Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good replacement for Harry Potter
Reviewed by Georgina Tranter on Serendipity Reviews

Oksa Pollock - The Last Hope is the first in a new adventure series of six books by two French authors. Already a success in Europe, the first book is being launched this summer, with a possible film to follow. Billed as something that will be enjoyed by fans of Harry Potter and Buffy, the Vampire Slayer, I...
Published 13 months ago by Serendipity Reviews

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much magic
The writer tries too hard on the magic invention side. There is too much of it which obscures the characters and loses the story. A little less fantasy and a bit more substance would have improved it greatly. I gave up a third of the way in.
Published 6 months ago by Mr Pontipine


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars disapointing, 1 May 2014
By 
Cfc Caumartin "Sarky Miss" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is very lightweight and less than engrossing, neither of my grand daughter managed to finish it and they are big readers. A disappointment to say the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Good ideas, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Writing is stilted and does not translate well. I will finish it but not loving it at all. Story is good but clumsy dialog
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
oh yes the book was great and as discribed i love it thank you so much .it also came way before i thought it was supposed to so double thanks i have read it already and its just great.cant wait for book three when it comes ou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, loved every word, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely loved this book and have recommended it to all my friends. Oksa and Gus are best friends and when they find out all about Edefia then they're unstoppable. It is so well written, the translator has done a great job. Honestly this book is in the top 2 books I've ever read! My only down side is that the next book hasn't been translated yet, so I'm first on the waiting list for the new one!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its a really good book, I bought it at a really good price (99p+VAT)
My only problem is that they don't really talk like humans (read the book to see why) I guess its just because the authors are French (I think) so I won't get too fussy over that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read!, 28 Nov 2013
Oksa Pollock: The Last Hope was hailed as the French answer to Harry Potter when it was translated into English and published here in June. As a Harry Potter enthusiast I wanted to read it but also as a big fan of fantasy fiction for young adults.

The story is about a young thirteen year old girl called Oksa who discovers she has an array of different magical abilities. As she develops her ability to control these new found powers she discovers a secret that changes her whole life. Her family are originally from the magical world Edefia. They fled Edefia in fear of their lives over 50 years before. Now based in London the `runaways' of Edefia gather around Oksa because she is their Queen and their last hope of returning to Edefia which the all long to do.

Initially I raced through the first chapters of this book. I really liked the character of Oksa and her friend Gus who are both well written and have wonderful engaging personalities. The story builds at a really good pace and is well written. We see Oksa learn who she is and explore her abilities exactly how you imagine a thirteen year old girl would be in learning she can shoot fire from her hands or fly. Her family are equally as well developed with a little bit of mystery surrounding key characters such as Leomido. You are intrigued enough that you want to finish the story but the plot does get a tad complicated.

I am a self-confessed fantasy fan and I love all things magical and mysterious. However, if I dare to say it this book had TOO much magic, TOO many different things introduced so fast that it was very complicated to completely grasp the storyline in certain places. I found myself getting quite bogged down in the different magical powers each character could possess especially as some were introduced so briefly. I am however hoping that this sudden deluge of different powers, creatures and what not is just because this is the first book in a series of 6. Fingers crossed that the second in the series does not introduce too much more as otherwise I think a reader will just be completely overrun with different things to keep track of. If it was not for the books website I don't actually think I would have understood what hair the creatures look like so that was particularly helpful.

Having said this it is worth a read not just for fantasy fans but for those who like a good dose of action in their books. Although it got a bit chaotic in places the actual plot was well thought out and ended with a good cliff-hanger for the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oksa Pollock a brilliant book, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book to read on holiday. I like the characters and the story is great. My favourite part is when oksa goes to Leomidos to start her training
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, 25 July 2013
By 
GCLima (Hereford, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and interesting even if the basic approach of teenage magic and school is a trod path. Still, the resetting is different and the writers are good. I will buy the series and will recommend to my sister and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not very good sadly, 1 Jan 2014
By 
M. Notman "northernfag" (sheffield uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this to read to my godson while he was ill, and im sorry to say he hated it and i did too! Its very very derivative of Harry Potter for the first half, and whilst it does get away from Potter-land in the second its hardly anything new. Secondly I dont know whether its just the translation but it reads like someone has just entered the french text in google translate and printed off whatever it came out with- really odd sentence structures, odd little things we never say in english, conversations that go nowhere, totally pointless paragraphs. Its lacking any of the little touches that JK Rowling adds, flabby text and lots of silly names for things (that im sure sound lovely in French but dont in English). Waste of time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quelle Horreur!, 1 Mar 2014
This review is from: Oksa Pollock: The Last Hope (Oksa Pollock 1) (Paperback)
Oh, dear...we picked this up to try as a family read-aloud book. Not one of us wanted to carry on past about page 125, so I took one for the team and finished the book. After giving it some thought - to me, OP reads like nothing so much as an effort by the Academie Francaise to produce a home grown Harry P (and Harry P wasn't exactly original either!).

The dialogue in French novels DOES tend to be stilted, when we compare them to modern English novels - but this one takes it to new heights (depths?). Perhaps it suffers in translation, but then again the translator isn't to blame for the approximately FIFTY new and magical creatures (and their names, YUK!) introduced before we are halfway through the book. That's without mentioning the dozens of powers our heroine has, and all their Latin-lite names. Everything but the kitchen sink has been thrown into Oksa - and in this case more is definitely not more.

A strange combination of I am Number Four and Harry Potter - our family is going to give the rest of the OP books a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oksa Pollock: The Last Hope (Oksa Pollock 1)
Oksa Pollock: The Last Hope (Oksa Pollock 1) by Cendrine Wolf (Paperback - 27 Feb 2014)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews