Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cant put this book down!
I saw this book advertised in a Sunday supplement magazine and although I don't read a lot I fancied this one. Cant put the book down as you just want to know what happens next and why.
Published 13 months ago by Hetmck

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing, as a WM3 supporter
I have followed the WM3 case over the last few years, having read Damien's previous book Almost Home, and seen the three Paradise Lost documentaries, as well as the Peter Jackson & Amy Berg documentary West of Memphis. I enjoy Damien's writing, despite the odd nasty comment, as other reviewers have mentioned -- some of the things he says serve to remind you that he's just...
Published 23 months ago by Leila O'Connor


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing, as a WM3 supporter, 27 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After Death (Hardcover)
I have followed the WM3 case over the last few years, having read Damien's previous book Almost Home, and seen the three Paradise Lost documentaries, as well as the Peter Jackson & Amy Berg documentary West of Memphis. I enjoy Damien's writing, despite the odd nasty comment, as other reviewers have mentioned -- some of the things he says serve to remind you that he's just a regular everyday guy with a few petty prejudices, not the wise leader he's sometimes made out to be.

If you are buying this book, you need to know that about 80% of it is an exact reprinting of Almost Home. Another 10% appears to be reprinting of Damien's blog posts campaigning for help with their case over the last few years. The final 10% is new material, from what I can tell.

With a name like "Life After Death", I expected the book to primarily focus on Damien's experience after coming out of prison, but that part amounts to barely a chapter. There is, for example, a picture of he and his wife in New Zealand with Peter Jackson and Fran Walsh, but no information about that trip. This smacks of false advertising.

I don't criticise Damien here, so much as the publisher. Repackaging previous work in a new book without making this clear to those purchasing is a rip-off.

You might enjoy this if you haven't already read Almost Home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cant put this book down!, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After Death: Eighteen Years on Death Row (Paperback)
I saw this book advertised in a Sunday supplement magazine and although I don't read a lot I fancied this one. Cant put the book down as you just want to know what happens next and why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Freeing the WM3, 19 Jun 2013
This review is from: Life After Death: Eighteen Years on Death Row (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have been a follower of the wrongly imprisoned WM3 story since the days of my old Geocities blog, which was decorated in "Free the West Memphis 3" banners. This book recycles a fair amount to existing material from the writings of Damien Echols, which in itself isn't a bad thing, but for anyone already familiar with these - there isn't much here to warrant the extra space on their bookshelf. The writing style is `warts and all' so whilst some people may be comfortable with the way Damien recounts his thoughts and feelings, they may not may pleasant reading for everyone. This is the story of a corrupt legal system and hardship faced by its victims, from the lips of a man who, whilst history may have vindicated him and his co-prisoners, will never get those years back. Dark in places, but always captivating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking yet not totally convincing..., 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Damien Echols is undoubtedly an intelligent writer, enabling the reader to empathise with the situation he went through superbly, however his casually dismissal of his time spent under psychiatric care and blaming all the failings of the 'WM3' case on the backward small town politics and ignorance left a somewhat bitter taste in the mouth. There is so much more to the case of the 'WM3' than Damien portrays. A good read for anyone interested in the WM3 and Damien's insight into the American justice system is both thought provoking and highly interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 18 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: Life After Death (Hardcover)
I am sure few of us can imagine anything more horrifying than being accused of a terrible crime of which we were entirely innocent. Then to be convicted and sent to death row - it's an unbearable thought. Damien Echols suffered this injustice for 18 years. His corrupt accusers and jailers nearly finished him off in body, but his strength of mind was incredible and he triumphed over all. It is a fascinating read (I finished it in a weekend) and a real insight into how human strength can be found amid deepest despair. Damien's varied and experimental faiths and beliefs carried him through where others would have given up. To quote Eddie Vedder; "Damien shows us how to live."

I hope one day there is truth and justice for those poor little boys and their families.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Life after death, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a must read book for those that enjoy real life prison books. Feel for him being locked up for a crime that he did not commit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT READ, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read, I'd recommend it to anyone, I've cried & laughted reading this book and in my opinion that's what makes a book great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty in the most depraved of circumstances, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amazingly uplifting account of the triumph of the human spirit in an appallingly dark, ignorant, hateful and destructive legal system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars written in the style of stephen king with damiens voice, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
lovely book, very readable, pleasant though expressively emotional about hardships. damien is articulate and well formed. he has a nice pace. written as a journal yet other times to an audience, like a blog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Kind of Book You're Sad to Finish., 12 Jan 2014
This review is from: Life After Death: Eighteen Years on Death Row (Paperback)
Damien Echols has an amazing gift for writing. Chapter 17 is a standout example of this but the whole book is a pleasure to read.
I read this book after watching a documentary on the murders on Youtube - not one of the long, famous ones.
I wavered between wondering if Echols was just a lying sociopath and thinking 'well all those famous people are supporting him/the 3...'
After looking at some more docs and reading around some more, I'm certain that the 'West Memphis 3' are and were innocent of the crimes they were accused of and jailed for.
Damien is indeed, as his wife Lorri says, a fascinating person.
I'm glad that he is now free and able to enjoy the fantastic life he hopefully now has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life After Death: Eighteen Years on Death Row
Life After Death: Eighteen Years on Death Row by Damien Echols (Paperback - 1 Jun 2013)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews