Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hello old boy
Let's be frank - It is not fair to compare modern authors with GMD's style of writing as unfortunately it passed away with him.

No one will be able to successfully recreate his language and so this booked should be judged at face value - not compared with the original Flashman.

Bearing this in mind and reading it with an open mind (although it is of...
Published 20 months ago by Dave_In_Asia

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Not Harry
It's his older Uncle so stories take place before Harry's adventures. Also RB is no GMD, but that may come with time, it's good but doesn't flow like the Masters tales (IMHO of course)
Published 12 months ago by STEVEN WILLIAMS


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hello old boy, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let's be frank - It is not fair to compare modern authors with GMD's style of writing as unfortunately it passed away with him.

No one will be able to successfully recreate his language and so this booked should be judged at face value - not compared with the original Flashman.

Bearing this in mind and reading it with an open mind (although it is of course impossible not to completely draw similarities between the uncle and infamous nephew) this is a very well written and researched book - with plenty of flashy'esk escapes.

5 stars and definitely worth a read for all Flashman fans. Cannot wait until the next instalment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Not Harry, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's his older Uncle so stories take place before Harry's adventures. Also RB is no GMD, but that may come with time, it's good but doesn't flow like the Masters tales (IMHO of course)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first!, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this immediately after the first in the series. That one had impressed me greatly but this one was even better! It is a rip roaring, rolicking adventure which I highly recommend. The author has created his own character 'Thomas Flashman' uncle of notorious Victorian hero/villan, 'Harry Flashman' immortalised originally in 'Tom Browns Schooldays' but more creatively by the excellent George McDonald Fraser. They are a must read and are the inspiration for Brightwells new series. He has given his character different qualities and a fast paced storyline to explore them. You feel you know him very quickly. I will eagerly anticipate 'Thomas Flashman 3' Well done again Mr Brightwell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Huzzah for another Flash (not in the pan I hope.), 14 Oct 2014
By 
D. Bull "Bully." (West Midlands, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like all Flashman afficionados I approached this with some trepidation. I have to say that it took a little while to get used to but after a time I really enjoyed it. No it isn't as good as GMF but that's an unfair comparison for any writer, it is a very enjoyable read.

It has to fall within the restrictions of modern day political correctness and that does give it a slightly sterile feel and is a major part of it not getting 5 stars, perhaps unfair as that's not the writer's fault. Things like not using the N word because it's a touchy subject nowadays is now the accepted norm but it's like slavery, if we never talk about it, it won't mean it didn't happen. It's difficult to talk about this without sounding as if you approve of it but historical books should be as accurate as possible, even if it offends. Recounting something doesn't mean you approve of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flashman and the Cobra, 30 Jan 2013
I read the Flashman novels during my teenage years and had never really visited India. The details in the book are accurate and describe the scenes and people in context. Flashman gets to India from France on a mission to warn the ruler of a plot against him, the British hope to get him on their side. Flassmans's adventures take him across India by boat, elephant, horse, palaquin, walking and running. The book has a lot of Flashman's humour and joi de vie. I am planning to read the whole set on my Kindle. Each screen turn made my journey to work less tedious. A must read for all armchair adventurers out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful second novel in series., 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well - I thoroughly enjoyed Flashman and the Seawolf , the 1st of the 'new' Flashman adventures - so had to try this the 2nd.

In my opinion this novel is better than the 1st in the series - and I gave that one 5 stars!

Set mainly in India it's a really enjoyable gallop through the history of the 2nd Mahratta wars - lead by our hero (or for hero substitute imposter/cad/bounder/coward/lecher - take your pick!) Actually Thomas Flashman is not as black a sheep as his better known nephew in my opinion - and I am getting to like him (though he'd drop you in it in a heartbeat).

Give this book a try - if you like history based fiction I'm sure you'll like this.

As I said in my review of the 1st novel - anyone brave enough to follow in GMFs footsteps and chronicle the exploits of another Flashman deserves to be read, at least once, for comparison purposes. I think that Robert Brightwell has now easily passed that point. In fact from now - I'll try to stop thinking in terms of the original Flashy and follow this one to see where he'll lead me (into trouble more than likely!) I can't wait for the next installment - and hope there are many more to follow.
My thanks Robert - and good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable romp!, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this book. It's the first of the newer flashman series that I've read but was every bit as good if not better than some of the original flashman books. The battle scenes are extremely well written and really draw you in and out is also very informative of the whole way of life in India during those times. Well definitely read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flashman, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is continuing the adventures of flashy. For anyone missing the scoundrels escapades its not bad for this rogues life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First exclusive epublished book I've ever read. Really liked it and would recommend it to any fans of the arch cad Flashman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flashman. And the cobra, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looking forward to the next one. Truly a relative of Harry Flashman.For the Bernard Cornwell readers was that Sharpe saving Wellingtons life during the battle. I will read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flashman and the Cobra (Adventures of Thomas Flashman)
Flashman and the Cobra (Adventures of Thomas Flashman) by Robert Brightwell (Paperback - 24 Nov 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews