Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full metal overload
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:55 Mins
Fans of the game, mecha robots, and sci-fi art would be delighted with The Art of Titanfall. Game developer Respawn Entertainment has filled all the 192 pages of this hardcover with wonderful concept art.

The artworks are a mixture, about half each, of in-game 3D models and digital art. And about half the book covers the mechas,...
Published 5 months ago by Parka

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful... just plain awful
An art book without art.
Now the game would have you believe that there would be a bucket-load of designs for the mechanical giants... but get this. The book has only 11 pages for the titans... and nearly all of them 3-d models of the finished in-game models. There is only concept art for the Stryder titan which is only 6 drawings and 1 completed painting of the...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. J. E. McLachlan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full metal overload, 14 Mar 2014
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:55 Mins

Fans of the game, mecha robots, and sci-fi art would be delighted with The Art of Titanfall. Game developer Respawn Entertainment has filled all the 192 pages of this hardcover with wonderful concept art.

The artworks are a mixture, about half each, of in-game 3D models and digital art. And about half the book covers the mechas, characters, weapons, spaceships and vehicles. The latter half, about 100 pages, covers the environment art.

Even though the book features 3D models as art from the game, these models are rendered really well with high resolution textures, good lighting and most importantly high poly-count models. They look great. You can still tell that they are texture-mapped, but they are not jarring or distracting.

Designs are fantastic. The artworks are printed huge so most of the minute details are even visible. The mechas and spaceships look really cool. Last few pages shows some actual maquettes (small) and a full-size Titan in some workshop.

There are a lot of environment art included, such as Demeter's futuristic cityscapes, devastated landscape of Fracture, exotic planets with leviathan bones everywhere, laid back tropical lagoon, and more. Again, lots of wonderful designs. As mentioned earlier, there are also 3D game graphics used here, and they do feel lacking in charm as compared to paintings. Nevertheless, all art pieces are good looking, just different in style.

The Art of Titanfall is a great video game art book companion.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meeting high expectations, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
There are some art books which you can't help getting excited about. Concept art for a game featuring an alien world, giant mech suits, spaceships, free-running, and all the additional material to support such a setting, definitely ticked all the boxes for me. The fact it was being published by Titan Books, my favourite concept art publisher bar none, gave me cause for relief and raised expectations even higher. The only problem then being my own over-hyping of a product which then can't possibly hope to deliver. I've done it before and it leaves me dissatisfied with the product through no real fault of the publisher. I am pleased to say, however, that this is not the case here.

Titan must have a genie working in the back office somewhere to keep producing work of such quality. And it's a quality that you can see right away before you even open the front cover. The minimalist design of the exterior, giving pride of place to the art, is exactly what's called fort when you've got a picture which tells you what the book is.

Inside the book the layouts are just what I like to see. Plenty of art, descriptive text to go with most of it but never enough words to get in the way, and lots of full page and two page spreads. It's also nice to see more of the development of ideas this time, an improvement on certain previous books and something a lot of other publishers don't bother with, seeing the iterations of a design to show you what could have been as well as what eventually was.

This book features the concept art if Iain McCaig (who worked on the Star Wars prequels), James Paick (another favourite of mine), Bruno Werneck, Steve Burg, Paul Christopher, Matt Codd, Harrison Fong, James Oxford and Manuel Plank-Jorge. Some names in there you might recognise and others worth looking out for in future because they have produced work of exceptional quality and have managed to make old ideas look new with a modern polish. I don't envy anyone who has to design original looking starships or robots and I think it's fair to say that the concepts here aren't really changing the shape of science fiction in these areas. They simply give them a damn good make-over and the result is impressive.

I feel more could have been made of the character design section but it's not so lacking that I'd knock the book down a star, especially when there's so much of the other sections to enjoy. I especially liked the environment concepts which really give you a good sense of the mood and also make this far-away sci-fi world very easy to relate to.

In summation I think it's safe to say I'm enjoying this book immensely. The art itself is the kind of work you can stare at for hours and, I know, will inspire other creative types who appreciate this genre. The design, layout and production quality of the book is also first rate.

So who'll want to buy this book? Fans of the game, probably, but mostly lovers of concept art (who will think Christmas has come early) and sci-fi geeks like me. At £20 (£20.99 at time of writing) I would say it is definitely worth the money and I would happily have shelled out £30 for a book of this caliber. Just don't tell Amazon that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
This is not a concept art book and it never pretends to be, it is a fantastic book full of art and text giving you the thought processes of the peeps who thought of the game. Outstanding stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must if you want to know "the next-gen art", 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
first of all,the quality of the book is very good. I always prevent myself from buying an e-book because you don't get the "feel" of holding an artbook,unless you really love your technological things.The main reason to buy this book for me is the drawings are very inspirational,and I am an artist and I love games, so I use this books thin-details as a good reference. so, if you are a fan of titanfall and you have no bussiness with drawing something this book is not highly recommend,especially you do not know anything about 3d modeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Awful... just plain awful, 26 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
An art book without art.
Now the game would have you believe that there would be a bucket-load of designs for the mechanical giants... but get this. The book has only 11 pages for the titans... and nearly all of them 3-d models of the finished in-game models. There is only concept art for the Stryder titan which is only 6 drawings and 1 completed painting of the ogre. That's it. And this trend continues with pilots and characters being similar with finished 3-d models of the final product, there is so little thought or design in any of the characters offering no progression shots of ideas of anything. The weapons and vehicles are the only redemption to the book, having progression shots and actual art and concept. But again too many 3-d models of the final product in a book meant for concept art. Then comes the location 'art'.

Half of the book goes to scenery and believe me... it is terrible. There is a 2-page of something that looks land mass by Tu Bui on pages 108 and 109. The fact they put this in the book just really grinds my gears. Most of the scenery is once again 3-d and offers little description or insight or concept. The scenery is basically awful photoshopping scenery together to resemble even worse scenery.

This is no concept art book. I intend to get a refund if possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful look into the VG Industry, 18 April 2014
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
I love the art of books published by Titan and whilst Titanfall was a game that I’d beta’d I was a little apprehensive about purchasing it until I saw this book. I loved the beautifully designed environments, loved the way that the story takes the reader from development through to the final product and when added to wonderful descriptions that help you travel the studio’s journey all round gave me something to not only smile about but something that really persuaded me that it was worth the purchase price.

Add to this some great creature developments, cracking titan design that gives the reader the inside scoop and all round I was more than pleased with the final product. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous! Front to back images of loveliness!, 1 April 2014
By 
N. Hall (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
I hate buying books like this because I just look at them and get jealous of the artistry inside. Don't expect any tutorials or breakdowns of how it was made, apart from an occasional explanation of the artwork. Just look at it and say to yourself, "People like you make me sick!" :-)

Jealousy is a fickle thing. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Titanfall art book, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
Fantastic concepts, art and models from the game that has taken over from other FPSs`. Amazing depth and discussion of development. But it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Titanfall (Hardcover)
superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Titanfall
The Art of Titanfall by Andy McVittie (Hardcover - 21 Feb 2014)
£20.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews