Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
10
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 October 2014
Considering the amount of content that is thrown into the main series, its good seeing a volume focusing on Princess B and Marceline. This volume follows Bubblegum's eye-opening experience at one of Marceline's gigs, becoming her manager, and then dealing with the mess that follows wherever the band perform.
I do feel that whereas the comics do lack the energy that is essential to the cartoon, it does add up in depth and contributes to the Adventure Time experience. Its not the best volume admittedly. And it does waiver off towards the ending chapters (there's a few characters that don't appear in the TV series, they didn't grow on me...)
This would be more for the Adventure Time completists, there's nothing that'll attract non-fans
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
If you are a fan of adventure time then this is the book for you!
Marcelin and princess bubble gum fans must read this! A great story about Marcelins band " the scream queens" and the adventure of bubble gum being their manager and going on a music tour with them!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
My favorite of the adventure time comics that I have read! Although it does introduce some minor characters who have not been seen before in the adventure time universe, I feel that the writer did a great job in writing for the two main characters and in the style of the series. Marceline and Princess Bubblegum certainly seem like much more vivid and full characters after reading this.

The art style of the main storyline remains consistent and of a high quality throughout the book. The chapters of the main story are separated by short comics by other people, some relating to the main story and some not. They have varying art styles and some are better than others in terms visual quality.

Overall, it made me laugh numerous times and is a great addition to an awesome franchise.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
When I first purchased this Marceline and the Scream Queens book I was delightfully surprised to find that it is a compilation of all 6 issues in the series, although the experience went down from there.

The front illustration, which was drawn by the artist and illustrator Meredith Gran, is stunningly amazing and is even on par with the KaBOOM! comics series. However as soon as you turn in a couple pages you'll see the art quality drop dramatically, not to the point that the art is hideous but far poorer quality than the suggesting cover. Though my main issue, which many Adventure Time fans would agree with is that it is inaccurate to the art style of the TV series and vastly inferior to KaBOOM!'s Shelli Paroline and Braden Lamb.

The new sub-characters that are introduced as Marceline's band members Keila, Bongo and Guy are weak, forgettable and lacking in any originality. Worse though is that the characters don't correlate with the original cast or even the Adventure Time universe. Though Keila and Bongo are the most forgettable, Guy is by far the worst. The writer attempts to initiate a romance between Guy and Princess Bubblegum though the characters are incompatible and the mutual attractions for each other are illogical and irritating. Despite the attempt, "Spoiler?" the romance is suddenly dropped in the last chapter and lacks any conclusion.

The story fails to stir any emotions and is never truly funny other than the occasional faint smirk. The story doesn't add anything of interest to the universe and even makes places such as the nightosphere come across as dull. Unlike the TV series the overall story feels inconsistent as characters instantly forget or ignore events in previous chapters.

Fortunately there is a bright side to this disastrous comic series, though most of the side comics, Resurrection Song, Grumpy Butt, Communication Issues and Coffin Break are laughable and pitiful, The Bootlegger is truly a gem. Written by Yuko Ota and Ananth Panagariya the story stars Peppermint Butler and Cinnamon Bun as the protagonists. The characters are portrayed very well with much attention to the TV series and despite this short story being only 6 pages long I laughed more than the entire main series.
Even now I am baffled as to why Yuko and Ananth weren't appointed as the writers and illustrator for the main series, Yuko's art is on par with the front cover and the duo's writing skills are of a much higher standard than Meredith.

Overall I think it is clear that Meredith Gran is not a fan of Adventure Time and this project was just cash in her pocket. Octopus Pie, her main project has a completely different theme and art style to Adventure Time so I am unsure as to why she was assigned to this project.

If you enjoy Adventure Time I would suggest you purchase the KaBOOM! series comics as this failed cash in lacks charm, beauty, humour and emotion, which are essential to Pendleton Ward's Adventure Time.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
Despite what it says on the tin, this is actually the Hardcover edition. I'm so glad I ordered this to go with my Adventure Time Mathematical Edition Collection. I haven't actually read this yet but I'm sure it will be so totally awesome. Toots.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
this was so good i read it twice! the pictures are really good. i'm a big fan of adventure time, i reccomend this.

(written by an 8yo and not edited in any way)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
I read this book over and over again, I would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
Who wouldn't love a book about Marceline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
Great quality, loved by 8 year old!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Got it as a gift for my partner as he is a huge fan of Adventure Time, he loved it, well printed and better than expected. I would definitely recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)