Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars17
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2013
This is simply a re-wording of well known facts and stories and as such contains no new insights into Fergie's relationships. For someone like Frank Worrell who claims to have great insider contacts its so disappointing that he sheds no new light on the main subject. He is so obviously restrained by the need to keep his own relationships intact that he is far too cautious in upsetting anyone by taking contrary views. If you know the United story during the Fergie years you will learn nothing new by reading this.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
This book is a bit easier to read than his autobiography and concentrates more on his recent football experiences. Whilst you might love or hate him, Fergie was definitely his own man and stands by his decisions even though he admits to some mistakes. The book provides a good insight and sometimes amusing looks behind the scenes. Although controversial in some areas, his honest opinions shine through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
Press review

'An epic biography charting the unstoppable rise of the Premier League's longest-serving and most successful manager ever: Sir Alex Ferguson, who's been in charge at Manchester United for an amazing 24 years. This is probably the best book ever on Fergie.'

Russell Forgham, The Mail

THE GREATEST INDEED

We have something to tuck in the footie fan's stocking this week and we're kicking off with a biography of that bloke from Govan.

He made a massive impact on Scottish football, then took a trip down the M6 to spread the magic.

Beautifully researched and packed with insider anecdotes, this is an outstanding account of the highs and lows of a career that has seen more drama than a cup final, more grit than a snowplough and more 'hairdryers' than Vidal Sassoon. If football is a game of two halves, one of them is guaranteed to be spending Christmas Day on the sofa with this.

Shari Low, The Daily Record

From Man Utd fan's website TRULYREDS...

How an Arsenal fan came to revere Sir Alex
By: Frank Scicluna

If you are anything like me, reading a good book on a lazy Sunday is one of the most enjoyable times of the week - unless you have a game to watch which in this day and age happens more often than I would like. Call me an old fart if you want but a 3pm kick off on a Saturday afternoon is what I grew up with and freely admit that I yearn for the return of those long gone days. For those who may feel the same way, Truly Reds will therefore attempt to review one of the many Manchester United related books each Sunday which may tempt you to go out an get for a relaxing weekend read.

****** This book is a wonderful read in its own right. The author is a journalist who writes regularly for the Sunday Times and the Sun. He is also the author of number one bestseller Roy Keane: Red Man Walking, and countless football books including Rooney: Wayne's World, Giggsy and The Magnificent Sevens.

****** As Arsenal supporter Ben Felsenburg explained on Amazon.co.uk after coming across the book by sheer chance "I'll confess: I'm an Arsenal fan, and I wouldn't ordinarily think of reading a biography of Alex Ferguson. But staying round at a friend's house who is a lifelong United supporter, I grabbed his newly purchased copy of Frank Worrall's Fergie biog more or less at random as a bedtime read and found it so hard to put down it was only four hours later, having got to the end, that I could turn the light out.

As Worrall makes clear, Ferguson is the definitive manager of the last 30 years, the man who straddles the game in the manner of Paisley, Clough and Busby and the other titans of old, a figure of adoration for Manchester United fans and for the rest of us the worthiest of foes. Worrall outlines Ferguson's copious achievements - multiple domestic and European glory on both sides of the border - with the full, incisive analysis they merit, spiced up with telling anecdotes of Robson, Giggs, Cantona, Rooney and the United boss's other loyal troops.

This is a proper football book, focused on the game and the players' activities on the pitch because true fans don't want any of that peripheral celebrity gossip. It's clear that Worrall has the insider's connections and expert insight and he tells Ferguson's incredible story with compelling simplicity and an empathetic feel for the Scotsman's extraordinary character.

In short, it's an unmissable read for Manchester United fans but there's also plenty here to interest anyone with the slightest interest in football in the modern age. It won't stop me cheering Arsenal on just as loudly next time they play Ferguson's men, but I'll understand the reverence United fans feel for their hero and saviour much more."

****** It's certainly refreshing to find a fan of one of United's fiercest rivals being so fulsome in his acclaim for Sir Alex so it may say something about his story as told by the author. Who knows, I may come across a similar biography of Arsene Wenger one day which may prompt me to acquire the same admiration for him.

Is it really so difficult to show your admiration for a rival player or manager?
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
I must say I have read more interesting biography's I am a Manchester United Supporter for 20+ years and I was surprised that it was biased towards him rather than him and the club and players
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
Bought this book from pound shop thats all its worth contains lots of inaccuracies like howard Wilkinson is the English man to win the premiership he never did
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
Informative but very much reliant on newspaper/media articles of the time. Nothing from the players or Man U management from his time at the club.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Don't bother with this it is very poorly written and is more or less just a list of facts about Fergie which any true fan will already know
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
Interesting tales from the manager's perspective which throws light on some of the more controversial decisions of his long reign
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
What more could a MU support want when a great Manger final hangs up his hat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
This is a brilliant book which can be read by everyone (whether they love Man Utd or not) I was going to get his newer book for my mum (who is Man Utd mad) but someone had already got it so this was the next best thing. It will be an interesting read from Sir Alex Ferguson and my mum will be delighted with it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.