Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2013
I've attended Karen's classes before (she is a great teacher), so I was delighted that there is now a book you can use at home as well to learn to blend perfumes. In the book she covers different fragrance families, like floral, oriental, chypre etc. so if you don't like a particular kind of perfume you don't have to blend it! What is most useful is that she includes a recipe for each one, so that you can make it up and see what the archetypal smell is. From there you can always adapt and customise.
There are some very useful parts to this book like how to develop a language around smell and some of the common words that are used. What I particularly liked is that the book includes how to make perfume oils, solid perfumes and also perfumed products like shower base gel, body lotions and bath oils. If you've always wanted to make one of those products bespoke for yourself, this is certainly the book for you. In addition there are also recipes for room sprays and diffusers, so pretty much all your perfumed needs are met in one book.

If you like making your own base products (the creams, lotions and balms to which essential oils or odorants are added), Karen also has another very useful and easy to follow book called 'Natural Beauty'Natural Beauty - 35 step-by-step projects to create low-cost, natural beauty essentials for face, body and hair. Karen used to work for Neal's Yard and has also worked as a perfume evaluator, so she really knows what she is talking about. The great thing for us is that she knows how to make all these things simple and do-able. A really useful book for those who are interested in making perfume.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
Written by the amazing Karen Gilbert, this book takes you through the history of perfume and at the same time, gives relevance to the perfumes you will be making later. That's right - not just a study on perfume and the fragrance groups but a hands-on book that will have you making beautiful perfumes. You can follow Karen's recipes but she also gives plenty of guidance how to successfully free-style and create your own bespoke perfumes.

You can make classical perfumes, perfume oils, solid perfumes and room fragrancers. Reed diffucers are also here as well as how to fragrance shower gels, scrubs, creams and lotions. Oh, and she tells you how to make the shower gels, scrubs, creams and lotions as well!

Beautifully photographed, clear, concise, informative and a joy to read - there is everything to love about this book. Buy now and indulge yourself. Buy as presents for other people and they will love you for it.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
The book is very well written and put together (although I did see one typing error!). I adore and love the outlay of the book from start to finish. The writer also includes names of places to visit (if one is interested) for perfumery. A good quality and sumptuous book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
The art of a perfumer is a true skill. This well written and beautifully illustrated book is the best introduction to this vast subject I have been able to find. As a novice it has given me practical information to enable me to make simple blends using natural fragrances with basic information about balancing fragrance notes and creating different accords within the different notes. There are also very good instructions to make oil based, alcohol based, solid perfumes and room fragrances. There is basic practical guidance as to how to begin training you nose to recognise fragrance notes and blends. There is insight and inspiration into the art of using chemical extracts from plant oils and quality synthetics to enhance naturals where needed because of inherent restrictions with some plant oils due to their very nature, lack of longevity, potential skin irritation and cost. I have been guided to think about perfume within the different categories of fragrances, which types of smells and plant extracts are usually found in each and inspired to be creative. There is so much practical information in this little book set against history and evolution of the fragrance industry that .I have been both daunted by its potential complexity but truly inspired to want to learn more.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2015
Karen Gilbert has become one of my favourite authors in the area of natural beauty, including fragrance, and I own two books by this author. The book is extremely well-organized, and has so many wonderful recipes and other information. I am so glad I bought this book! This is the next best thing to taking one of Gilbert's classes.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
I love this book
Karen's style is so easy to read and this book so informative.
From the history of perfumes right through to modern times she unpacks the mystery of fragrances.
Packed full of useful information I'm sure this book will encourage lots of people to start their own journey to making or finding their own unique perfume[[ASIN:1782490442 Perfume: The art and craft of fragrance - Learn how to create your own personal fragrance, with easy-to-follow recipes for perfumes, bath and body products to make at home
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Have looked through this, haven't attempted anything yet but most definitely will do when time permits. Would definitely recommend it
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
After reading reviews on this book, I thought it would be helpful for a beginner. I was wrong.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
This is a great book - very interesting and informative, and full of ideas for creating your own perfumed items. It is knowledgeable and well-written, and the recipes are good and tempting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
FABULOUS and gorgeous book - recipes, information and so so pretty - makes a beautiful gift but order 2 because you will want one for your own when you see it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)