Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

  • Fred
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars11
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2000
A quaint story about two children grieving for their cat. They hear the mewing of cats in the garden of their house to find that they are mourning the passing of the children's cat. Fred had a secret life other than the one the children saw: he was a pop singer. Fred's secret life was well known amongst the neighbourhood pets. The children join the cats in their wake for Fred. I'm not sure whether this is a book for children or adults, but I think that you will enjoy it.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2008
I read this book over ten years ago, and the memories of it have remained fresh ever since. Only this afternoon, my friend and I were reminising about reading it in our local library and simultaneously broke into song to sing the funeral song...."Meaow meaow, meoooo, oh waily waily woooo...."
I recommend this to anyone with children, or anyone who has cats, or basically just anyone. Just read and enjoy!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2010
this is a brilliant book set out in a comic strip syle. perfect for children who can read on thier own esspecially if you have recenlty lost a pet, tells a sweet story about a cat who died and the children find out he is a rockstar in the cat community and cats turn up from miles around in the middle of the night to give him a funeral... lovely
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2008
My son is nearly eight and has just discovered this book in the. Its a great book for gently introducing a child to the fact that their pets will pass away, but that there's nothing wrong in celebrating all that they were in life as well as mourning their death.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Very good for children who have lost a pet or even a friend / relative recently (sadly we lost both within two weeks of each other). Our 6 year old and 3 year old loved it. Helped them understand about funerals and grieving. They were a bit disappointed we hadn't had a bigger funeral for the cat though.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
Beautifully illustrated heart warming story, which is nice to read with young children when a much-loved family pet dies.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
This is the perfect book in itself but particularly if you child has lost a pet.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
I love this book! Recently turned into an animation too. Very entertaining. Tackles the tough subject in a digestible manner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2016
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
I was disappointed by this book ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£13.48
£6.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.