Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Great Story
I thoroughly enjoyed the book, it was a fascinating account of a massive life circle, from HMS Raleigh, back and beyond, first as a recruit and back as divisional officer (i never knew what that was, but all is explained), very funny in places and sad also, especially helping to clear up after a hurricane. If you are not services (and i am not) you will still understand...
Published 10 months ago by Keith Roberts

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read but not great.
This tells about Ian's career in the Royal Navy.
Ian comes over as a thoroughly professional sailor and the book describes in detail a solid career from a junior sailor to a chief Marine Engineer.
Having said that, while the story is fairly well written, it is not a compelling one.
Published 8 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Great Story, 19 Oct 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed the book, it was a fascinating account of a massive life circle, from HMS Raleigh, back and beyond, first as a recruit and back as divisional officer (i never knew what that was, but all is explained), very funny in places and sad also, especially helping to clear up after a hurricane. If you are not services (and i am not) you will still understand how the book flows (and a submarine works) in a lighthearted manner.

I would suspect it would make a good stocking filler at Christmas, especially for ex-navy who would feel very at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book i have read on the Navy, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 32 Years Man & Buoy (Paperback)
The best book i have read on the Navy. if you are a Vet and want to bring some memories back to life or someone thinking of joining. Its a must read. Ian or "Plug" nails down life in a blue suit perfectly with humor and knowledge which is backed up by, lets face it a long time in the service. This brought back so many memories it made me laugh, cry, regret leaving, made me proud of my service and also cement civvy life for me. A book to turn back to again and again . BZ Plug you old salt. Fair winds and straight courses oppo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars utterly depics the royal navy life, 5 Oct 2013
such a good read, reminds me of my days in the RN. totally reccomennd this to any old sea dog or anyone with half a sense of humour. thanks to the author for serving queen and country keeping us safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spin the lantern, 15 Aug 2014
A good read which many an ex-matlot will chuckle through. Always wondered what the sun Dodgers got up to, seems to be a couple of days at sea and then a few weeks in a hotel ! On a more serious note, the lack of flexibility by the RN noted at the end of the book, shows why they keep losing talent.

Hope Civi street is treating you well Plug
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars entertaining insight, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read giving an insight into navy and submariners professional and home life commitments and sacrifices in an entertaining way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 32 Years Man & Buoy (Paperback)
I chose this book for my son who was in the Royal navy.He thought it was very good.It arrived quickly and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is really worth a read it is a detailed account of life at sea and shore but written in a down to earth style.
There is humour and technical stuff but in the right proportion. One of the most interesting service life books I have read, not just for ex navy personnel, will ring true with all ex military and anyone with a bit of wanderlust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Read, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A cracking read for any ex-matelot or interested civvy. I joined the Mod shortly after the author so our career paths were similar for the first part of this book. It brought back great memories of basic training at Raleigh and then part 2 training at Sultan. The matelot humour and shenanigans shine through and I read a lot of this book with a grin on my face as I recalled similar episodes from my past. Cheers for the memories Plug!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for any ex sailors, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this took me back to my days on boats. A good read for those who are ex navy and those who are not. Full of good dits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Read, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being an ex submariner this book appealed to me in so many, what I wasn't expecting was the diversity of Ian's career.
A great read for past, present and future sailors especially the select few (submariners) who will relate to a great deal in Ian's story
Excellent and well done Ian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

32 Years Man & Buoy
32 Years Man & Buoy by Ian Atkinson (Paperback - 30 Sep 2013)
8.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews