Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more than 5 stars, 14 Jun. 2012
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
If you love machine embroidery, don't miss this latest book from Alison. Previously she has tackled gardens, plants and woodland; now she has turned her attention to seascapes. This is a brilliant book. Alison walks you through the basics of machine stitching, the options and techniques. She shows how to paint a background and then to create different sea scenes. Absolutely wonderful and highly recommended. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book, 28 Jun. 2012
By 
Jennifer Wade (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alison Holt has done it again, another lovely book on machine embroidery , wonderful photographs, all projects explained very well. Within a day of receiving the book I couldn't wait any longer and had to have a go, even thouogh I was just out of hospital having had major surgery. I will be making more seascapes and using more of the ideas in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Machine Embroidered Seascapes, 2 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book but I expect nothing less from this author her work is exceptional and this book will not disappoint. Everything is explained in detail and her advice is the best there is. The book is a joy to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brings the sea to life, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a much clearer step by step guide than the beginners guide. There are suggestions of how to use different types of stiches for different effects and projects to try . A lovely practical book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recomended, 9 Jan. 2013
By 
Doreen Badnadge (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great book by Alison. Full of those clear instructions that are in all her books and some really awe inspiring photos of her work. Get that sewing machine out and just practise the movements. its amazing how quick you can get the hang of things.
Get ready to amaze friends and family with this amazing art form
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful inspiration to create landscapes in fabric., 2 May 2013
By 
P. Nightingale "Paula Nightingale" (Lowestoft UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful and inspiring book..A very talented artist as well as offering brilliant guidelines to working with fabric and dyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Embroidered Landscapes, 13 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another brilliant book from Alison Holt. As usual all her books are written clearly in an easily understandable way. She is a very talented embroiderer who is always happy to share her knowledge. Well worth buying to add to any embroiderers collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to any textile addict's library., 24 Dec. 2014
By 
Hazel Vicary "Hazel" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machine Embroidered Seascapes (Paperback)
This is a beautiful book produced by a very talented artist. Step by step instructions are provided to help you produce a piece for yourself and Ms Holt makes it seem simple. Well, simple that is, if you are adept at free machine embroidery which, sadly, I am not. Don't get me wrong, there are people who take to this like a duck to water, I, however, am not one of those lucky souls but am determined to master this beautiful technique. I have to stop every so often and unscrew my head from my shoulders whilst jumping about a bit to undo my tense knotted muscles before restarting but, that said, looking at the gorgeous pictures in this book makes me determined to keep going until I have cracked it. Meanwhile I will have the pleasure of looking at this beautiful work and dreaming that one day perhaps..........................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, this is so good., 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I need to get to the seaside to take some pictures and start creating some seascapes. This book has so much help and is so encouraging. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alison's usual standard, very informative with step by step instructions on how to create the stitches and colour your background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Machine Embroidered Seascapes
Machine Embroidered Seascapes by Alison Holt (Paperback - 5 Oct. 2014)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews