Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
114
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2013
a friend wrote this book so although the subject matter is not my usual fare i bought it out of duty. im so glad i did. i know nothing of war or the trials described by my friends dad but i feel i have had a glimpse into his life which i found really enlightening. it is also a timely reminder of why we never want to have such a war again. well done stokesy
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
A good story of just one man of many in WW2. Very interesting and illuminating, at some points it tends to drag a little,but this does not prevent it being recommended reading for anyone interested in the experiences of a 'squaddie' during that conflict.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
A brief and gripping insight into what really goes on in war time conditions, it made me really think of how easy life is for us all now.
I just wish we could all take a step back and realise just how lucky we are - we have such a good life now thanks to all those that endured those terrible times.The grit and determination and bloody mindedness of people like Peter Stokes should be something that more of us should show instead of complaining so much. We should think what we have and not we haven't.
Maybe this should be a book that school children should be made to read as part of the cirriculum.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
This is a good book written with great care by the son of the main person in the book, it is really a great tale and make you even more gratiful that Men like this were aqbout in our time of need, Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
It is what it says it is - a young man's memories, he just happens to be
caught up in the very unreal world of total European war. Very interesting in that
it makes you think how lucky we are today that those men and women did that then.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
This book is a fabulously engaging and accessible read whether you have an understanding or interest in the military or not. It's written with such raw honesty and yet it's almost what is unspoken that leaves the most impact. It makes you realise both the order and ad hoc nature of war and how survival is based on elements of luck and sheer bloody minded grit and determination.
It's amazing how this story remained a secret until the author's Dad shared his war memoirs. Amazing to have carried such an experience in silence for all his life.
I was also interested to read a glimpse of the military life of the author and how the values of leadership and strong moral attitude obviously disseminated through the family. A great read Peter! :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
When I heard about this book I bought it immediately as it sounded as though it would be a great read but unfortunately it didn't live up to my expectations. It was as though it was written in a rush, something he originally wanted to do for his father but then it became a chore. What this soldier did was amazing but the detail was missing in the book. With research and contacting the other survivors to get more detail of what happened would have made all the difference. With waiting all those years before publishing I would thing that most of his comrades have died
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
This is a very moving book. It goes a long way to explain why our fathers did not talk about their war experiences. Their life was so different that peace time wasa different world. it also reminds us that many older people my look like little old men and women but nay are actually heroes and heroines.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
Such an extraordinary story of a young man - a boy really - signing up to go off to war but somehow being selected for the SAS. Written in his own words he is constantly amazed at how his life turns out. Its not a war story full of blood and guts but a humble tale full of courage and determination. A fantastic story, all the more incredible as even his family were unaware of what he had achieved until just before he died. Everyone should read this - even if you don't read war books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
This is a good book. Even though it's quite short ,it tells the incredible story of a very brave and humble man in his own word and his sons. Well worth a read. Inspiring and moving. We owe men like these an awful lot. Buy it read ,if your interested in the subject matter, you'll love it. I did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)