Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Make a lampshade
Ever wished to make your own lampshades? This is a delightful book that will show you how to do just that. It looks at shape, style and more. There are traditional and quite quirky ideas to suit all tastes. It's not just fabric either, wood, metal and paper are also used. Even a bit of recycling going on here, making lampshades with old sweaters, rulers or a string of...
Published 17 months ago by K. Platt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A beginners book.
This is a beginners book. Some of the projects are a bit bland, I've seen many of them before. On Pinterest, for example. I was interested in the instructions for traditional lampshade making, that was useful.
Published 3 months ago by NickyO


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Make a lampshade, 2 Jan. 2014
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Make Your Own Lampshades - 35 original shades to make for table lamps, ceiling lights and more (Paperback)
Ever wished to make your own lampshades? This is a delightful book that will show you how to do just that. It looks at shape, style and more. There are traditional and quite quirky ideas to suit all tastes. It's not just fabric either, wood, metal and paper are also used. Even a bit of recycling going on here, making lampshades with old sweaters, rulers or a string of fairy lights featuring mini lampshades might take your fancy. This book is written for every crafter, no matter what your ability. Clear photographs and instructions. Elizabeth has been inventive but some of the ideas do not gel for me. This is a good grounding in lampshade making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Star, 31 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Make Your Own Lampshades - 35 original shades to make for table lamps, ceiling lights and more (Paperback)
Fantastic book, I would recommend it to any creative. Each lampshade idea is genius and the easy to follow step by step instructions make them achievable to any skill level
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take an array of whatever you've got and turn it into a lampshade, 30 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Make Your Own Lampshades - 35 original shades to make for table lamps, ceiling lights and more (Paperback)
Got some origami paper and some fairy lights? A roll of wallpaper? Vintage tablecloth? Fabric scraps? Make your own lampshades Elizabeth Cake shows you how to take an array of whatever you've got and turn it into a lampshade.

Making small changes to your home can turn tired rooms into rooms that invite you in. Spend time. Day dream. Appreciate what you have.

But, slogging round the shops to buy new things can feel sour and empty. Money spent on mass-produced stuff feels icky. And we want to feel good about the changes we make.

So spending your money on Make your own lampshades Elizabeth Cake to make your own totally bespoke, utterly creative, lampshades is perfect. Make the changes to your home whilst adding to your skills. Get excited over buying the materials that will get you creating, thinking, making, doing. What a fab feeling. Reuse what you already have. Transform.

My favourite project for this book review has to be making a lampshade from an old sweater. Using supplies you can buy from Quincy Lampshades, Elizabeth shows us how to use the patterned border from a fair isle jumper to make a lampshade that's quirky and unique. There are great photographs throughout the book showcasing each completed project, with illustrated step-by-step guides, lists of things needed, and numbered instructions. Chapter 1 'Lampshade Know-How' gives notes on lampshade shapes, sizes, materials, fabrics, and terminology (your answer to the all-encompassing question 'What is a gimbal' answered here).

Elizabeth's technique for making drum lampshades is different to mine, but you can still use the Quincy Lampshade method (get the how to make lamp shades video) in all the drum lampshade projects.

It's fun making small changes... not just to your home, but adding to the list of the things you can do yourself. This book is a lovely place to begin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A beginners book., 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Your Own Lampshades - 35 original shades to make for table lamps, ceiling lights and more (Paperback)
This is a beginners book. Some of the projects are a bit bland, I've seen many of them before. On Pinterest, for example. I was interested in the instructions for traditional lampshade making, that was useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!!!, 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Your Own Lampshades - 35 original shades to make for table lamps, ceiling lights and more (Paperback)
Love this book. I don't usually do reviews, but I think this needs the recognition it deserves. Fantastic projects. It's a definite "must have "
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... copy as there are so many projects I would like to do, 24 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Your Own Lampshades - 35 original shades to make for table lamps, ceiling lights and more (Paperback)
I borrowed this book from my local library and found I really need my own copy as there are so many projects I would like to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Your Own Lampshades - 35 original shades to make for table lamps, ceiling lights and more (Paperback)
A very good book, and full of ideas would recommend it. Have found it very useful. Good blue an amazon as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Your Own Lampshades - 35 original shades to make for table lamps, ceiling lights and more (Paperback)
Very good intro to making lampshades of various shapes although projects not all to my taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 20 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Your Own Lampshades - 35 original shades to make for table lamps, ceiling lights and more (Paperback)
Useful if like me you want to make your own lampshades. Strong on ideas and skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Your Own Lampshades - 35 original shades to make for table lamps, ceiling lights and more (Paperback)
given as a presant and loved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Make Your Own Lampshades - 35 original shades to make for table lamps, ceiling lights and more
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews