Customer Reviews


264 Reviews
5 star:
 (235)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Higher Call
I read an article in the Saturday Mail a few weeks ago about the German Pilot in WW11 who had seen a B17 which had been shot up badly. Franz Stigler's initial reaction was to shoot the plane down but as he got nearer to the B17, he saw the extent of the damage and he could see the crew through a hole in the aircraft tending their wounded. He was always told, you shoot...
Published 16 months ago by Jacqueline Anne Latham

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as incredible as the strapline suggests
An interesting take on living with the Luftwaffe and the USAAF but a little overblown on the unique aspect of the story. Did show that living in Germany during WW2 was not a fun place to be and also, that the numbers of aircraft shot down was vastly exaggerated by the pilots. Did it really need a ghost as well as a researcher?
Published 6 months ago by Anthony Waring


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unlikely but completely true story, 29 Sep 2014
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has what may at first seem an unlikely situation as its storyline.

During the first half of WW1, there was a recognition on both sides that normal rules of chivalry would apply, and they did. A pilot who was seen to be injured was allowed by his opponents to attempt to safely return to his base and was sometimes escorted by his enemy almost to his destination to prevent further attacks. Subsequently, these rules were abandoned and they were largely forgotten during WW2. However, this book is about one exception to these rules and as a result a heavily damaged US bomber was allowed to return to its British base.

Post-war and then as old men, the two pilots attempted to find each other and to exchange their stories. This slightly parallels the post-War friendship of the German fighter ace, Adoph Gallandt, and the British legless flyer, Douglas Bader.

As an an impartial view of both opponents' actions and policies, it deserves to be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I've ever read....really., 24 Feb 2014
By 
A. Taylor (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Higher Call: The Incredible True Story of Heroism and Chivalry During the Second World War (Hardcover)
I know words like that get bandied about all too often but this really is as good as stated. It stumbles a little to get going but once it reaches Franz's experiences in North Africa and beyond you simply won't want to stop reading. A truly fascinating insight into the "enemy" and the reality of life in the Luftwaffe written with frankness and self deprecation. Although the book centres around the meeting of Franz and Charlie both above Germany, and later in life, it's really mainly Franz's story. And I don't mind admitting to welling up a bit at the end. Two extraordinary men in a book full of extraordinary men. Will change your Hollywood inspired black and white view of the War In Europe and give some appreciation of the Luftwaffe pilots. Brave men, unfortunately led by madmen and psychopaths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth a read, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent reading and the author had me feeling as though I was there with both pilots at times. Cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WW2 pilots- the other side of the story, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating true story of the air conflict between allied bombers attacking German targets and the Luftwaffe pilots trying to defend their homeland in the last stages of the war. Centered around one incredible incident involving a crippled flying fortress and a much decorated German fighter pilot who was dedicated to saving his country but was most definitely not a Nazi. As the story develops we see how the Nazi regime becomes delusioned and twisted in its death throws. The central figure in the story fights with a squadron of "misfits", all of them aces but now disowned by Goring but desperately fighting with the magnificent but dangerously unreliable Me262 jets. A well written factual account and remarkable insight to the last months of the war. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too good to put down, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this to be a thoroughly readable book. I don't know what I was expecting but the story I read showed me an entirely different perspective on the air war. As someone who lost an uncle in North Africa and whose father and another uncle were both decorated multi tour Bomber Command pilots I had a very one sided view of the "enemy". A Higher Call has opened my eyes to seeing many of the "enemy" as honourable men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Book !, 18 Aug 2014
By 
Bruce Miller "hyper2u" (Louisville, Kentucky and San Diego, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Higher Call: The Incredible True Story of Heroism and Chivalry During the Second World War (Hardcover)
This was a fabulous book from cover to cover. It is a great story that was told in such a fashion that it all came together. The German fighter pilot's personal story was presented in such an excellent manner that one could understand his character and personality. It was impressively done. In the same fashion, the American pilot's character is revealed and one could understand his background, training, family relationships, and professional conduct. Both had stories that in themselves would have been interesting books. When the two stories came together due to the fateful encounter during the war, the stories became even more remarkable. The book had a happy ending as they were able to finally meet and continue their lives as friends. I would have enjoyed being present at one of the speaking engagement that they jointly pursued just to hear more of the personal stories. The author, reportedly had been researching and developing this book over a period of 8 years. It was time well spent as the product of his work was worthy of special praise and merit. I hope that you enjoy this story as much as I did !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words are never enough, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This picture of German fighter pilots is one of bravery and courage their battle was fought in the sky and in the political arena of Nazi Germany some followed the doctorin to the last, some believed in a higher call,a brilliant read could not put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An awesome story that is great that it didn't get lost in the mists of time. Concentrated heavily on the German Pilots perspective but this didn't detract from the overall quality of the book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a higher call, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i enjoyed this book very much i really could not put it down. its a well written book about two airmen whose paths crossed during the war and then met face to face after, you couldn't make it up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing! Must read it, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book for anyone interested in WW2. This book really shows the side of the war that many don't believe existed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Higher Call: The Incredible True Story of Heroism and Chivalry During the Second World War
Used & New from: £24.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews