Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars140
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2014
I have read all the adult Bob and James books starting with Bob the Streetcat which I originally bought for my daughter. I also have Where in the World is Bob (signed copy) although it could really be considered a children's book. For those who don't know who Bob and James are they are an inseparable pair who found each other when both needed a friend. James' small act of kindness to a homeless cat (Bob) changed his life for the better when he was struggling to overcome drug addiction. Bob and James' story is a touching story of the way love and companionship can change a life. Although in this book Bob's life before meeting James is only imagined the story is used to tell, through Bob's feelings, how it must feel for homeless people to be lonely and friendless and struggling to survive on the streets of a big city. I will be giving a copy of this book to my church for use by any visiting children attending the service. (Our minister is a great Bob and James fan too).
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
Having all of James previous books on his life with Bob, I knew I had to add this one to my collection, regardless of it being a children's book. I'd buy it just for the beautiful illustrations alone. Gerald Kelley has done a marvellous job in capturing not only Bob's likeness but his character too in his drawings. So, unlike all the previous books, this one is told from Bob's perspective, how he originally had a loving home, but lost it through no fault of his own. Ending up on the streets and trying to fend for himself against the many feral cats out there, til one day he came across James by chance and the rest, as they say, is history.
It's a lovely book. Beautifully illustrated and a sweet story. It is a little short but, being aimed at younger children who have short attention spans, it's about the length you'd expect.Well worth buying and I'm sure it'll be popular with young and old alike.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
I have loved every single book about James and Bob and this one is no exception. The illustrations are fantastic and I can imagine that every child who reads it will be completely entranced and hopefully made a bit more aware of the sadness of all the homeless animals in the country. A massive well done to all those who contributed to this really lovely book!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
I've got all the books and have bought them for, and lent them to, other people. This is lovely - heart-rending and happy, with beautifully evocative illustrations. Would be a good introduction to the other James-and-Bob books if there is anyone out there who still doesn't know the story.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Just got this and again a good book, although it was short it was still enjoyable and very well done.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
A beautifully illustrated picture book, great quality and a very touching story. This book is beautifully crafted, I love the variety of picture sizes and the way Gerald Kelley's style changes throughout the book. What is particularly special is the allegorical aspect of the story. This is the story of a drift into homelessness and a redemption through the love of others. How easy it was for Bob to become a lost soul through one piece of misfortune and a life changing mistake. How sad it is that Bob is shunned, ignored and overlooked by others once he is homeless. Like many homeless souls Bob no longer recognises himself and is reduced to living in a box in clear sight and yet quite invisible. For Bob's story we could read James' story or the story of any person who finds themselves without a home and vulnerable. This is a lovely story and clever with it.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Combined sales of A Street Cat Named Bob, its sequel The World According to Bob and the children's book Bob: No Ordinary Cat have now topped sales of 1 million copies in the UK alone, and James Bowen and Garry Jenkins latest offering My Name is Bob is a delightful picture story book aimed at young children which tells the tale of Bob before James came into his life, lavishly illustrated throughout by Gerald Kelley. The story begins and ends with Bob thinking himself "the luckiest cat in the world". The book opens with Bob being a contented, much loved house cat but tragic circumstances find him unwanted and lost on the streets of London until one day he finds his guardian angel James and so begins their most remarkable and heartwarming friendship which has captivated the hearts of fans around the world. Not only will My Name is Bob draw in a whole new generation of readers but will also I suspect be bought as a collector's item by adults too, with the added bonus of some gorgeous photos at the back of the book of the famous pair!
22 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
I have read all the James and Bob books and they are wonderful, uplifting stories of friendship, hope and kindness. This illustrated children's book is a great addition to their stories. It looks wonderful to begin with, and the story is very clever. It imagines where Bob came from and what his life was like befoe meeting James. I particularly liked how they imagined Bob's love of music came about. But this book is not just for James & Bob fans. it is a lovely children's book in its own right. Kids will love it.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
I have purchased 8 copies of this book, both to read myself and to give as gifts for birthdays and at Christmas. I can thoroughly recommend it as a great read for children who want to be introduced to the adventures of James and Bob. It is beautifully illustrated by Gerard Kelley and will be treasured by those who have the good fortune to read it. Best of luck James and Bob and I look forward to more of the same in the future.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
Well done to James and Bob and their team for another fabulous book – from the charming idea to the beautiful illustrations, it's a stunning piece of work. Young children will be enchanted by Bob and will gain a lot from reading this book with their parents. It gently raises awareness of the very important issues of homelessness and, of course, stray animals and children will undoubtedly ask lots of questions. They will learn that, even when there appears to be no hope, by being brave and taking positive actions, you can change things and get positive results. Of course it's not just reserved for children; it's a beautiful book for the many thousands of James and Bob fans to add to their collection, if only for the beautiful artwork and the additional treat of the lovely photos of James and Bob included at the end of the book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse