Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars both a dark and illuminating insight to intense karate training in Japan
I really enjoyed this book - in fact I devoured it within 24 hours - but I enjoyed it in a different way to other books of westerner's experiences of martial arts in Japan, e.g. Moving Zen, Angry White Pyjamas, Year of the Chicken etc. Scott Langley writes with a brutal honesty about his experiences, although I suspect he has omitted some of the nastier events he...
Published 7 months ago by Dave Lloyd

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dishonest or really stupid?
This book is compelling reading. I found the book difficult to put down and I am sure that it accurately describes the author's brutal experience of the JKS instructor course.

BUT.... there is a vast missing part in the book where the author should have explained why he persisted with 2 years of painful beatings on a totally voluntary course. Did he have...
Published 22 days ago by MiB


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant......, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Karate Stupid (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book. Scott writes an honest account of his experiences in Japan as a whole, and about his experience as being a karate-ka in one of the toughest situations of his life, be them brutal or not. Scott has also thrown in some humor to make this an outstanding read..........Well done, it was well written and I can highly recommend it........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angry White Pyjamas meets Moving Zen, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Karate Stupid (Paperback)
I have a space on the shelf for "martial arts related books written by British gentlemen"; Scott Langley's offering now sits comfortably to the left of Mark Law (Judo), C.W.Nicol (Karate) and Robert Twigger (Aikido). This is a personalised account of his 5 years living and working in Japan. He was a karate-ka before going to Japan, but his experiences, especially as a kenshūsei (trainee) on the Japanese karate instructors' course, meant that it was a very different man who boarded the plane to fly home. His story is brutally honest, humorous and intelligent. His western expectations and aspirations frequently spar with a Buddhist-like acceptance as he travels unsteadily along his chosen path. There are, in this regard, shades of Moving Zen interlaced with the harsh physicality described by Twigger. Langley makes many observations of Japanese people and culture but is never disparaging. Some of these he struggles to rationalize, while other aspects become part of his self (or 'not-self'), a spirit distilled through perseverance and pain.
On the face of it, this is a story of survival against a backdrop of karate in Japan, but it also an exploration of physical endurance and how it connects with the human psyche.
There is very little technical jargon which makes it wholly accessible, and makes for an easy read. But at the same time this book will be thoroughly enjoyed by those who have an interest in budō and/or Japan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Karate Awesome!, 5 Mar 2014
This review is from: Karate Stupid (Paperback)
A cracking read, couldn't put it down! Well written, funny in some parts, sad in others. Had been on a break from training due to lack of karate mojo. Finished the book on Monday night, went back training for the first time in three months on Tuesday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal honesty, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Karate Stupid (Paperback)
Total honesty and very well written, this book was very much anticipated as I had heard the rumours of what happened to Scott as he sent a copy to Japan for proof reading and I assume authorisation. I didn't really understand the Japanese culture until I actually read the book. I read this book in record time as did other readers as it was just an amazingly honest account of a very personal journey in the homeland of karate. Only true Shotokan stylists can properly appreciate this book for the In depth knowledge and inside information on the instructors course. Well done Scott and you have seriously big balls for writing this book for us all to enjoy. RESPECT. Many osu's and oss's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for everyone interested in Karate, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real insight into Karate training in Japan, loved the humour, the pain, the sadness. couldn't put it down
He remains one of the most memorable instructors I have trained with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Review, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Karate Stupid (Paperback)
This is a must read for all Martial artists, once I started reading, I could not put the book down until I had read it all. There is some very interesting insights into the JKS and their instructors course along with some interesting comments on the lifestyle that Sensei Scott Langley had to experience, I won't say too much, you will need to read the book, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving Zen for the new generation, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book albeit that I devour this kind of read. Be it Moving Zen, Angry White pyjamas, Year of the chicken, Born Fighter or Spirit of the Empty Hand, stories of hardships faced learning Japanese martial arts inspire me. This book is no different. It's funny, moving and full of insights into the inner world of the famed instructors training course. It tells the story of Scott's struggles to overcome his own barriers and those imposed upon him by Japanese and karate culture. At times I felt you could have easily swapped the words Instructor training for Navy Seals BUD/s or SAS selection since all three are extreme training programmes leading to world class warriors. None-the-less, it's fantastic to see the human side of the author and allow me just to fantasize a little about what it takes to reach the top. I've read Moving Zen many times over the years and each time it inspires my training. With Karate Stupid I've read it twice in the week or so that I've owned it. It will become my modern Moving Zen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book that was different to what I expected, the honest portrayal of Sensei Langleys personal battle with his inner demons and the instructors course he survived. I would recomend this book to anyone interested in Shotokan Karate or Japanese culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read. Tremendous dedication. A must for all Karate lovers and for all of those who like a terrific read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great achievements!, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. K. E. Williams "Singing Cat" (Nottingham. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A gripping account of how to deal with many obstacles to achieve your dream! Not only is this book of interest to sports enthusiasts, particularly martial artists, but it is a fascinating insight into Japanese culture and way of life. Very interesting as well as to how "foreigners" settle into another country and how they are treated - maybe we all can learn something from this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Karate Stupid
Karate Stupid by Scott Langley (Paperback - 13 Feb 2014)
£9.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews