Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars could not put it down
A very well written book,i felt i was part of the action.side splitting moments in every chapter.i really do hope John will write a further novel. Highly recomended..
Published 21 months ago by martin fitz

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It helps to pass the time...
Some interesting, amusing anecdotes, with plenty of stats for those who want evidence. Humour is generally of the adolescent masturbatory, willies, bums, tits, farts, poo and pee variety, and can become a little tedious if you've already read the first book in the series. Overall, a light read with some disturbing facts about society, and an insight into the character and...
Published 9 months ago by snowbird


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars could not put it down, 17 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Police, Lies and Alibis: The True Story of a Front Line Officer (Paperback)
A very well written book,i felt i was part of the action.side splitting moments in every chapter.i really do hope John will write a further novel. Highly recomended..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 2 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Police, Lies and Alibis: The True Story of a Front Line Officer (Paperback)
Absolutely hilarious! Being a retired officer I could place myself in many of the stories.
Loved it. Well worth a read even for non-Police. It will give you an idea of life in the Police. A job like no other!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb read, 14 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Police, Lies and Alibis: The True Story of a Front Line Officer (Paperback)
In his book Police, Lies & Alibis John Donoghue depicts the everyday working life of a policeman. He tells the story in a way that made me smile and even laugh out loud. However, his use of humour does not detract from the stressful nature of the job nor the vulnerability of some of the people the police deal with on a daily basis. It was a joy to read. Once started I knew that it was a book I would need to read through to the last words - words that left me with a smile upon my face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reading aloud from these books made me the most popular girl in my work canteen!, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another brilliant read from one of my new favourite authors!
After reading Police,Crime & 999 I couldn't wait to get started on Police,Lies & Alibis and I was not disappointed. Over the last couple of weeks PC Donoghue has kept both me and most of my work colleagues in fits of laughter as I read out what the residents of Sandford have been getting up to during my lunch breaks!
Although this book has a slightly more serious tone than Police,Crime & 999 there are still lots of laugh out loud moments and if you work with the general public,you will definitely be reading bits out to your colleagues.
I would most definitely recommend everyone to read both of John Donoghue's books about life on the force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life in the police, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
have to say that as I work closely with police I found this very true!! Exceptionally funny, didn't want to get to the end!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome read, 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book just as good as the first book, full of ups, downs and lots of giggles. Highly recommend. Love how it ends at Christmas time #saviour :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny!, 21 Dec. 2013
By 
H. Rogerson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book will make you laugh, snort, roll your eyes and shake your head. john donoghue is fast turning into one of my favourite authors. I would highly recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sequel that's as good as the first, 6 Aug. 2013
By 
T. Vigne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having, regretfully, come to the end of the first book (Police, Crime & 999), I was happy to discover this sequel. Another great effort by the author, with even more humour. The wordplay comes so thick and fast that I'm reminded of Groucho Marx, and the stories, as in the first book, are very entertaining. I eagerly await the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The ups and downs in the life of a police officer written with
Humour and love of a difficult job . Yet again as with his previous
Books lots of laugh out loud moments . A brilliant insight to how our emergency services work together . Love it a real page turner .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new muscles, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You know when you discover a new exercise and the next day a muscle you didn’t know you had hurts? Well I’ve discovered new laugh muscles, and they hurt!
A truly funny account, Who is responsible for Yoda’s death and Darth’s kidnap? Meet Sergeant Marrow, discover why a car window being smashed to save life and limb can have you laughing at another’s misfortune. - Nobody was harmed in that tale (except perhaps the author)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Police, Lies and Alibis: The True Story of a Front Line Officer
Police, Lies and Alibis: The True Story of a Front Line Officer by John Donoghue (Paperback - 9 Sept. 2013)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews