Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of pretty gifts to make
This book has lots of pretty gifts (22 in fact) to make, including a mini wallet, pencil case, boxed washbag bag, shoulder bag and book cover amongst others. The projects have the usual zakka style of neutral linen fabrics combined with colourful patchwork.
Skills covered in the book include patchwork, quilt as you go, applique and sewing zips. These techniques are...
Published 14 months ago by Sewing Directory

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So disappointed
Always on the look out for ideas of present to make. Have seen plenty of zakka style books but can't remember how I chose his one. What a shame I did. I am so disappointed. The instructions are brief with few diagrams and looking through it when it arrived today some of the project are really shoddily made. The cup holder for example isn't even the same size in the photo...
Published 14 months ago by Natalie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So disappointed, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zakka Style Gifts (Love to Sew) (Paperback)
Always on the look out for ideas of present to make. Have seen plenty of zakka style books but can't remember how I chose his one. What a shame I did. I am so disappointed. The instructions are brief with few diagrams and looking through it when it arrived today some of the project are really shoddily made. The cup holder for example isn't even the same size in the photo on each side....mine might look like that but I'd hope the person writing it would be able to make a good job of it! Also I noticed several threads sticking out in photos and the general quality of the project were average. Better books out there, sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of pretty gifts to make, 12 Mar. 2014
By 
Sewing Directory (Devon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Zakka Style Gifts (Love to Sew) (Paperback)
This book has lots of pretty gifts (22 in fact) to make, including a mini wallet, pencil case, boxed washbag bag, shoulder bag and book cover amongst others. The projects have the usual zakka style of neutral linen fabrics combined with colourful patchwork.
Skills covered in the book include patchwork, quilt as you go, applique and sewing zips. These techniques are covered at the front of the book before you get to the projects. The projects themselves have step by step written instructions and a single photo of the finished item. There are also instructions for the cutting out and any preparation needed before you start plus useful tips scattered throughout.

I think most people would find several projects they wanted to make in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money for all but the total sewing novice, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zakka Style Gifts (Love to Sew) (Paperback)
A very thin book with a few very, very simple and unimaginative projects; the most complicated and interesting being shown on the cover. Much better books out there for the same or less pennies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zakka style, easy style, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zakka Style Gifts (Love to Sew) (Paperback)
An easy to follow book. Lots of lovely things to make have not started making yet but looking forward to doing so.
Would definitely recommend this book. Good value price too.
Very small items which don't take long to make.
Ideal ideas for craft stalls,bazaars etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspires me, 22 Feb. 2014
By 
CycleRacing (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Zakka Style Gifts (Love to Sew) (Paperback)
The book is very clear in its instructions and concise. You don't have to be an expert but it produces some lovely items. Great for making gifts.

Really pleased with this and would recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great simple projects with style, 24 Mar. 2014
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zakka Style Gifts (Love to Sew) (Paperback)
I love Zakka. It's colourful and cool, modern and stylish. These easy contemporary sewing projects are great for the home and would make perfect gifts. These gifts turn a house into a home. The 22 easy and quick to make projects come complete with easy to follow instructions and are well photographed. Templates have been provided, some need enlarging. The basics are explained so even beginners will be able to start sewing straight away. The projects are adorable - each and every one and I just LOVE this book. Highly recommended for anyone who enjoys contemporary sewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delighted with this lovely book., 7 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zakka Style Gifts (Love to Sew) (Paperback)
I'm delighted with this book, it's packed with usefull projects that will use up all those odd scraps of fabric that I have left in my stash. Most of the projects are easy to do and will make great gifts for birthdays and Christmas and also great little items for fetes and bazaar tables. Some of the projects would be easy for youngsters just taking up sewing, either by machine or hand. Most of the templates do not need enlarging and the ones that do are easy. Another great book from Search Press.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and nice, 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zakka Style Gifts (Love to Sew) (Paperback)
The projects in this book are lovely. They appear to be very simple to make and there are really good instructions. Thee is plenty of scope for you to add you own designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars American Book!, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zakka Style Gifts (Love to Sew) (Paperback)
Whilst I was instantly taken with the projects in the book, the language is american, such as batting, which in the uk is wadding.
The instructions are convoluted and terribly written.
If like me you are an experienced sewer,then you will just look at the the requirements and construct the project yourself. But you will find difficulty in getting the items together because I had to do extensive internet research to find out what the words meant in the UK as the craft shops I rang around were not familiar with the terms.
That said, the book has some very nice projects, which an experienced sewer will be able to put together for themselves. Thats provided you can understand the american terms. One star for the projects in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New ideas, 9 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zakka Style Gifts (Love to Sew) (Paperback)
I received this book in what seemed like record time. I have read it so far but nor embarked on a project yet as I've things to finish first. It has inspired me and can't wait to try out the new ideas I found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zakka Style Gifts (Love to Sew)
Zakka Style Gifts (Love to Sew) by Cecilia Hanselmann (Paperback - 14 Feb. 2014)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews