Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it
I am a big fan of Will.i.am and this auto biography is a very interesting read. would recommend to any fan of Will.
Published on 1 Jun. 2013 by Brian Mason

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
An ok biography....not enough quotes from Will.I.am himself......in a weird order and in parts dull.....good easy read

Too much about Cheryl!
Published 21 months ago by clair jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An ok biography....not enough quotes from Will.I.am himself......in a weird order and in parts dull.....good easy read

Too much about Cheryl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big fan of Will.i.am and this auto biography is a very interesting read. would recommend to any fan of Will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Biography, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Will.i.am: The Unauthorized Biography (Hardcover)
After seeing a programme on television about Will.i.am, I was keen to read his book. I am currently half way through and don't want to put it down. There were no concerns with the delivery and condition of the book on arrival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational reading, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice to read about a celebrity who not only wants to help others but feels he needs to help others, rather than just talking about themselves a great deal. Down to earth reading, for the tech savvy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a really good book, 26 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Will.i.am: The Unauthorized Biography (Hardcover)
I have read it and I can say that the writter did her best and this is a really good book about Will.I.Am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WILL.I.AM THE UNAUTHORISED BIOGRAPHY, 28 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Will.i.am: The Unauthorized Biography (Hardcover)
Book is in excellent condition and extremely fast delivery. Very easy and good reading and portrays Will.I.am's loyalty and commitment to people and his profession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good Value, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Made up mostly of research from paper clippings but this is reflected in the price. Worth a read but don't expect too much insight into Iam.will's life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars is will.i.am a see? I think so. fantastic, 5 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Extraordinarily observant individual with amazing humility and confidence in turns. Need more like him for a healthier loving soulful planet...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars uplifting read about an inspiring guy, 27 Oct. 2013
By 
This review is from: Will.i.am: The Unauthorized Biography (Hardcover)
Like any writer of an unauthorised biography the author, Danny White, did not have the advantage of direct access to will.i.am (William James Adams). However, unless you avidly follow the news about Will.i.am - and know just about all of the story so far - it provides interesting insights into the character of the man behind the image. The book makes a really good, uplifting read.

It takes real brilliance to come up with a track like Where is the Love and not make it sound preachy and give it such wide international appeal. To make such hard hitting statements as linking the CIA to terrorism and to do so with such a light touch is an impressive feat. Perhaps it is no surprise to find that the track's had major success outside the USA first as people outside the USA are more accustomed to having mixed views about the role of the CIA in world politics.

Will's success as a mentor for other artists is not only due to his brilliant grasp of current musical trends. He seems to be a 'self belief machine' who inspires others to believe in themselves - as his band mate Taboo testifies in his biography. Will helped Taboo pull through a time of major self doubt early in his career.

If you wonder whether will.i.am us still true to his original values you can find some reassurance from his story. Superficially at least he seems to have drifted away from the vales of "Where is the Love?" to the more doubtful values of "Where is the party?". However, Will seems to be a genuinely decent and sensitive guy. He kept going despite having a long uphill battle to keep expressing a positive message in his music. Black Eyed Peas were about 'peace and love' when most Hip Hop bands were doing a lot of heavy aggressive raps and gangsta posturing.

Will and the Black Eyed Peas would have hardly generated such continual long-term interest from their audience if they only stuck to tunes like with an overtly 'meaningful' message. Audiences can be fickle - especially young audiences - and people would soon tire of them if Will.i.am and his band kept with the same message all the time. They obviously needed to keep things fresh and they have managed to do that amazingly well. Their message still seems to be pro-life, though more in the form of an upbeat celebration, than explicitly positive lyrics. It is curious that their video for one of their major hits, I Gotta Feelin, even with its party atmosphere had scenes of people being sick and looking wasted - as if it were a tongue-in-cheek versions of some government anti-alcohol abuse adverts. Will.i.am was at one point very worried about his band mate Taboo's heavy abuse of alcohol and drugs. The odd mix of scenes in the video (from party animals at play to somebody throwing up) may have been Will's light and playful way of putting across a serious message.

Will.i.am, despite his wealth and fame, often ends up "just friends" with women. I suspect his sensitivity causes him to suffer from Nice Guy Syndrome, a phenomena I've written about elsewhere which is where a guy gets on really well with women as friends, but often gets stuck in platonic relationships with them.

Will's refusal to be a tortured artists and his liking for corporate sponsorship have not endeared him to everyone. Even his moniker bothers some, but he seems to take that all in his stride.

One odd thing is that's Will.i.am suffers heavily from tinnitus to the extent that he says 'I don't know what silence sounds like anymore". It is reckoned that music is one of the few ways he can cover up the sound of tinnitus and relax. However, he does have a habit of listening to music very, very loudly. Is its just me, or could there be a connection? Listening to music very loud, getting tinnitus, turning up the music to cover the tinnitus.... Maybe... Just maybe a connection...;)

Will also seems to be a bit of a workaholic. I hope someone turns him on to some technology that would help him calm down. Something like HeartMaths' HeartMath +Inner Balance Sensor device might really help him.

If you are an avid follower of Will.i.am and then Black Eyed Peas and have kept up with all the news about them then not much in this book will surprise you. However if like me you find em intriguing and want to fill in the details then this book does the job and is fun to read. This book is recommended to anyone who wants to know more about will without having to scour the net to do so.

Since will.i.am seems to collaborate with just about everyone - I want to say I am real sick player (I think that is the cool way to say it) of super mega electro house bagpipes ... And the grooves I lay down with are really... dope.... At least I think that's the word he would use...

---
William Fergus Martin, Author
Forgiveness is Power: A User's Guide to Why and How to Forgive
Kindle Version
Forgiveness is Power: A User's Guide to Why and How to Forgive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A birthday gift, 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Will.i.am: The Unauthorized Biography (Hardcover)
This i bought for a friend who is a fan of Will`s. she wanted to know all about him and find out all about the man behind the glasses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Will.i.am: The Unauthorized Biography
Will.i.am: The Unauthorized Biography by Danny White (Hardcover - 18 Oct. 2012)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews