Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Christmas present
My son (aged 6) had this for Christmas last year and it was an immediate hit and remains one of his favourite books. Despite being a bit American in places, the book takes repeated reading as well as being something children can look at on their own and it combines fact and fiction almost seamlessly. You therefore move from animals of the Polar regions and descriptions...
Published on 27 Nov. 2007 by Dr. J. S. Bray

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed in the paperback version
I like this book but am disappointed that I can't get the hardback version with the flaps to lift up, letters to pull out, Santa's diary etc mentioned by all the other reviewers. The paperback version obviously has none of these extras and while it is well presented, it isn't quite the same book. Some of the information mentioned in other reviews is just not there - there...
Published on 19 Nov. 2010 by H. Davidson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Christmas present, 27 Nov. 2007
By 
Dr. J. S. Bray (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My son (aged 6) had this for Christmas last year and it was an immediate hit and remains one of his favourite books. Despite being a bit American in places, the book takes repeated reading as well as being something children can look at on their own and it combines fact and fiction almost seamlessly. You therefore move from animals of the Polar regions and descriptions of Father Christmas's original green robes, to pictures of the villages where the elves live and an analysis of the sleigh and its special features - how it flies, where Santa keeps his hot water bottle and the fairy dust to a map of the route Santa travls on Christmas Eve. It even has a Christmas card in the front from Santa and Mrs Claus and there are lots of things to pull out, fold back etc.

A good buy at Christmas for everyone who adores Santa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I believe in santa, 30 Jan. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A friend of mine recommended this book, she has had it for a couple of years and her son is a year older than mine. She raved about it, so I got it for my son this year and I wished I had know about it before. He thought it was fantastic, a real believer still (as am I). It answers all those mysterious questions that one is never quite quick enough to answer or answer well. We read it on the lead up to christmas day. "Oh! of course" would be my sons reply to much of the information. The illustations are incredible and the little treats inside special pockets are fun. A lovely lovely book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Santa gets the digital treatment, 7 Jan. 2010
By 
Robin Benson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Santa Claus (Paperback)
Amazon probably has a few hundred Santa books (especially if you include Clement Moore's `Night before Christmas') and I get the impression that so many of them are publisher's quickies: mostly full of rather bland paintings that rather fail to capture the enchantment of the Christmas.

This book about Santa is fortunately in a league of its own. In only thirty-two pages it really does capture a warm and friendly glow. All the more so because it was produced (originally published in 2006) using the techniques of the age: digital software.

The fourteen spreads each feature a single image with text and headlines integrated into the photo-like picture. Interesting sidebars pull out special items like the trim of Santa's suit, who is Mrs Claus, Santa's sleigh specs and more. The spread on the Workshop has a couple of (top-of-the-range?) manufacturing robots to help with toy volume.

Overall a colourful and beautifully crafted book and the only criticism I have is why were the inside front and inside back covers left blank? With so few pages surely something could have been created to make these pages even more perfect for your children (and you).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly magical, 10 Dec. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I borrowed this for my son (4) from the library, and we were both totally bewitched by its wonderful graphics, and all the magical, breathtaking details which it reveals about Santa - did you know that Santa uses his belt buckle to shrink to get into houses with now chimneys, that the reindeer eat moss and lichen pies baked by Mrs Claus, that Santa's trim is made from the molted hair from arctic hares and that the elves drink carrot cordial, children's wishes are stored in bottles. It really weaves the magical into the real world- there are fact boxes on the Christmas Tree, Arctic animals, aurora borealis etc which would hold a much older child's interst and imagination.

We have had it for two days from the library and it is a must buy which will be in a stocking next week. It is a real quality publication with so much attention to detail, with all the fold out pictures, flaps, letters, santa's diary... Magic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Santa Claus (Paperback)
This is a lovely book. Well illustrated and suitable for those curious about the details of Santa Claus. I bought this book for children aged 2-4 but I think it's definitely more suitable for children aged 5+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE LOVE LOVE this book!, 24 Oct. 2014
By 
LOVE LOVE LOVE this book! You have to get the hardback if you're going to buy it. It's crammed with beautiful illustrations and pages that open up into huge scenes like Santa's workshop. There are things to turn, open and read on every page, it's visually stunning. It would take several sittings to get through the whole book making it great for the Christmas period as you could read a section a night. It's just gorgeous!
My littles one's far too young for it at the moment but when I saw it I had to get it as it is a book I am sure we will have for many years -she may even read it to her children!
You won't be disappointed with this book, it's a real treasure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed in the paperback version, 19 Nov. 2010
By 
H. Davidson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Santa Claus (Paperback)
I like this book but am disappointed that I can't get the hardback version with the flaps to lift up, letters to pull out, Santa's diary etc mentioned by all the other reviewers. The paperback version obviously has none of these extras and while it is well presented, it isn't quite the same book. Some of the information mentioned in other reviews is just not there - there is no mention of Santa using his belt buckle to shrink in this version - it's just magic and fairy dust - and while the reindeers' moss and lichen pies are shown in the picture informing you about reindeer, there is no mention that this is what reindeer actually eat until the page about the Sleigh where you are told there is a food warmer on board 'to keep the reindeer's moss and lichen pies hot'. This version seems to suffer as a cut down version of the original hardcover book with flaps - which I presume gave you these extra details in situ. Consequently, while still a good book it is not the magical book I was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, but i think more suited to 6+ years, 8 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted a father christmas book to read to my 2.5 year old son to tell the story of what Santa does on Christmas eve. (wrapping presents, meeting reindeer, squeezing down the chimney!) This is a lovely, good quality, intricate book, With great illustrations, however I personally feel it is too much for a 2.5 year old. I didnt even attempt to read it to him. We just looked at the pictures.Probably more suited to a 6+ years. Also it has a modern twist to it which wasn't really what I was looking for! The hunt continues!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Santa Claus, 9 Jan. 2010
This is great for children who are at the stage where they question the whole idea of Santa being real. In detail it explains everything to how he gets down the chimney to how he manages to get around the world in one night. The illustrations are beautifully presented and there are lots of extras included like letters from Santa and flaps to open. It is a must for children from five to ten, especially if you want them to continue believing in Santa for as long as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great gift for a 9-10 year old, 26 Nov. 2009
By 
B. O. Dornan (Co Antrim N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My Sister in Law bought this for my daughter who was one and a half last year and she loves it but it's a bit advanced for her - however her cousin who is nine just loves it and wants one for herself from Santa this year. Definitely a book full of surprises and big beautiful coloured illustrations as well as facts for them to read. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Santa Claus
Santa Claus by Rod Green (Hardcover - 10 Oct. 2013)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews