Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful true story
A dog called Dez is written in such a way that it caught my attention straight away...I then struggled to put the book down. Following the true story of John and his difficult childhood, his disruptive behaviour and neglect of his own health leading to a tragedy in his life by losing his sight. However this actually is the start to a new life for him helped by the star of...
Published 9 months ago by rednick

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Struggle towards triumph.
Dog and man were meant to be, a triumph of love and devotion. This man's life could have ended in disaster but for this wonderful dog.
Published 5 months ago by MrsJ ROBINSON


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful true story, 16 Oct 2013
This review is from: A Dog Called Dez. The True Story of How One Amazing Dog Changed His Owner's Life (Hardcover)
A dog called Dez is written in such a way that it caught my attention straight away...I then struggled to put the book down. Following the true story of John and his difficult childhood, his disruptive behaviour and neglect of his own health leading to a tragedy in his life by losing his sight. However this actually is the start to a new life for him helped by the star of the book, his guide dog Dez. Its a wonderful book, beautifully written, capturing John's life and transformation. Very uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Inspiring, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dog Called Dez. The True Story of How One Amazing Dog Changed His Owner's Life (Hardcover)
I am a huge fan of the Guide Dogs for the Blind charity so when I met John and his Guide Dog Dez I was overcome with excitement. They were advertising their new book "A Dog Called Dez". As soon as I returned home I bought it and within a day of it arriving I'd finished the entire book!
A very touching true story about John's life, going from hitting rock bottom and feeling the lowest of lows, only then to be picked up by the Guide Dogs Charity and his new best mate, Dez.
I always knew I wanted to work for Guide Dogs in the future but after reading this I have never been so sure of what I want to do with my life.
Be prepared to smile, laugh and cry. This book really opens your eyes to the reality of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational tale of love & trust, 14 Oct 2013
This review is from: A Dog Called Dez. The True Story of How One Amazing Dog Changed His Owner's Life (Hardcover)
It's difficult to remain objective as I know the dog & the man.
I have never seen a companionship between guide dog & owner like this one.
Dez is a very special dog, who has helped John begin to believe in himself & his future, after losing everything. It is wonderfully written, & tells the true story of a kid brought up in the 70s, poor & neglected by his parents. His behaviour becomes anti-social & he is sent away to institution after institution but he falls in love, marries & becomes a Father. He works hard,& puts his son through private school. A combination of events lead to him losing his family, his home & his sight. He almost gives up on life........in fact this book could have been his suicide note......
Then Dez comes into his life. The two of them are a force to be reckoned with, & have tirelessly worked at fundraising for Guide Dogs. They are an inspiration, hilarious to be with. I am lucky enough to have found friends in both of them.....
This book encapsulates the wonder of their relationship.....
& most of all..... The wonder of life.....
Be prepared for laughter & tears
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartfelt story, 25 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: A Dog Called Dez. The True Story of How One Amazing Dog Changed His Owner's Life (Hardcover)
Beautifully written, it made me laugh and cry, and portrayed what a terrible experience it must be got go blind, and the strong bond between man and dog which which no doubt saved John's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dog called Dez, 23 Oct 2013
This review is from: A Dog Called Dez. The True Story of How One Amazing Dog Changed His Owner's Life (Hardcover)
This book is a compelling read; being one that I have not been able to put down over these few past days. This story effectively covers the life story of John Tovey, capturing all of the highs and lows in what has been an eventful life. A dog called Dez is a story of hope and redemption and I am glad that I have been able to read such a brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing partnership, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a puppy walker for guide dogs the question most often asked is...'how do you give the puppy back?' Well my answer will now be 'read a Dog Called Dez'. John's story of his life pre losing his sight is a book in itself. A real insight into life where basics such as love, affection and communication just don't exist. It explains how a little boy can so easily slip through our education system and get lost forever into an ever decreasing circle of crime and survival. If that weren't enough John loses his sight but, ironically, it's also the beginning of a better life! We see the best of human nature finally helping. But most of all we witness the lifechanging effect a guide dog partnership can have. Very uplifting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real eye opener, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book that makes u consider how lucky we are to actually be able to see. Great read and very rewarding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real tear jerker, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as a GuideDog Puppy Walker I read this book with great interest. A real tear jerker, but so wonderful to hear how our little pups turn into a life line and constant companion to sight impaired person. they are so clever and this book takes us on a journey from an unhappy childhood through troubled teenage years and growing up "the hard way". Life changed suddenly and then Dez came along. Make sure you have tissues to hand. Thank you for such a great read and for donating proceeds to Guide Dogs .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real trusting partnership., 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dog Called Dez. The True Story of How One Amazing Dog Changed His Owner's Life (Hardcover)
This is a book about a real trusting partnership and has a depth to it. It confirms how mans best friend can really change peoples lives.

An open and honest book with a happy wagging tail ending. A good reflection of the continuing work of the Guide Dog Charity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming story, a must read!, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dog Called Dez. The True Story of How One Amazing Dog Changed His Owner's Life (Hardcover)
A Dog Called Dez is a truly enticing story of how one man's life can change so much. The book starts off with John being introduced to Dez and then their true story starts more than halfway through the story. This I felt was the perfect way for the story to be told, you have to know all about John, his life and how he got to where he is now, warts and all. There is some bad language but this is a true story and had to be told as it is so it fits. The book is extremely well written, once I started it I couldn't put it down until it was finished.

I will be recommending this book to everyone, if you read it you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Dog Called Dez. The True Story of How One Amazing Dog Changed His Owner's Life
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews