Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
49
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2014
This type of book is a new genre for me and was recommendation. I thoroughly enjoyed the writing style and format and the period mr Hoggart covers has a particular appeal as it covers what for me is my era (I first voted in 1997). What a particularly enjoyed was humorous take on the MP's behaviour and quirks e.g the fascination of "Micky Fab" etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
Witty, amusing and properly disrespectful to politicians. Decent bedtime reading, if you don't mind being beset by the odd chuckle or two.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
So funny. Such a shame that Simon is no longer with us. I will miss his columns in the Guardian.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
A wonderfully entertaining book; almost all sketches gave a brilliant insight into the comical, sometimes farcical world of Westminster politics and the strange people we choose to elect to rule us.. An ideal book for a holiday read. Such a pity we won't see his like again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
I enjoyed reading Simon Hoggart's sketches in the Guardian and his Saturday column too. So it is nice to be reminded of some of his sketches. I read the book on my Kindle and was a bit disappointed to reach the 70% point only to find an extraordinarily long and really totally superfluous index which took up the rest of the book. So great reading but sadly shorter than I expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
Sadly Simon Hoggart died recently so there'll be no more of his humour to entertain us anymore. So here's a chance to own a selection of some of his best pieces just to remind you how good he was.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
Simon Hoggart manages so make serious points about our attempts at democratic government while, at the same time poking fun at its weak points-politicians
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
I loved some of these little vignettes of a life most of will never experience, some amusing, some difficult to understand why te people involved decided to go along that path in life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
Pithy, witty, sharply observed malice. Delicious, (er, if your not the one being written about!) encapsulated history.I wish it were longer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
You don't have to be a politics geek to enjoy this funny and informative look at our politicians? Kept saying to myself I'll just read a few pages more before I put it down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)