious art form .... and among the 'puddings' and 'basics' in particular there were even some recipes the ordinary bod (me) could even use in practice.

Must be the first cookbook I have actually read end to end - I was fascinated.

One small point - I bought an edition with no pictures (wondered why it was so cheap compared with the others on offer) and I suspect that to make this book really fully enjoyable the pictures would be really important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read. Old ideas., 6 Jan 2003
This review is from: White Heat (Paperback)
This is one of my favourite books. NOT one of my favourite cookbooks.
It is a brilliant read. Funny, different(even today a decade on), and the brilliant photography just works so well. However, if you're looking for a cookbook to conjur up some recipes for that dinner party this week, this aint the book for you. The recipes(i found) are somewhat unreliable and while absolutley genuinely beautiful food just NOT user friendly these days. Great read though buy it anyway!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the feeling of being a chef, 5 April 2001
This review is from: White Heat (Paperback)
White Heat is one of my favorite cookbooks because it not only provided you with beautiful pictures and recepies but most of all its telling a story of the live of a chef who wants to deliver a top product and shows what pleasure coocking gives but also what it cost to achieve this goal all the stress and al the fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars white heat,, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Heat (Paperback)
Firstly, ensure that You have a knowledge of Marco Pierre White and ALL He stands for..Then wallow in the Ego, Brilliance and inspiration, this book brings..........All the recipes work! if you have time and patience and a few friends to burden with them..... Try the legendary "Pigs Trotter Pierre Koffman"....The most uninteresting part of any animal, becomes sublime!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most iconic cookbooks of all time., 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Heat (Hardcover)
A little expensive but well worth it as a birthday present to myself. Classic MPW quotes and great photography although a bit dated now but all in all an iconic book from a 3 star master chef.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Artistry, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Heat (Paperback)
Could not aspire to even pretend to cook theses dishes but wow how to make art out of a plate of food
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars marco has history, 2 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. T. A. Brackenbury (leicestershire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Heat (Paperback)
this book is a piece of my culinary history, as a chef starting to cook 27 years ago there was nothing like this. the food is intense the photography fantastic. this book was the foundation of it all the modern chefs attitude to the art of cookery started here. Gordon ramsey started in Marco's kitchen, and so did so many others. thank you mr white for doing the business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Heat
White Heat by Marco Pierre White (Paperback - 18 May 2000)
Used & New from: 22.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews