Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great guide
This comprehensive guide to dressmaking is compact and thorough. It is divided into chapters: Tools and Equipment; Fabrics and Haberdashery; Basic Sewing; Dressmaking Techniques; Working With Patterns; Customising Clothes; Couture Techniques and Troubleshooting. It contains just about everything you need to know whether you sew as a hobby or a professional. Great layout,...
Published 10 months ago by K. Platt

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I have purchased other books by Lorna and found them useful, but this seems to be a rehash of previous books. I found some of the instructions unclear, especially how to turn the sleeveless dress. Also I am not sure about the box pleat! I have never seen one that looks like that. Overall not a bad book but I think there are better ones on the market.
Published 9 months ago by ali


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great guide, 17 Feb 2014
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Complete Dressmaking Skills: Online Video Book Guides (Paperback)
This comprehensive guide to dressmaking is compact and thorough. It is divided into chapters: Tools and Equipment; Fabrics and Haberdashery; Basic Sewing; Dressmaking Techniques; Working With Patterns; Customising Clothes; Couture Techniques and Troubleshooting. It contains just about everything you need to know whether you sew as a hobby or a professional. Great layout, easy to use with good photographs. The information is clear and the step-by-step techniques are foolproof. A bonus is the provision of 15 teaching clips to view online - you just need to scan the QR codes. It includes a good range of techniques, advice and tips. Great for all skill levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful dressmaking guide, 7 July 2014
By 
Sewing Directory (Devon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Complete Dressmaking Skills: Online Video Book Guides (Paperback)
This book is a really in depth reference guide covering everything you could want to know about dressmaking, aided by step by step photos of all the techniques. As well as giving advice on tools, fabrics and the common dressmaking techniques such as zips, seams, hems, pockets, tucks, collars, sleeves etc it also goes a step further than most dressmaking guides and has a section on couture techniques, and one on customising clothes as well.

There’s a good index in the back so you can go straight to the technique you need, plus a troubleshooting guide in the last chapter. Furthermore there is also a section on working with patterns including altering patterns or making your own. The book is supported by several online videos as well.

I think this book would make a great addition to your sewing library, I will certainly be keeping my copy close to hand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good all round sewing book, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Dressmaking Skills: Online Video Book Guides (Paperback)
this book covers a wide range of sewing tasks I have been sewing for many years but I still found this book full of interest and the video clips are great too you can keep playing over to see anything you missed but even wiothout the video clips I think most sewists will find the book very useful it covers beginners to more advanced so really useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a vey useful book it explains everything simply, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Dressmaking Skills: Online Video Book Guides (Paperback)
This is a vey useful book it explains everything simply, and will be something to go back to time and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Dressmaking Skills: Online Video Book Guides (Paperback)
Concise and easy to understand, with excellent photos and drawings to help even a novice to start dressmaking. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Dressmaking Skills: Online Video Book Guides (Paperback)
I have purchased other books by Lorna and found them useful, but this seems to be a rehash of previous books. I found some of the instructions unclear, especially how to turn the sleeveless dress. Also I am not sure about the box pleat! I have never seen one that looks like that. Overall not a bad book but I think there are better ones on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a very good reference book, 22 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Dressmaking Skills: Online Video Book Guides (Paperback)
I haven't sewn for my years. This is a very good reference book. Now I know why I do what I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Complete Dressmaking Skills: Online Video Book Guides
Complete Dressmaking Skills: Online Video Book Guides by Lorna Knight (Paperback - 14 Feb 2014)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews