Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spectre of Alexander Wolf
Once again, Pushkin Press have rediscovered yet another fantastic novel for us to enjoy. This slim book was written by Russian emigre Gaito Gazdanov (Georgi Ivanovich Gazdanov, 1903-1971). Like the narrator of this story, Gazdanov fought in the Russian Civil War for the White Army, meaning, of course, that his work was not published in Russia until after the collapse of...
Published 15 months ago by S Riaz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious or inconsequential?
This book starts very well, with a vivid opening scene that seems to promise a psychological mystery in a Dostoyevskian mould. Maybe that was the problem for me, that my expectations were too high. Because after that, the narrative just seems to meander, as the incredibly passive narrator wanders through life, introducing threads here and there which you think might...
Published 6 months ago by The Pink Cat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spectre of Alexander Wolf, 22 Jun 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again, Pushkin Press have rediscovered yet another fantastic novel for us to enjoy. This slim book was written by Russian emigre Gaito Gazdanov (Georgi Ivanovich Gazdanov, 1903-1971). Like the narrator of this story, Gazdanov fought in the Russian Civil War for the White Army, meaning, of course, that his work was not published in Russia until after the collapse of communism. Again, like the narrator, Gazdanov found himself in Paris, where he suffered a great deal of poverty and worked in many different jobs - including as a cab driver - before becoming a part of the 1920's literary scene.

At the beginning of this book, our narrator explains how his whole life he has had a flashback of killing a man in that war. He was only sixteen when he was faced with a man on a beautiful white horse, who was about to kill him. Our narrator shot him first and left him lying there as he rode away on his horse. This so-called 'murder', muses the narrator, marked the beginning of his independence. Now working as a journalist in Paris, he comes across a book of short stories one day. In the volume, by Alexander Wolf, is a story recounting that day, down to the smallest detail. In fact, the narrator surmises that only the man he killed could have written it and begins a search for the elusive author.

This is a haunting novel of war, the emigre experience, love, fate and inter-twined lives. It will take you through 1920's Paris, London and is beautifully written. I am so glad Pushkin have republished this novel and can only wonder what other long forgotten gems they are going to come up with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spectre of Alexander Wolf, 9 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Spectre of Alexander Wolf (Paperback)
This is a truly astounding book. Gaito Gazdenov tells the haunting, humbling story of a young man caught up in the brutal fighting of the Russian Civil War and then laid low both physically and philosophically by a murder he believes himself to have committed. Having to flee Russia after the war, the narrator is living in Paris when he chances upon a book of short stories, one of which details a murder that seems uncannily familiar. The writer of the short story collection is Alexander Wolf and the narrator finds some purpose again in his life as he pursues the mysterious author and attempts to discover just where exactly fact meets fiction. The Spectre of Alexander Wolf is a gripping novel of war, survival and predestination. It's a thrilling mix of crime caper and existential angst and is one of the best books that I've read this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little-known classic, 19 Oct 2013
An enjoyable and thought-provoking read. I would recommend this to lovers of the Russian novel or to those who are interested in discovering it. Gazdanov's plot and characters are unusual but very believable (in particular the narrator, whose experiences were very similar to the author's own), and Karetnyk's translation provides a feeling of authenticity to those of us who are not fortunate enough to be able to read the original. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true Russian classic, 4 Aug 2013
This is an incredibly gripping story based around the experience of a young man during the Russian Civil War and the later effects this has on his life in Paris as an emigre. The author delves into the realms of existentialism, fatalism and ideas of pre-destination, while keeping a markedly brisk pace in the novel's page-turning plot. It isn't exactly a whodunit, or even a whydunit, but more of a retrospective am-I-destined-to-do-it.

The style of the book is eclectic, mixing the philosophical, the murder-mystery, the thriller and even a hint of satire and comedy, while the language itself is lively and elegant throughout. A true Russian classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious or inconsequential?, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spectre of Alexander Wolf (Paperback)
This book starts very well, with a vivid opening scene that seems to promise a psychological mystery in a Dostoyevskian mould. Maybe that was the problem for me, that my expectations were too high. Because after that, the narrative just seems to meander, as the incredibly passive narrator wanders through life, introducing threads here and there which you think might connect up to something, but which turn out not to. Some people have conversations. One or two of them die. Then it ends. Does that add up to anything? Not to me. It's very well written. That's not enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of 20th-century Russian exile literature, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gaito Gazdanov is at last starting to earn the international recognition that his precise, elegantly mysterious prose deserves. He was not exactly unknown in his lifetime, but Soviet publishers were under orders to ignore him and western European and US critics thought Nabokov was a superior writer. In some ways that assessment is fair enough - but 'The Spectre of Alexander Wolf' is at least as good as anything Nabokov wrote. Full of piercing insights into fate, chance, love, death and other aspects of the human condition, it also works well as a mystery story with strange twists and turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cerebral stuff., 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a thought provoking read. I thought the writing style was precise. The author addresses the question of mortality and fate. I hadn't heard of this writer. I'll look out for more of his stuff as I think he may have been somewhat overlooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The spectre of the disappearing bookshops, 27 Oct 2013
THE SPECTRE OF ALEXANDER WOLF
By Gaito Gazdanov / Pushkin Press

Seduced by the exceptional visual and tactile quality of both design and paper I picked up this small book by instinct, knowing nothing at all about its author. It was the kind of experience one can only have in a bookshop while browsing. I would never have disovered this book or its author; no amount of imaging or blurb on the net would have had the same response from a book buyer.

Gaito Gazdanov wrote in Russian. He fled his homeland, landing in Paris after having fought with the White Army aged just sixteen. This novel felt a little more like a short story which had been expanded, but it is none the worse for it. At no point does the author allow the tension to drop. A young Russian soldier roams aimlessly across the battlefields of the Russian steppes. A lone rider shoots his horse. Delirious from heat, thirst and exhaustion, he in turn shoots the enemy soldier and rides off on the latter's white stallion. Years later he finds the exact account of his `murder', retold by an apparently English author by the name of Alexander Wolf. Is this a coincidence or did the man survive the shooting and has changed his name? The search to meet the author begins.
Gazdanov's life as a refugee in Paris in the 1920s brought long periods of unemployment, sleeping on park benches or in the Metro. When he finally became a night time taxi driver he had the money and time to attend lectures at the Sorbonne and write in the daytime; he quickly became part of the Paris literary scene.
Bryan Karetnyk's translation of the Russian original could not be bettered. It is sensitive, thoughtful, lyrical and precise. Gazdanov was a fan of Nabokov long before the latter became famous; there are echoes of Nabokov who had also fled Russia after the defeat of the White Army in 1919. I could well imagine that a good translation into German would see similarities with the beauty of Hermann Hesse or Patrick Suskind's writing, in a good French translation there might be some resemblance with the best of Proust.
This is not `a page-turner' in the usual sense - one turns the pages long after one had meant to close the book to get on with one's own life. Nor is it a crime novel, rather the story of a predestined killing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heard a review of this on Radio 2 and loved it! I got the Kindle edition for my Samsung S3 but I wish I had ordered it hard back as I would love to lend it out and have it on the bookcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ghostwritten, 14 Sep 2014
By 
Joey VanB (Cumbria England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had high hopes for this novel but was ultimately disappointed . Whether because of translation or sense of disjointed plot and story I failed to connect with the narrator and was left feeling unmoved instead of transported.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Spectre of Alexander Wolf
The Spectre of Alexander Wolf by Gaito Gazdanov (Paperback - 21 Nov 2013)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews