Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spectre of Alexander Wolf
Once again, Pushkin Press have rediscovered yet another fantastic novel for us to enjoy. This slim book was written by Russian emigre Gaito Gazdanov (Georgi Ivanovich Gazdanov, 1903-1971). Like the narrator of this story, Gazdanov fought in the Russian Civil War for the White Army, meaning, of course, that his work was not published in Russia until after the collapse of...
Published 17 months ago by S Riaz

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious or inconsequential?
This book starts very well, with a vivid opening scene that seems to promise a psychological mystery in a Dostoyevskian mould. Maybe that was the problem for me, that my expectations were too high. Because after that, the narrative just seems to meander, as the incredibly passive narrator wanders through life, introducing threads here and there which you think might...
Published 8 months ago by The Pink Cat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had a read a review of this book in a broadsheet and so ordered it for my kindle. It was a really interesting read. Intriguing plot and characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent short story. Looking for more in the Pushkin collection now! Hope they are as readable as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spectre of Alexander Wolf (Paperback)
An ok book but a bit predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ghostwritten, 14 Sep 2014
By 
Joey VanB (Cumbria England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had high hopes for this novel but was ultimately disappointed . Whether because of translation or sense of disjointed plot and story I failed to connect with the narrator and was left feeling unmoved instead of transported.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars shame, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It started off very interesting, but by the time it came around to the end, I feel it just fell apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Long winded, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Iffy plot which goes on and on. I was unable to empathise with the protagonist. I purchased it after a good review in the Times, but I struggled to finish it.AH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Spectre of Alexander Wolf
The Spectre of Alexander Wolf by Gaito Gazdanov (Paperback - 21 Nov 2013)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews