Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fans will love this!!
I got this for my brother, he's in his 20's and loved this book, it's written well and packed full of info. Great for a range of ages. Pictures are also really good quality. Great gift of an adventure time fan!!
Published 18 months ago by Jayde

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You'll die if you read this chapter - misjudged ending in otherwise ok book
My 7 year old is AT obsessed so I bought this for her birthday. Fortunately I skimmed it first before handing it over. It contains all the usual snarky, slightly risque humour that makes the show so good, and the artwork is great (though it does become a little repetitive with constant opinions from the POV of the narrator, Marceline's dad).

ITowards the end...
Published 2 months ago by Clackers


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fans will love this!!, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventure Time Encyclopaedia: Inhabitants, Lore, Spells, and Ancient Crypt Warnings of the Land of Ooo Circa 19.56 B.G.E. - 501 A.G.E (Hardcover)
I got this for my brother, he's in his 20's and loved this book, it's written well and packed full of info. Great for a range of ages. Pictures are also really good quality. Great gift of an adventure time fan!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Adventure Time you will love this book, 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventure Time Encyclopaedia: Inhabitants, Lore, Spells, and Ancient Crypt Warnings of the Land of Ooo Circa 19.56 B.G.E. - 501 A.G.E (Hardcover)
If you like Adventure Time you will love this book, as compiled by his lowness himself Hunson Abadeer it has spot on humour and is well worth a read just for Marceline, Finn and Jake's notes scrawled throughout the encyclopedia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars PSYCHIC TANDEM WAR ELEPHANT!, 2 Mar. 2015
By 
Atticman (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventure Time Encyclopaedia: Inhabitants, Lore, Spells, and Ancient Crypt Warnings of the Land of Ooo Circa 19.56 B.G.E. - 501 A.G.E (Hardcover)
I am a new(ish) Adventure Time convert - I just love everything about the show, pretty much!

So after devouring the first 5 seasons I bought this wanting to know more and more about this weird world. Unfortunately I didn't take the time to look at this properly - I was hoping for an extension of the show, from its creators that might give us some more backstory, insight in to why there is a chunk of the Earth missing etc, as well as the funny sort of scrapbook material you'd expect. Sadly this is mostly just the scrap book stuff. There is some genuinely good writing and nice parts to this book (I love the map!). Having Hunsen Abadeer (Marceline's dad) narrate the book starts as a neat idea, but soon becomes boring as he bangs on and on about how loathsome this is and how he'll soon be sucking the soul of that.... It switches up in a few places, but a better approach would have been to have each major character do a section each (imagine Lemongrab's!!!! UNACCCEPTAAABBLLLLLEEEE!!)
Overall, I give the author mad respects y'all for the sheer level of detail and genuine affection for the show he has used to write this, and it is def worth your time giving it a read (its excellent bathroom reading.....). I just hope someone releases the book I really want to read - I suppose it would need the help of Pendleton Ward. GET A MOVE ON WARD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book, a must for adventure time fans, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this for my fiancé as one of her birthday presents and she loves it! very well done and the fact it is wrote from the view of Marceline's dad is brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 30 Dec. 2013
By 
SuziB - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventure Time Encyclopaedia: Inhabitants, Lore, Spells, and Ancient Crypt Warnings of the Land of Ooo Circa 19.56 B.G.E. - 501 A.G.E (Hardcover)
I earned plenty of Brownie points with this book as a Christmas gift for my 14 year old daughter. It's a lovely quality book & is even better looking in reality than the picture shows. A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas present, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventure Time Encyclopaedia: Inhabitants, Lore, Spells, and Ancient Crypt Warnings of the Land of Ooo Circa 19.56 B.G.E. - 501 A.G.E (Hardcover)
Bought for an adventure time fan, I was impressed with how quickly this was delivered as I ordered it close to Christmas after being let down by another supplier, Amazon saved my bacon, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mathematical!, 1 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Adventure Time Encyclopaedia: Inhabitants, Lore, Spells, and Ancient Crypt Warnings of the Land of Ooo Circa 19.56 B.G.E. - 501 A.G.E (Hardcover)
Hunson Abadeer (aka Lord of Evil, aka the Nameless One, whose unnameableness makes the junk mail of eternity undeliverable) has kindly compiled, written and painstakingly edited this priceless, brilliant and ineffable Encyclopaedia of the Land of Ooo. Drawing on all of his most evil and nefarious knowledge (as well as being aided by some totes radical handwritten marginalia by Finn, Jake and Marceline), Abadeer offers his startlingly illuminating and not at all biased insight into the inhabitants, lore, spells and ancient crypt warnings of the Land of Ooo circa 19.56 BGE to 501 AGE.

