Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a story
If you are interested in history, life and a peep at hard working lives this is for you. If these aren't your interests it's for you too. A wonderful book. Bring out more like this, od people many of us relate too and less of the very expensive celebrity autobiographies.
Published 11 months ago by Muriel

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Diamonds at Dinner
There have been many wonderful accounts of life in domestic service but this is not one of them.
I bought this on my Kindle and was disappointed that the first 30% was padded out with a self serving biography of the author.The endless comparisons between life in pre war Britain and life in the present times were tedious and quite honestly needless as we could safely...
Published 13 months ago by L. S. Valencia


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a story, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are interested in history, life and a peep at hard working lives this is for you. If these aren't your interests it's for you too. A wonderful book. Bring out more like this, od people many of us relate too and less of the very expensive celebrity autobiographies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabtastic, 14 Jan 2014
This book is fantastic. It really takes you back in time and shows you not only the struggles they occurred during this period but also develops a very good understanding of classes and how life used to be. I was glued to every page!!! Give it a try!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, enjoyable historical read!, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was fascinated by the in-sight into the social climate at this time. The author tells in wonderful, easy to read detail just how different classes were then. I'm sure anyone who lived through that period will find it extremely nostalgic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fabulous read, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i loved this book a wonderful story about life at croome court with all the ups and downs that went with it.i particularly liked the description of the house and the people who lived there i looked forward to reading it at every opportunity .i thought it was very emotional at times especially when the war came and young men lost their lives.we must always remember how brave they were.
i would certainly like to visit this stately home after reading this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a good book so interesting i would highly recommend and what a lovely lady. Her comments at end of book should be heard by the young of today as her values on life are so right, great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Could not put this book down until finished. Very good book. Felt as though you were actually there in person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamonds at dinner, 12 Jan 2014
Such a good read! Informative and factual but very very readable. An amazing true story brought to life in a charmingly understated way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Diamonds at Dinner, 22 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There have been many wonderful accounts of life in domestic service but this is not one of them.
I bought this on my Kindle and was disappointed that the first 30% was padded out with a self serving biography of the author.The endless comparisons between life in pre war Britain and life in the present times were tedious and quite honestly needless as we could safely assume that the readers were quite aware that there were no internet,fridges,mobiles etc in the 1930s these references are both repetetive and needless.
The authors constant need to inform the reader of the halycon days of her childhood were just page fillers
At most there were no more than 2 chapters documenting her life as a ladies maid,which actually gave very little insight into her duties all I learned from her descriptions of her duties is that she laid out her employers clothes every day,and brushed her hair every morning.
A complete and utter waste of time, dont bother with this book, there are much more superior accounts on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Keith (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this book immensely . Gave a real insight into pre war times, during the war and after the war. A wonderful lady
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but slightly patronising, 27 Jan 2014
By 
A. Steele (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good book and for the price very good value. I am currently at chapter 4 and like others have said the firs bit is autobiographical, but as this book is the author's life story then this is to be expected, I also think it is good as it gives the background of her life before she went into service and the circumstances surrounding why she went into service. No the thing that really annoyed me was that I felt the author was slightly patronising in some of her prose in the fact that she indicates that all readers are about 20 thus wouldn't remember 'old money' or would not remember how it worked, or not remember certain appliances etc. This left me feel slightly frustrated and annoyed, as yes I am slightly (emphasis slightly) too young for this but not by much and my parents certainly remember and they are nowhere near as old as the author. No the author seems to feel that because she is 'old', everyone else is so young that they are not going to remember anything from a 'bygone age'.

Apart from this one slight/major gripe I am really enjoying the book and for the 'kindle price' you can't really go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diamonds At Dinner: My Life as a Lady's Maid in a 1930s Stately Home.
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews