Customer Reviews


220 Reviews
5 star:
 (195)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Higher Call
I read an article in the Saturday Mail a few weeks ago about the German Pilot in WW11 who had seen a B17 which had been shot up badly. Franz Stigler's initial reaction was to shoot the plane down but as he got nearer to the B17, he saw the extent of the damage and he could see the crew through a hole in the aircraft tending their wounded. He was always told, you shoot...
Published 11 months ago by Jacqueline Anne Latham

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as incredible as the strapline suggests
An interesting take on living with the Luftwaffe and the USAAF but a little overblown on the unique aspect of the story. Did show that living in Germany during WW2 was not a fun place to be and also, that the numbers of aircraft shot down was vastly exaggerated by the pilots. Did it really need a ghost as well as a researcher?
Published 1 month ago by Anthony Waring


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Higher Call, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read an article in the Saturday Mail a few weeks ago about the German Pilot in WW11 who had seen a B17 which had been shot up badly. Franz Stigler's initial reaction was to shoot the plane down but as he got nearer to the B17, he saw the extent of the damage and he could see the crew through a hole in the aircraft tending their wounded. He was always told, you shoot at a machine not a man and suddenly he realised what he must do, he had to help the crew of this B17 get to safety. He risked everything to escort this aircraft through the coastal German anti aircraft guns and once they were over the sea, tried to signal to them to head for Sweden and land there. The pilot of the B17 just wanted to get the plane home and eventually they felt threatened by the German fighter and turned their gun on him to warn him off. Franz realised that there was nothing more he could do and mouthed 'Good Luck' and flew off. Franz always hoped that the B17 had got home safely and Charlie Brown the B17 pilot never forgot what this German fighter pilot had done for him and his crew and eventually when they are both old men, they are able to track each other down and have a very emotional reunion! This is a tale of courage and honour and it gives the reader the chance to see the war from both the English/American and German perspective. It opened my eyes and I am so glad I read this book. The story of 'A Higher Call' is simply told and one of the most excellent books I have ever read. Thank you Adam Makos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb WW2 Book, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Higher Call ranks as the best book I have read on the aviation war in the European theatre. Franz Stigler's story is so detailed with insights into what life as a Luftwaffe fighter pilot was truly like. After reading this book your understanding of this period in history will change as mine did.

I would recommend to any WW2 aviation enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A higher call, 1 July 2013
By 
Mr. P. H. Gallienne "Peter G" (Channel Isles, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read and studied a lot of material concerning the Luftwaffe and its pilots this is a most interesting, and to say the least illuminating book. It has obviously been well researched and is extremely well written. It is quite intriguing to read the first hand stories of a number of the well known named "Aces" and to realise that the Nazi heirarchy was as much despised by the more enlightened members of the German forces as they were by the Allies.
Of particular interest is the "audience" with Hitler himself, where on his return the pilot declared "The man is a raving lunatic!"
I can thoroughly recommend to anyone with an interest in WW II history and flying in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Higher Call, 2 Feb 2013
I can't recommend this book enough, I simply couldn't put it down. A brilliantly well told story of the humanity of both sides set against the insanity of war. It's both uplifting and at the same time depressing - the courage and integrity of those on the front line contrasts powerfully with the inhumanity and brutality of their superiors, and it seems we have learned nothing in the intervening years. During the course of his own impressive research, the author's views of the war in the air were totally transformed, and this wonderful book is a testimony to his efforts. READ IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Anne Woodings (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked this book because it really showed both sides of the war and the fact that the Germans were virtually the same as the people they were fighting. Makes one realise the futility of wars! I also bought the book for my friend in UK who thought it was one of the best books he had read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great true war story, well written, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a superbly written biography of Franz Stielger, a German WWII fighter pilot. I honestly think this is one of the novels which should be part of the school curriculum, as it can potentially teach more history as well as humanity than most history textbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gift, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this for my man,he is not a big reader but could not put this down.He said it was a very interesting and moving story and read it within a few days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book - wonderful purchase!!!, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my father as a present as he is fascinated by aviation - what a success!! He has never stopped talking about how wonderful it is - can't prise the quality of the product enough!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I've ever read....really., 24 Feb 2014
By 
A. Taylor (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Higher Call: The Incredible True Story of Heroism and Chivalry During the Second World War (Hardcover)
I know words like that get bandied about all too often but this really is as good as stated. It stumbles a little to get going but once it reaches Franz's experiences in North Africa and beyond you simply won't want to stop reading. A truly fascinating insight into the "enemy" and the reality of life in the Luftwaffe written with frankness and self deprecation. Although the book centres around the meeting of Franz and Charlie both above Germany, and later in life, it's really mainly Franz's story. And I don't mind admitting to welling up a bit at the end. Two extraordinary men in a book full of extraordinary men. Will change your Hollywood inspired black and white view of the War In Europe and give some appreciation of the Luftwaffe pilots. Brave men, unfortunately led by madmen and psychopaths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth a read, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent reading and the author had me feeling as though I was there with both pilots at times. Cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Higher Call: The Incredible True Story of Heroism and Chivalry During the Second World War
10.86
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews