Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'A Classical Education' by Caroline Taggart
This book is part of an extensive series from Michael O'Mara Books Ltd. on subjects that are - or used to be - taught at school; mathematics, English Grammar, History, etc., presented in an enjoyable, readable style.
This volume is an introduction for the general reader to the world of Ancient Greece and Rome.
The first first chapter deals with language - the...
Published on 15 Nov 2009 by Paul Hankinson

versus
225 of 247 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gives Popular History a Bad Name
As a lecturer in ancient history I have - contrary, perhaps, to the assumptions of other reviewers of this book - no quibble with the popularisation of the subject: on the contrary I wish there were many more accessible and funny books on the subject, for ancient history is packed with opportunities for good gags. However, a popular style is no excuse for poor...
Published on 20 Jan 2010 by Aspasia


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classical Education - Excellent!!, 9 Aug 2009
By 
D. Smithson "book worm" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Every family should own one - a great book to share and learn from, with a good deal of wit and humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ok, 13 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Classical Education: The Stuff You Wish You'd Been Taught At School (Paperback)
okokokokokookokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokokookoo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Shame, 28 July 2009
By 
Ms. Cj Glover - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I would like to stress that this book is a good one if your're looking for something that essentially details the academic achievements of the Roman and Greek classical civilisations. However, I would say that I bought it to give myself the smatterings of a 'classical education', as in being able to read a little Latin or learn the formulae of Pythagoras. Unfortunately this is not the case. Also, Taggart's tone is extremely irritating, it's almost as if she is embarrassed by having an interest in philosophy, history and generally a classical education. For example "a man called Herodian wrote a treatise in twenty-one books about them (the use of accents in language)most of which, you will be happy to know, are lost". That kind of ignorance is so annoying, especially to people who actually may have been interested in reading them. When she talks about Aquinas' essay on Posterior Analytics she treats people who may want to read it in a very insulting manner. Basically, she is extremely annoying with her little quips and insults but miraculously writes an ok book as they are few and far between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giggleworthy, 2 April 2013
Truly splendid light hearted romp through the classics. Great book to have on your iPhone app for traffic jams, waiting rooms etc. - easy to dip in and out of, mentally stimulating and laugh-out-loud funny. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doubly annoying - style and Kindle format, 2 Feb 2012
This might be okay in paperback to dip into occasionally - while contemplating as another reviewer mentions.
But the Kindle version is extremely aggravating - 1. Every page seems to have a footnote which is a real faff to navigate with a Kindle and the content isn't rewarding (see 3.) and 2. I find the font extremely hard to read - it's not a matter of size it's the actual face. It seems to be like reading a scanned pdf rather than one printed electronically. 3. The greatest pain comes from the style though - it seems the author wonders why anyone would read it and having started I'm inclined to agree. There's the odd nugget of useful or interesting information but it'll be a struggle if I finish reading the book - probably only if I run out of purchased books.

Finally, references to page numbers on a Kindle is useless when the page numbers aren't included in the file. There are no chapter markers either so you can't flick through the sections (okay so you can use the ToC but that's not quick and easy)

On the plus side it was only 99p when I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good holiday reading, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
perfect for reference when stuck on a crossword
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lots of things I never knew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 July 2014
By 
Sheldon Clark (Washington, T&W, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classical Education: The Stuff You Wish You'd Been Taught at School, 9 Jan 2012
Informative and a good reference book. A good study, and yes I wish I'd learnt it all 50 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Classical Education, 28 July 2009
By 
O. Mitchell "book manic" (Todmorden England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A Classical Education: The Stuff You Wish You'd Been Taught at School A book that you can just dip into, and learn something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Classical Education: The Stuff You Wish You'd Been Taught At School
A Classical Education: The Stuff You Wish You'd Been Taught At School by Caroline Taggart (Paperback - 4 April 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews