Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars84
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 February 2014
This fast action story starts in 1190 with an explanation of how the Holy Lance, a revered Christian symbol was entrusted to a Knight Templar, Johannes von Hartelius and subsequently into his family's safekeeping in perpetuity. Moving swiftly to 1945 and the last days of the Reich in Germany, Adolph Hitler entrusts a special package to two of his most trusted supporters, a package they must protect to the death. In the present day, intrepid photo journalist, John Hart finds himself caught up in a series of violent and catastrophic events which shatter his belief in everything he once felt was true.

The Templar Prophecy gets off to a good start; the historical opening of the story is credible although I would have liked to know a little more about the Holy Lance in this initial phase of its journey and of the Knight Templar who to some extent forms the basis of the story. As time moves forward to 1945 and the present day, the malevolent aspect of the narrative really starts to come alive and the action becomes fast , furious and not without moments of extreme violence. The historical strands start to coalesce and it soon becomes obvious that modern day protagonist, John Hart, has some link with the past, and the violent death of a member of his family is just the catalyst he needs to fulfil his destiny.

Overall, I really enjoyed this story, and found it to be a real page turner. The writer has a great sense of time and place. His ability to control the narrative whilst maintaining the integrity of the story and the rapid pace of the action is commendable. As with all fast action thrillers, there are times when you have to suspend belief, but then, isn't that what good fiction is all about?
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
This is another great book from Mario Reading. It is a fast paced thriller, set in 3 time frames.once in I found I couldn't put it down. I really enjoy these time slip novels, the scenes in the Crusades and then in Hitler's bunker were realistic and compelling. It was interesting to have a fallible 'hero' for a change and this created the dramatic tension, you waited with bated breath waiting to see what he was going to do next. this would make a great holiday read and I am recommending it to the reading group I go to. It should make for a lively debate, can we escape our genetics or is it fate?
0Comment17 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed the Templar's Prophecy which took me from the heat of the Crusades to Hitler's last moments inside his bunker, and on to the present. This book is a page-turner. It has it all: depth, a stimulating plot, well-researched history, adventure, love and betrayal.
0Comment16 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As a reader of Thrillers, I do love to grab a title that brings some ancient wonders/mysteries to the fore and blends it with a cracking story that not only keeps you glued to the final page but generates a wonderful sense of awe within the reader.

This title by Mario hits all the spots for a reader, you have cracking characters, good high octane pace and when added with villains that not only give the principle player a run for their money but also leaves you wondering how the author is going to combat the twists that are thrown in the way. Great stuff.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
This is a book that started off well and promised much in the beginning before quickly becoming a rather sorry tale.It lets the reader down in so many ways that the disappointment is rather hard to take.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
Having read the Nostradamus Prophecy trilogy which I thoroughly enjoyed, it was good to read Mario Reading's latest book and not feel disappointed. So many authors seem to fail to keep one's interest as the number of books of this genre increase but so far, this has not happened with this author. Well researched story of lost artefacts, woven around Hitler's particular obsession with certain of such things. I travel a lot and am always in need of a good bookto pass the hours.

Typhoon Kate
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
This is a genre which is of interest to me and accordingly I chose this novel. It has pace, twists and turns, and is therefore a good read. My only reservations are that the script is not challenging and there is a certain inevitability about its ending; none of my comments, however, should put off anyone interested in the subject. I have already downloaded to my Kindle "The Templar Inheritance" so it will make a good comparison.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
I found this really hard going. Read a quarter of it and stopped. Wont be finishing it and wont be
buying any more books from this author. Its very graphically written and I found parts of it quite disturbing. Was unable to sleep after reading as much as I read. Just not my kind of book however other readers might enjoy it
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
Great story, very sudden and poor ending. There could have been so much more made of the ending as the story is so good up till the (not trying to spoil it for any one) death of X, the it seems like the author couldnt be bothered to write any more?
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
This is an eminently readable book, with a good story, but nothing too in-depth or complex. Everything flows chronologically and there is just the one minor twist at the end - if you can call it that. It's an enjoyable book which doesn't require much thinking. It's major flaw is the characters - there is no depth to them, what you see is what you get and yet you are expected to believe that even the German thugs can speak and understand fluent English.
0Comment16 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.