The first book of awesomeness in the Encyclopaedia critiques those worthless inhabitants of the Land of Ooo whose souls the most marvellously benevolent Lord of Evil refrains from sucking out in deference to his daughter. There are detailed entries (including myths, legends and press releases) for Finn the Human, Jake the Dog, Princess Bubblegum, Marceline the Vampire Queen, Ice King, Lady Rainicorn and Lumpy Space Princess. Ice King most clearly wins the award for most tragic bummer of an origin story.

There follows in book two some pages devoted to the lowerarchy of utterly insignificant inhabitants of the Land of Ooo, all of whom the Lord of Evil yearns to destroy. Although these despicable creatures are most certainly beneath the contempt of the most EVIL of Evil Lords, Abadeer has promised that this Encyclopaedia will offer a comprehensive survey of all things Ooovian and so has amassed the required information through a combination of evil psychic resonance, spy networks and other shadowy sources. The likenesses of the multifarious Ooovians are Technicolor triumphs and the biographical sketches are true masterpieces of minutia. The Brief Glossary of Most Hated Princesses of Ooo would prove particularly useful in instances of Ice King marriage emergencies.

The rest of the Encyclopaedia contains such needful items as: Ice King's incredibly pathetic little homemade fanzine and trading cards, BMO Instructional Pamphlet and User Guide, Princess Bubblegum's Official Travel Guide to the Candy Kingdom and Beyond (NB: everything is edible but you can't eat anything that talks), Marceline's Travel Blog for Demon Backpackers, and the Lost Texts of Ooo. It might not tell you anything you want to know about Adventure Time but the Encyclopaedia will certainly tell you more than you ever wanted to know about life and life forms in Ooo.

This is absolutely the most utterly awesomely useful guidebook to the Land of Ooo that I have ever encountered. Mathematical!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, good quality, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventure Time Encyclopaedia: Inhabitants, Lore, Spells, and Ancient Crypt Warnings of the Land of Ooo Circa 19.56 B.G.E. - 501 A.G.E (Hardcover)
My partner loved the book as an early christmas present. Very detailed and funny review of all things Adventure Time. Very good quality and delivered quickly. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventure Time Encyclopaedia: Inhabitants, Lore, Spells, and Ancient Crypt Warnings of the Land of Ooo Circa 19.56 B.G.E. - 501 A.G.E (Hardcover)
Bought this for a fan and the pictures are great quality and very bright.
Good hard back cover and paper quality.
Looks kind of scrap-booky too which is cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would highly recomend., 3 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventure Time Encyclopaedia: Inhabitants, Lore, Spells, and Ancient Crypt Warnings of the Land of Ooo Circa 19.56 B.G.E. - 501 A.G.E (Hardcover)
Common and undisclosed personal knowledge on characters, locations, lore and history as seen and experienced by Hunson Abadeer aka Marceline the Vampire Queen's dad. Even though there were very few things in the book I did not learn from watching the show, I found the personal comments from Hunson, Marceline, Finn & Jake on the assorted subjects both interesting and funny. The personal comments alone was well worth the £15.50 drunken purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews