Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars75
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 January 2013
I couldn't put this book down. Not only is it an incredible (true) story; but Damien Echols is an excellent writer. I followed reading the book by watching the superb "Paradise Lost" DVD series to complete the life changing experience. highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
This was one of the best books I have ever read. Beautifully written. Completely opened my eyes to a whole new world and way of thinking. Thank you Damien Echols for a personal insight to those many years of your life. A fantastic read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
An inspirational book that leaves you feeling guilty at complaining that you missed the ice cream van or that the heating wasn't on for you returning home, when there are others who are in a more unfortunate situation than yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
for those who want to read about the crime and the trials that follow read devils knot . a thought provoking book about the events that lead to the wm3 being convicted on evidence that did not prove anything .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
lovely book, very readable, pleasant though expressively emotional about hardships. damien is articulate and well formed. he has a nice pace. written as a journal yet other times to an audience, like a blog.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
When I saw this book offered by Amazon Vine I was not familiar with the case, not having watched any of the documentaries which have covered it. I thought that a book describing such as major miscarriage of justice would be interesting.

The book is easy to read but was ultimately rather disappointing. The majority of the book, around 75% covers the authors childhood, with almost nothing about his trial and relatively little about his time in prison on Death Row. The author regularly reminds the reader that he was not guilty of these murders, and yet neglects to spell out any evidence that could show that he was not the killer. His argument seems to be that he was victimised by the police for dressing as a goth and for having an underage sexual relationship with a girl in his class.

What his description of both his childhood and life in prison does reveal is that he is very drawn to religious mysticism. He was born and raised as a Baptist protestant, and yet at the age of 14 decides to become a Roman Catholic, drawn by the ritual of that church. Later aged 16 or 17 he becomes drawn to Wicca under the influence of his girlfriend. In prison to Zen Buddhism and to Satanism (although he never uses that term) as he becomes a follower of the infamous Aleister Crowley. Echols also insists on spelling magic as magick all through the book. Crowley used this very old fashioned spelling to distinguish his 'real' magick from stage magic.

In the end he is released from prison but not actually pardoned! In the end I was left far from sure that there had been a miscarriage of justice.

One of the unsatisfactory elements of this book is that he spent over 18 years on Death Row and yet no details are given about the various appeals he must have gone through to have his execution delayed long enough for the final stage that set him free.

In summary this is readable but disappoints.
33 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
Just spell-bindingly compelling and wonderful. Damien has an extraordinary charisma and aura which will make you want to follow his progress in life forever. Couldn't put this down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
I thought this book was brilliant, He kept his head after all he had been through, A very brave young man, he should have received some kind of reward for what he had been through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Great book. A must read, especially after watching 'paradise lost'. Arrived in excellent condition. It took 3 weeks to arrive. But over all I am very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
An amazingly uplifting account of the triumph of the human spirit in an appallingly dark, ignorant, hateful and destructive legal system.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)